Ungodly: Widow accuses pastor, wife of fraud

Date: 11-05-2011 10:08 am (12 years ago) | Author: Musa Yusuf
- at 11-05-2011 10:08 AM (12 years ago)
A widow, Theresa Onuora has accused a pastor and his wife of allegedly swindling her. Onuora, a mother of two, claimed she was hypnotised by Prophet and Prophetess Okoli (other names withheld). But the accused denied the allegation, saying that the woman willingly donated her belongings to God. Giving a graphic account of how she was allegedly deceived by the Okolis into surrendering her property to the church, she said after her husband’s death, the duo claimed they had some revelations for her.

Amid sobbing the victim said: “They told me that my husband acquired his money through occultic power and that his belongings would soon become a curse to my entire family.”
She alleged that the suspects warned that she should surrender the property to the church or calamity would befall her household.
According to her, after praying for her, she allegedly lost her senses and did not know how she started surrendering her property to the suspects.

She claimed she was asked to donate everything in their three-bedroom apartment to the church. “So, I donated my household equipment, a car, and 10 boxes of clothes.” She alleged that after donating the items, they further instructed her to sell her husband’s land in Anambra State and bring the proceed to the church.

She claimed that she hesitated initially until she was given some concoction to bath and after using the substance, she sold the land and was about taking the proceeds to the church as the prophet instructed.
Mrs. Onuora said she sold the land for N2 million, but the agent collected N200,000 commission
She said she withdrew the remaining N1.8 million from the bank and was on her way to the church when she met one of her cousins whom she shared her experience with the suspects to.

She said her cousin sat her down and after counseling, told her to report the incident to the police
According to her, immediately the counselling, something like scale fell off her eyes and she regained consciousness. Also she rushed to the police, where she reported the case.

According to her, the police followed her to the church where they arrested the husband and wife.
The suspects who spoke to Daily Sun claimed the widow donated her property on her own volition.
Mrs. Okoli said: “My husband and I are innocent. We only saved the woman from an evil spirit that was tormenting her. The widow came to us complaining that her husband belonged to a cult group and after his death, the group was demanding that her late husband’s property should be handed over to them.”
She said the widow begged that her late husband’s property should be donated to God. So, who are we to question her if she decided to appreciate God for what He did for her because God used us to save her life?”

Prophet Okoli said: “I don’t see anything wrong in what the widow did. She was sowing a seed which she would have reaped in the future. The Mercedes Benz that she gave to me, I did not ask for it. She only said she discovered that I didn’t own a car. So, she brought it herself. I was surprised when she brought in the police claiming that I swindled her.”

The state police spokesman, Mr. Samuel Jinadu, said the case was still being investigated. He said the car and some clothes were recovered from the suspects. Jinadu warned members of the public to be wary of where they worship and the type of prophets and prophetess they patronize.

Posted: at 11-05-2011 10:08 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 11-05-2011 10:19 AM (12 years ago)

Posted: at 11-05-2011 10:19 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 11-05-2011 10:21 AM (12 years ago)
See the woman.

Posted: at 11-05-2011 10:21 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- MissyBarbie at 11-05-2011 12:20 PM (12 years ago)
Na dem sabi
Posted: at 11-05-2011 12:20 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- itoroesie at 11-05-2011 01:30 PM (12 years ago)
what a world!
Posted: at 11-05-2011 01:30 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- uwa190 at 11-05-2011 02:15 PM (12 years ago)
na 4 inside church the biggest fraud de happen now.
Posted: at 11-05-2011 02:15 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- deboalabi262 at 11-05-2011 02:22 PM (12 years ago)
Beware of false prophets....

Posted: at 11-05-2011 02:22 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 11-05-2011 03:06 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: uwa190 on 11-05-2011 02:15 PM

That is some churches..... Some are clean.

Posted: at 11-05-2011 03:06 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- whome at 12-05-2011 12:11 AM (12 years ago)
The world is coming to an end
Posted: at 12-05-2011 12:11 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- destiny247 at 12-05-2011 12:19 AM (12 years ago)
FORMATS HERE AND THERE.. I TIRE FOR DEM DESPERADOS OOOOOO..
Posted: at 12-05-2011 12:19 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sixtyhoneyy at 12-05-2011 12:48 AM (12 years ago)
hmmm no comment
Posted: at 12-05-2011 12:48 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- RocketShip at 12-05-2011 02:00 AM (12 years ago)
not surprised...
Posted: at 12-05-2011 02:00 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Larrykingomoj at 12-05-2011 02:07 AM (12 years ago)
Some one advice us to remember always "Some" when we are commenting thta it is not everybody is involved in whatever incident that has happened. Occultic prophets everywhere, beware!
Posted: at 12-05-2011 02:07 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maryclaret at 12-05-2011 03:37 AM (12 years ago)
This case is complicated cause no one knows who to believe. Both partied could as well be lying. Sounds like 419, but then again, looking deeper into it, the woman sef behave somehow...she no use her sense at all. They say it's good to serve the Lord, but do it with wisdom.

Posted: at 12-05-2011 03:37 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- frayobkk at 12-05-2011 03:52 AM (12 years ago)
Up to then

Posted: at 12-05-2011 03:52 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- monday3 at 12-05-2011 05:20 AM (12 years ago)
church
Posted: at 12-05-2011 05:20 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- shaoyang at 12-05-2011 05:35 AM (12 years ago)
Return those things she gave u... she no dey dash again Sad
Posted: at 12-05-2011 05:35 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mydicksweet at 12-05-2011 10:12 AM (12 years ago)
I see  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 12-05-2011 10:12 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- 9icekenn at 12-05-2011 12:03 PM (12 years ago)
After all the members are all human
Posted: at 12-05-2011 12:03 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- everkindboy at 12-05-2011 12:14 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: uwa190 on 11-05-2011 02:15 PM

God have mercy on u. Who told u that the biggest fraud is happening inside church? Whenever some of u hear something about church u open yr mouth wide to speak fast because so many of u think that the church is a perfect place or they are not humans but angels. The church too is helping our society and turning many people toward God. What i expect therefore is to advice people to be led by God in their search for place of worship. Where there is God, there is also devil.
Posted: at 12-05-2011 12:14 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming

1. PHOTOS: Popular Actress, Dorcas Fapson Hospitalize After Smoking Shisha

2. Eniola Badmus Appointed Special Assistance To Speaker Of The House Of Rep, Tajudeen Abbas

3. Prince Harry And Wife, Meghan Visit Children At The Lights Academy In Abuja

4. VID: Lady Discovers Why Companies In Canada Kept Sacking Her From Her Job

5. UPDATE: Court Blasts Ex Kogi Gov. Yahaya Bello, Restates Order For His Arrest

6. BREAKING: House Of Reps member, Isa Dogonyaro Is dead

7. Korra Obidi Cries Out As Justin Dean Petitions For Their Kids To Be Taken Off Social Media

8. Woman Abducted By Boko Haram Rescued By Troops 11 Years After With 3 Children

9. Man, Bello Arrested In Kano For Allegedly Killing Friend Because He Could Not Repay N3m Debt

10. Police Arrest Man, Akinyode Rasaq For Raping 14Yr Old Female Hawker In Ogun

11. Akwa Ibom Police Seek Public Assistance In Finding Parents Of Three Lost But Found Brothers

12. Being An Underdog Doesn’t Define Me, It Fuels Me' – Funke Akindele Speaks On What Motivated Her

13. "All Abducted Kogi University Students Will Be Rescued Alive" -Govt Vows

14. 39 Suspected Internet Fraudsters Arrested In Benin

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

3. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

4. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

5. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

6. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

7. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

8. Suspected Sextortion Blackmailer, Olamide Made £2m Vows To Release Embarrassing PIC/VID Of Boys

9. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

10. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead