''Senetor David Mark is a lucky bastard' How To Properly Insult David Mark .....

Date: 31-07-2012 4:08 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Luther
- at 31-07-2012 04:08 PM (11 years ago)

Columnist: Correct Me If I Am Right By Rudolf Okonkwo

“We need to change our attitude on how we report things about our country and we should emulate the foreign reporters who never report negative things about their countries."   David Mark, Nigeria's Senate President, complaining about social media being used to insult Nigerian leaders in a speech to reporters covering the Nigerian Senate.

I’m going to use some bad words in this column. If you cannot stomach them, please stop reading.

Right now.

Thank you.

I do not waste my thoughts on some Nigerian politicians. Despite their antics and cries for attention, I dismiss this bunch of political actors. Some are so rotten that I consider them irredeemable. Some are so insignificant in the overall reformation scheme that I feel they will wither away as soon as the cord of corruption is cut off. Some are nothing but stagnant balls of smoke made of sheer ignorance. Mr. David Mark was one of them. But he shouldn’t be.

On a second thought, David Mark is much more than all of the above. He is not just irredeemable. He is also contaminating. He is not just insignificant. His dirty fingers are scratching the canvas of Nigeria. He is not just a stagnant smoke of ignorance on Nigeria’s sky. He is also in motion.

In short, David Mark is a lucky bastard. And nothing is scarier than a government of lucky bastards in the life of a nation.

Mr. Mark went in front of reporters that cover the senate, men and women that he has pocketed, to complain that the social media is used by faceless people to insult Nigerian leaders like him. He grumbled that these disgruntled operators of social media have no way of retracting their stories. His solution: that the government should control social media to stop its users from insulting leaders like him.

What the likes of David Mark do not know is that social media does not operate in a vacuum. It needs content to exist. And social media content is provided by people like David Mark.

For those who need more details, this is the essential biography of David Alechenu Bonaventure Mark. Born on April 18, 1948, in Otukpo, he joined the Nigerian army and became prominent as a Major when he was named Secretary of the Abandoned Property Implementation Commission after the Biafra-Nigeria Civil War. In the 1980s, he reemerged as one of the so-called Babangida boys. He became the military governor of Niger state from 1984- 1986. When Babangida took over as Nigeria’s military dictator, he brought Mark close as his Minister of Communication. He played a prominent role in the annulment of the June 12, 1993 election. He headed the gang that threatened to kill M.K.O. Abiola if the military had dared to hand power over to him. He fell out with Gen. Sani Abacha who retired him from the army and he went on exile. At the beginning of this current democratic dispensation in 1999, he became a senator representing Benue South senatorial zone. He supported Obasanjo’s effort to amend the Nigerian constitution to serve a third term. For that effort he collected the lion share of the billions that Obasanjo’s supporters used to bribe senators. He became the Senate president in 2007 as a reward for his loyalty to the PDP.

David Mark is a shameless hypocrite who has absolute disdain for Nigeria. That such an uninspiring character is angling for the presidency of Nigeria is a testament to the hopelessness of the Nigerian project. Put aside his pedigree, Nigeria’s number three man is as shallow as they come. Otherwise he would have heard that it was Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein of the Washington Post newspaper that singlehandedly exposed President Richard Nixon as a crook and forced him to resign.

David Mark is old enough to know that “the only countries where newspapers are full of good news are those countries where the prisons are full of good people.” If David Mark is just ignorant, I won’t be scared. I will simply hope that soon, like other ignoramuses like him ruining Nigeria, he will die off with his stupidity and leave Nigeria to its fate. But David Mark is much more than ignorant. He is deliberately manipulative and mischievous. And that is dangerous.

David Mark is a lucky bastard. The best way to properly insult him is to ignore him. That is what I will go back to doing now that I have let out steam.

Long but interesting piece, for full details http://saharareporters.com/column/how-properly-insult-david-mark-rudolf-ogoo-okonkwo
Omo, fear dey catch me sef as i dey copy and paste this gist so Roll Eyes

Posted: at 31-07-2012 04:08 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 31-07-2012 04:09 PM (11 years ago)
 Undecided Undecided
Posted: at 31-07-2012 04:09 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- luther4real at 31-07-2012 04:23 PM (11 years ago)
lets hope they dont restrict the use of social media in nigeria cos this is the only platform we have to let the world know how corrupt our leaders are

Posted: at 31-07-2012 04:23 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fuck_Muslims at 31-07-2012 04:28 PM (11 years ago)
Nafdac approved........100% correct
Thank God for Internet oooooo, i for know know say na so this man be ooooooo
Posted: at 31-07-2012 04:28 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- luther4real at 31-07-2012 04:42 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: phyuk_Muslims on 31-07-2012 04:28 PM

Posted: at 31-07-2012 04:42 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kelvin_babyboy at 31-07-2012 09:20 PM (11 years ago)
There is no news in africa except for hiv out break. Flood,famine and disaster.this is the perception of the foreing media.and the senator is only telling us not to add insult to injury.ya all must understand how powefull the media is and we must use it wisely.thats what he ment.and that is what you people should know

Posted: at 31-07-2012 09:20 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- luther4real at 1-08-2012 08:38 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: kelvin_babyboy on 31-07-2012 09:20 PM
There is no news in africa except for hiv out break. Flood,famine and disaster.this is the perception of the foreing media.and the senator is only telling us not to add insult to injury.ya all must understand how powefull the media is and we must use it wisely.thats what he ment.and that is what you people should know

''You might be one of his foot soldier, but i want to educate you; 160million destinies are at stake here. This is only way to treat their madness. Think about this, if he does well, he will be accorded as well.''

''......a stinking thief should not dream of being respected. The stupid idea of respect for 'elders' is antiquated. A thief is a thief irrespetive of age or grey hair.
One who has got no stinking dung in his anus will not shiver under the 'beamlight' of social media''.
Posted: at 1-08-2012 08:38 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kelvin_babyboy at 1-08-2012 08:16 PM (11 years ago)
I am not his foot soldier.am just a logical innovativ nigerian.u people use the social media to talk trash like the idiot in this article who feels he can publish rubbish just because he has the access. That is what we get when we check the abuse of the social media. Why do u think people go to school for over 5 years studying masscommunication.its because the media is not just a place u can just stroll into and transfer ur agresson onto leaders.innocent or not. And for your information.if the people feel pressed. U can always protest or invite the media. Local or foreign and vent your view rather than polute the social media. Thanks

Posted: at 1-08-2012 08:16 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- luther4real at 2-08-2012 08:13 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: kelvin_babyboy on  1-08-2012 08:16 PM
I am not his foot soldier.am just a logical innovativ nigerian.u people use the social media to talk trash like the idiot in this article who feels he can publish rubbish just because he has the access. That is what we get when we check the abuse of the social media. Why do u think people go to school for over 5 years studying masscommunication.its because the media is not just a place u can just stroll into and transfer ur agresson onto leaders.innocent or not. And for your information.if the people feel pressed. U can always protest or invite the media. Local or foreign and vent your view rather than polute the social media. Thanks

''.....if these african leaders were being praised,social media would'nt be blamed for distorting the truth,would it?''

''Anyone who wants to lead must be ready to face criticisms. Good Performance is the answer to critics not censorship.''
Posted: at 2-08-2012 08:13 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 2-08-2012 09:34 AM (11 years ago)
 Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue

Posted: at 2-08-2012 09:34 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 9-08-2012 06:36 PM (11 years ago)
RUBISH
Posted: at 9-08-2012 06:36 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- JOHNPET at 9-08-2012 09:16 PM (11 years ago)
OK
Posted: at 9-08-2012 09:16 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- mallorca at 9-08-2012 11:44 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: phyuk_Muslims on 31-07-2012 04:28 PM

Posted: at 9-08-2012 11:44 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 22-08-2012 01:08 PM (11 years ago)
RUBBISH

Posted: at 22-08-2012 01:08 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 22-08-2012 01:08 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 22-08-2012 01:08 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 10-02-2013 05:01 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 10-02-2013 05:01 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Burna Boy Blasts Foreign Blogs Over Old Image Of His Shaved Beards

2. Check Out List Of Africa's Youngest Serving Presidents, 2024

3. Yul Edochie Publicly Announces Judy Austin His Soul Mate' In New Loved Up Video

4. Japanese Nappy Maker Shifts From Babies To Adults

5. U.S., India Rejected Mr Ibu Because He Couldn't Survive Flying Abroad - Nigerian Actors Guide

6. Police Arrest Man Who Pretended To Carry Out Transaction Robbed PoS Operator At Gunpoint In Edo

7. Residents Panic As Man & Pregnant Woman Get Abducted In Ikorodu

8. Gov. Dr Alex Otti Flags Off Construction Of 11km Road In Abia North

9. Tragedy As 4 Die In Bauchi Auto Crash, Over N1.6Million Recovered From Victims

10. Dangote Commences Donation Of 80,000 Bags Of Rice To Lagos Residents

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. "He Must Have Range Rover, Benz, BMW, At Least ₦100m” - Lady Sets Standards For Suitors (Video)

5. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

6. “Stay Clear Of Verydarkman Matter” – Samklef Issues Warning To Davido

7. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

8. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

9. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

10. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake