SEC DG Arunma Oteh Sent On Compulsory Leave

Date: 12-06-2012 2:44 pm (11 years ago) | Author: FAITHFUL GAYALARI NICHOLAS
- at 12-06-2012 02:44 PM (11 years ago)
The Director-General of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), Ms. Arunma Oteh, has been sent on compulsory leave.

Though details of Oteh's suspension were sketchy at press time, LEADERSHIP gathered that, the DG'S suspension was based on her alleged financial mismanagement of the Commission's funds.

LEADERSHIP gathered that, the decision to suspend Oteh, was taken by the Udo Udoma-led board of SEC after a long meeting that ended at about 9pm.

The board found the DG SEC guilty of gross mismanagement of funds in the Project 50 of the commission. The Project 50 is a programme to mark 50 years of SEC in Nigeria.

Oteh was also found guilty of overstaying in one of the highbrow hotels in Abuja for up to eight months against the commission's policy.

The SEC board further asked Oteh to hand over to the most senior executive commissioner, Daisy Ekineh and directed that a forensic audit should be carried out on the commission's finances

The travails of Oteh began when Hon. Herman Hembe –led House of Representatives Committee on near collapse of Capital Market accused her of mismanaging the commission and embarking on limitless spending.

But Oteh fired back and accused Hembe of demanding bribe from her.

She further claimed that the lawmakers were furious at her because she turned down the request of Hembe for a N44million tip.

Oteh said the lawmaker first asked for N39 million to defray the cost of the ongoing public hearing, and when she denied, the chairman asked for N5million.

According to her the development was in addition to the commission sponsoring a foreign trip for members of the committee, and paying them estacodes.

She questioned the credibility of the Chairman of the committee in conducting the probe, considering her allegations.

She also described the probe as a 'Kangaroo court', and likened the probe to an era of former Uganda leader, Idi Amin, saying "not even during the Idi Amin regime, did we have this kind of session."

In his response, Hembe noted all the allegations listed by the SEC and subjected himself and the committee to another probe which he ordered the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) to take up.

Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:44 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 12-06-2012 06:39 PM (11 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 12-06-2012 06:39 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BendelArmedRobb at 12-06-2012 06:49 PM (11 years ago)
Mr painter kelly hansome don turn to PAINTER 4 Owerri IMO state .Kelechukwu clap 4 ur self I SAY NO BE UNA FAULF YOU ARE JUST jobless,... nonsense But do you yeah,and keep missing YAKUBU.......walk down the road and go hug TRANSFORMER...go boil stone..... ,its'll cure your sickness ....., MAKE UNA COME HELP ME SEE WHICH KIND STRONG HEAD PIKIN UNA BE HIA KPOMO UNA NO CHOP....,FISH UNA NO CHOP.....,...GOAT UNA CHOP UNA SAY UNA WAN BEEF..........una too much!!! coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read all una comment.    JOBLESS PEOPLE
Posted: at 12-06-2012 06:49 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mickky21 at 12-06-2012 07:06 PM (11 years ago)
I don tire 4 this naija officials matter. the kind money wey dem de  call de baffle me. Million million million, while the populace de die of hunger. Make oteh go chop shit. na wetin she did to mrs Okereke, the former NSE chief. wht goes around comes around.
Posted: at 12-06-2012 07:06 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- jar84 at 12-06-2012 07:21 PM (11 years ago)
yawns
Posted: at 12-06-2012 07:21 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 12-06-2012 07:46 PM (11 years ago)
They are all corrupt
Posted: at 12-06-2012 07:46 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 12-06-2012 09:31 PM (11 years ago)
thief thief govment Huh?
Posted: at 12-06-2012 09:31 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- AareOnakakanfo at 12-06-2012 09:35 PM (11 years ago)
Both the learned SEC chairman and the unlearned agbero politicians are all corrupt.
So who exactly in this country can we entrust ourselves to, so sad  Undecided

Posted: at 12-06-2012 09:35 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- bellocity at 12-06-2012 10:14 PM (11 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 12-06-2012 10:14 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 12-06-2012 10:44 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 12-06-2012 10:44 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- papaprince at 12-06-2012 10:53 PM (11 years ago)
FOR NIGER, MAN BE THIEF WOMAN BE THIEF, GOD WETIN WE GO DO AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!OHHHHHHHHHHH, I TIRE FOR THIS COUNTRY PAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
Posted: at 12-06-2012 10:53 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- deboalabi262 at 13-06-2012 01:58 AM (11 years ago)
She should vomit all the embezzled money ASAP.....

Posted: at 13-06-2012 01:58 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- osasu83 at 13-06-2012 01:59 AM (11 years ago)
STUPID COUNTRY  INSTEAD OF SENDING DAT GREEDY BASTARD TO PRISON DE SENDING HER ON LEAVE AT OUR EXPENSES. IDIOTIC NATION  
Posted: at 13-06-2012 01:59 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mindcare at 13-06-2012 02:26 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: mickky21 on 12-06-2012 07:06 PM
I don tire 4 this naija officials matter. the kind money wey dem de  call de baffle me. Million million million, while the populace de die of hunger. Make oteh go chop shit. na wetin she did to mrs Okereke, the former NSE chief. wht goes around comes around.

what kind of nonsense are you writing here to disturb the public from reading good comments from others? Stupe!
Posted: at 13-06-2012 02:26 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 13-06-2012 02:49 AM (11 years ago)
She will be back before you know it, All she needs is find the right person and the right amount of money.
Posted: at 13-06-2012 02:49 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- malvin2525 at 13-06-2012 03:09 AM (11 years ago)
 Undecided
Posted: at 13-06-2012 03:09 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paul4daddykalu at 13-06-2012 07:08 AM (11 years ago)
Ms. Arunma Oteh is a Criminal, Dem don chop NIGERIA MONEY FINISH.. THIEF
Posted: at 13-06-2012 07:08 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kennyades at 13-06-2012 07:35 AM (11 years ago)
they all ve to go on leave even broda johna
Posted: at 13-06-2012 07:35 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 13-06-2012 07:55 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: papaprince on 12-06-2012 10:53 PM
FOR NIGER, MAN BE THIEF WOMAN BE THIEF, GOD WETIN WE GO DO AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!OHHHHHHHHHHH, I TIRE FOR THIS COUNTRY PAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Posted: at 13-06-2012 07:55 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 13-06-2012 07:59 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: osasu83 on 13-06-2012 01:59 AM
STUPID COUNTRY  INSTEAD OF SENDING DAT GREEDY BASTARD TO PRISON DE SENDING HER ON LEAVE AT OUR EXPENSES. IDIOTIC NATION  

Posted: at 13-06-2012 07:59 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero