Bizarre! Police Returned #2million Recovered Money to the Owner

Date: 10-07-2012 6:02 am (11 years ago) | Author: Omogbolahan Babs
- at 10-07-2012 06:02 AM (11 years ago)
A 55-year old woman, Mrs. Ekpo-Bassey Itoyo, on Monday got back her stolen N2m from the Cross River State Police Command.

The money was stolen from her by a two-man armed robbery gang last Friday after she withdrew it from a bank along Calabar Road.

The state Commissioner of Police, Mr. Osita Ezechukwu, said Itoyo had just come out from an old generation bank and was waiting at a bus stop when the suspects, who rode in a Mercedes Benz 190 car, robbed her.

He said the suspects, Robson Uwem and Godwin Udo, were caught when they drove against a one-way road in a bid to beat the heavy traffic along the road.

Speaking during a press conference in Calabar to mark his 100 days in office, Ezechukwu said, “The gang robbed her as she came out from a branch of Union Bank. They ran out of luck as they got entrapped in the traffic jam.

“Their frantic efforts to leave the gridlock aroused the suspicion of undercover policemen who immediately apprehended them.

“When the vehicle was searched, a ‘Ghana-Must-Go’ bag full of clothes, charms and the sum of N2m was recovered. The suspects took the police to their hideout in Calabar South where six other members of the gang were arrested. Three vehicles were recovered in the operation.”

Itoyo, who later spoke with reporters after the commissioner’s briefing, said she was happy to get back her money.

She said, “I suspect they trailed me to the bank. They just stopped in front of me after I alighted from the car and ordered me to board their vehicle.

“I told them I did not know them and would not board the vehicle. They opened the door of the car and I do not know what they used because I only realised that my bag had been taken. I guess they trailed me to the bank on a tip-off because I  had never met any of them.”

Posted: at 10-07-2012 06:02 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omeizad1st at 10-07-2012 06:18 AM (11 years ago)
Obviously Nigeria police need to be comended and rewarded,this is one of dia outstanding job well done for this year.I am appealing to d government dat whatever d police need to be effective interm of best welfares must be give to each an every one of dem.God bless Nigeria police,God bless Nigeria.
Posted: at 10-07-2012 06:18 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aso4life1 at 10-07-2012 06:37 AM (11 years ago)
Well done NPF

Posted: at 10-07-2012 06:37 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 10-07-2012 08:53 AM (11 years ago)
Well done police in calabar. Try our lagos police hmmmm...... D cash for get story story.
Posted: at 10-07-2012 08:53 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- DELAT at 10-07-2012 09:29 AM (11 years ago)
Nigerian police?Men i doubt this.
Posted: at 10-07-2012 09:29 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mindcare at 11-07-2012 12:45 AM (11 years ago)
Among twelve disciples, there must be a Judas. There are few policemen who wants to be popular or promoted in their job. Millions of them focus on stealing by tricks which makes it impossible that a policeman could return the money to the owner...
Posted: at 11-07-2012 12:45 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ambassador4real at 11-07-2012 01:23 AM (11 years ago)
Naija Police? hmmmmmm
Posted: at 11-07-2012 01:23 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- exever100 at 11-07-2012 01:48 AM (11 years ago)
i think calabar is d best place to live in naija
Posted: at 11-07-2012 01:48 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- xbowne at 11-07-2012 02:17 AM (11 years ago)
Na today? Police and money?
The story never complete sha

Posted: at 11-07-2012 02:17 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- malvin2525 at 11-07-2012 07:18 AM (11 years ago)
 Tongue
Posted: at 11-07-2012 07:18 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Idbabe at 11-07-2012 11:29 AM (11 years ago)
Ok, una welldone
Posted: at 11-07-2012 11:29 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- OMOBAOFLEKKI at 11-07-2012 12:11 PM (11 years ago)
Kudos 2 our Naija policemen. Ive always said the police need adequate training and equipment to bring out the best in them.
Posted: at 11-07-2012 12:11 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- bennydo at 11-07-2012 12:24 PM (11 years ago)
nice work, am sure she must have patted with a huge sum to the police. all the same, its commendable
Posted: at 11-07-2012 12:24 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- kizitoonline at 11-07-2012 12:27 PM (11 years ago)
Too good to be true...Nigeria Police...
Posted: at 11-07-2012 12:27 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- moriztuos at 11-07-2012 01:25 PM (11 years ago)
Yea we only get to hear these @ a ceremony or somefin...100days in office abi?...good
Posted: at 11-07-2012 01:25 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 11-07-2012 02:29 PM (11 years ago)
 Cool Cool
Posted: at 11-07-2012 02:29 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kebella at 11-07-2012 02:38 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: soul2020 on 11-07-2012 11:45 AM
ARE YOU SURE THIS IS A NIGERIAN POLICE?
my thot!

Posted: at 11-07-2012 02:38 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kebella at 11-07-2012 02:42 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: teebaz990 on 11-07-2012 04:15 AM
Grin Grin Grin Na de charm wey dey inside the bag make de police return de money
is possible Grin Grin

Posted: at 11-07-2012 02:42 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jessymic at 11-07-2012 03:47 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: teebaz990 on 11-07-2012 04:15 AM
Grin Grin Grin Na de charm wey dey inside the bag make de police return de money

lol, you are not far from the truth
Posted: at 11-07-2012 03:47 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- totallove at 11-07-2012 07:38 PM (11 years ago)
i think mr poster brother don join  nigeria police,abeg post something else na today?
Posted: at 11-07-2012 07:38 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming