Police torture FRSC official to death in Bayelsa

Date: 17-05-2012 8:02 am (11 years ago) | Author: Paddy Hayes
[1] 2 3 4
- at 17-05-2012 08:02 AM (11 years ago)
Written by Oluwole Ige, Yenagoa Thursday, 17 May 2012

BARELY a month after a police officer (names withheld) was allegedly accused of gunning down an official of the Nigeria Prisons Service (NPS), while celebrating the purchase of a car around Nikton road, in Yenagoa, Bayelsa State, another official of the Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC), identified as Bassey Nnoyo, had been allegedly tortured to death by officers of the state Anti-Robbery Squad.

The incident, which occurred on Tuesday, the Nigerian Tribune authoritatively gathered, was said to have thrown the state headquarters of the FRSC into mourning, on Wednesday, as the rank and file of the paramilitary agency clustered to discuss the death of Nnoyo.

Credible source informed the Nigerian Tribune that troubled ensued on Tuesday morning around Bayelsa State Secretariat Annex, when an unidentified FRSC official, who came for a programme from Sagbama Local Government unit, was trying to park his car inside the state office of the FRSC, adjacent to the state secretariat.

While waiting for another car to drive out of the road, a car allegedly driven by a police officer in mufti was hooting his horn for the FRSC official to give way, but the man declined, in his bid give way to the on-coming car.

The source said “as a result of the development, the policeman in mufti pulled the FRSC official out of his car and beat him mercilessly, a development which attracted his colleagues, who came out of their office to rescue him, thus leading to a free-for-all.”

According to the source, the policeman, when he sensed that he might be overpowered by the FRSC men, alerted the State Anti-Robbery Squad and about 10 policemen stormed the scene and started shooting indiscriminately.

Investigation revealed that some of the FRSC officials had to pull off their uniforms, with a view to hiding their identities, but the rampaging policemen caught up with Nnoyo and allegedly assaulted him before dragging him on the concrete road to their station for further beating.

Security source, who pleaded anonymity, told the Nigerian Tribune that the Nnoyo, billed to proceed on retirement in November 2012, died in the course of torture by officers of the SARS.

When contacted on Wednesday, the state Commissioner of Police, Mr Chris Olakpe, who declined to confirm the development, however, said the matter had been resolved.

via Tribune:  http://tribune.com.ng/index.php/news/41040-police-torture-frsc-official-to-death-in-bayelsa

Posted: at 17-05-2012 08:02 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sydneylove at 17-05-2012 11:01 AM (11 years ago)
All this nigeria polices army they are all price of shits from my anus they dont ve mannas they are not well educated no thing thing they cant give statement in states rather they will ask u to write bcos they dont know any thing only how to thieve they know God go punish all of una   
Posted: at 17-05-2012 11:01 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Bettygirls at 17-05-2012 04:35 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed :-XRIP
Posted: at 17-05-2012 04:35 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SAINTKITTS at 17-05-2012 04:55 PM (11 years ago)
 Angry Sad Sad Sad Sad  SAD NEWS , I THINK POLICE IS OUR FRIEND WHY THIS , RIP

Posted: at 17-05-2012 04:55 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- BendelArmedRobb at 17-05-2012 05:03 PM (11 years ago)
una too much!!!coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 17-05-2012 05:03 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aliaaz at 17-05-2012 05:40 PM (11 years ago)
k

Posted: at 17-05-2012 05:40 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Senegal at 17-05-2012 05:48 PM (11 years ago)
hum
Posted: at 17-05-2012 05:48 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- interpo77 at 17-05-2012 06:39 PM (11 years ago)
war go land na between them,make ppe within the asis go dodge ooo
Posted: at 17-05-2012 06:39 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ifemylove at 17-05-2012 06:45 PM (11 years ago)
those animal in uniforms dat calls themselves police, d only tin dey knw is hw 2 collect bribe nd kill innocent souls..
Posted: at 17-05-2012 06:45 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 17-05-2012 06:58 PM (11 years ago)
Nonsens, both the police and the FRSC are miss using their offices
Posted: at 17-05-2012 06:58 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- proly at 17-05-2012 08:07 PM (11 years ago)
wikednesssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Posted: at 17-05-2012 08:07 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 17-05-2012 09:40 PM (11 years ago)
this is the reason why i don,t have a symphaty for the policemen whenever the nemesis catches up with them , they are real mad men in uniform, specially trained to unleashed their terror only on law abiding citizen and not on the criminals, that stupid officer should be hanged
Posted: at 17-05-2012 09:40 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- popdes at 17-05-2012 09:49 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed :-Xrip
Posted: at 17-05-2012 09:49 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- sportyzander at 17-05-2012 10:04 PM (11 years ago)
lawless nation
Posted: at 17-05-2012 10:04 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ozobig at 17-05-2012 10:23 PM (11 years ago)
THE ONLY THING I CAN WISH YOU IS GET MARRIED SOON GOOD LUCK

Posted: at 17-05-2012 10:23 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- GreenBee at 17-05-2012 10:34 PM (11 years ago)
That is why the other time my Navy men beat the hell out of them. I will continue o say that policemen are complete bunch of fools and bloody civilians. I'll crush any of them that tries me anytym any day . I don talk am  Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink
Posted: at 17-05-2012 10:34 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- GreenBee at 17-05-2012 10:35 PM (11 years ago)
That is why the other time my Navy men beat the hell out of them. I will continue to say that Nigerian policemen are complete bunch of fools and mere bloody civilians. I'll crush any of them that tries me anytym any day . I don talk am  Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink
Posted: at 17-05-2012 10:35 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- GreenBee at 17-05-2012 10:36 PM (11 years ago)
That is why the other time my Navy men beat the hell out of them. I will continue to say that Nigerian policemen are complete bunch of fools and mere bloody civilians. I'll crush any of them that tries me anytym any day . I don talk am   Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink
Posted: at 17-05-2012 10:36 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Neglito at 17-05-2012 10:38 PM (11 years ago)
I blame the legislative and the corrupt judiciary for all these mess.
Posted: at 17-05-2012 10:38 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- habiziz at 17-05-2012 10:48 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed
Posted: at 17-05-2012 10:48 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4