Congrats! A 26 Year old emerges UNIOSUN's best graduating student

Date: 31-07-2012 6:50 am (11 years ago) | Author: Steph.
- at 31-07-2012 06:50 AM (11 years ago)

After  waiting for five years to secure varsity admission, Dotun Oladipo   emerges   the  best graduating  student at the second convocation  of the University  of Osun, Osogbo.

For the outgoing Vice-Chancellor, University of Osun, Osogbo, Osun State, Prof. Sola Akinrinade, last Friday was the end of an era. He moderated the second convocation of the institution, his last as the VC. The pioneer VC was deservedly celebrated not just by the institution but by the Visitor, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, who described his performance as excellent and his tenure as clean, open, transparent and committed to the laying down of an enviable foundation for the advancement of a peaceful and academically robust university.

But while the VC was enjoying the accolades, 26-year-old Dotun Oladipo was also receiving the best applause of the day. He emerged the best graduating student after obtaining a Cumulative Grade Point Average of 4.90 out of a possible 5.0 to bag a first class degree in Economics. He also won the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for the Most Outstanding Student of the Year, the Chancellor’s Award, the Best Graduating Student in the College of Management and Social Sciences and the Most Outstanding Student in the Department of Economics.

For his efforts, he was offered automatic employment at the institution. Also, the remaining 18 graduating students who also bagged first class degrees were awarded scholarships for their postgraduate studies in universities of their choices provided they desire to pick up careers in academics.

This is in line with Oladipo’s ambition. He desires to become a professor of economics in the nearest future. Each time he was called to the podium to receive his prizes, the audience made up of vice-chancellors of other universities, the Deputy Governor of Osun State, Mrs. Grace Titi Laoye-Tomori, principal officers of UNIOSUN, parents and students went wild in jubilation. Aregbesola and Akinrinade who were saddled with the responsibility of the presentation of the prizes to Oladipo also joined the jubilant crowd. They clapped, hugged and applauded him.

But his path to academic success was not without challenges. Though he completed his secondary school in 2003 and obtained seven distinctions and one credit pass, he could not secure admission to university until 2008. Frustrated by this, Oladipo went to a seminary in Ilesa after he convinced himself that he was probably not cut out for a career in academics. But luck smiled on him in 2008 when he was offered admission to UNIOSUN for a degree programme in Economics.

Oladipo in an interview with journalists after he received his awards from Aregbesola said he was happy to emerge the best graduating student in spite of the difficulties he faced as an undergraduate.

Asked how he felt beating 656 others, Oladipo who completed his secondary school education at Sacred Heart Emmanuel Secondary School, Akure, Ondo State in 2003, said he was happy. The Ilesa, Osun State born graduate, was however, humble in victory. “Let’s just give glory to God, who helped to make it happen,” he said. He, however, admitted that he faced a lot of challenges after he got admission to UNIOSUN in 2008.

“My experience before I was admitted here was not rosy because I had finished secondary school since 2003. I wrote the West African Senior Secondary School Certificate Examination, I had seven distinctions and only one credit in Yoruba at Sacred Heart Emmanuel Secondary School, Akure, Ondo State. I tried to gain admission to the university but my efforts did not pay off. Convinced that God probably did not want me to go to the university; I enrolled at a seminary in Ilesa. But in 2008, I was admitted here and I just found myself in another world entirely. Now my plan is to go into academics and even become a professor in Economics,” he said.

On an unforgettable experience he had while on campus, he said, “One thing I can’t forget was when I was in 100 Level and I obtained credit in a course I felt I should have made a distinction. I was not really happy with my score and I went to meet the lecturer. Though the lecturer listened to me, I was surprised that my course mates were not happy about my effrontery to challenge a lecturer. Some of them felt I was proud. I was disturbed thinking that as an undergraduate, we should be free to ask questions.”

But the ceremony was not just about Oladipo as 18 other graduating students including Adenekan Tobiloba, Ajibola Sunday, Lenboye Muize, Bamigbose Ruth, Ogbonna Francisca and Miss Adewumi Blessing were also honoured. Blessing, who bagged a fist class in Electrical Electronics Engineering, is the only female in her class. She obtained a CGPA of 4.58 to emerge the best in the male-dominated class.

Posted: at 31-07-2012 06:50 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- BendelArmedRobb at 31-07-2012 06:53 AM (11 years ago)
naija una too much!!!coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 31-07-2012 06:53 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 31-07-2012 07:02 AM (11 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool

Posted: at 31-07-2012 07:02 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 31-07-2012 10:42 AM (11 years ago)
Congrat better pickhn. Other are thiefing, u are making ur parent proud.
Posted: at 31-07-2012 10:42 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- aso4life1 at 31-07-2012 10:48 AM (11 years ago)
winace you are funny and right

Posted: at 31-07-2012 10:48 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- mallorca at 31-07-2012 12:29 PM (11 years ago)
congrats bro

Posted: at 31-07-2012 12:29 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- aso4life1 at 31-07-2012 02:10 PM (11 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool

Posted: at 31-07-2012 02:10 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Solidstonez at 7-08-2012 01:28 PM (11 years ago)
WOW

Posted: at 7-08-2012 01:28 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 7-08-2012 01:28 PM (11 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool

Posted: at 7-08-2012 01:28 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- aso4life1 at 7-08-2012 01:57 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Solidstonez on  7-08-2012 01:28 PM
WOW
solid, are you an artist? this your profile photo look the same but will different design to the previous ones

Posted: at 7-08-2012 01:57 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- mallorca at 7-08-2012 02:38 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 7-08-2012 02:38 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dlimelite at 8-08-2012 01:45 AM (11 years ago)
CONGRATULATIONS MY BROTHER!
Posted: at 8-08-2012 01:45 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 8-08-2012 01:47 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: winace on 31-07-2012 10:42 AM
Congrat better pickhn. Other are thiefing, u are making ur parent proud.
Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy CheesyI KNOW RIGHT
Posted: at 8-08-2012 01:47 AM (11 years ago) | Hero

1. Punish My Abusers Within 48 Hours Or...- Student Bullied By Classmates Threatens Lead School

2. VIDEO: "You Are Driving A Ferrari Without A Hit Song" - Portable Blasts Zinoleesky

3. Tunde Onakoya Gets Royal Welcome As He Lands in Nigeria After Breaking Record in Chess Marathon

4. Supporters Of Embattled Ex Gov. Yahaya Bello Perform Rituals To Prevent His Arrest From EFCC

5. Actress, Peggy Ovire Reacts After Troll Said She Forced Husband Freddie Leonard To Marry Her

6. Under The Law, Once A Father Acknowledges A Child, No Third Party Can Contest It -Lawyer Slams

7. Police Parade 21 Criminal Suspects In Edo

8. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

9. Bullying: "Teach Children Love, Kindness And Empathy" – Queen Atang Urges Parents

10. Abeg Free Our Mommy of Lagos, We Need New TikTok Sounds - BBNaija's Vee Iye Speaks For Bobrisky

11. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

12. Viral Asoebi Lady, Olivia Emmanuel Releases Over 20 Numbers of Men Sliding in Her DM

13. Netizens React As DeeOne Begs Phyna For Forgiveness Following His Battle With Strange Illness

14. Federal Govt Suspends Dana Airline Indefinitely Over Safety Concerns

15. Multichoice Increases Prices in GOtv And Dstv Subscriptions in NIgeria

16. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office