Lord have mercy! LUTH driver crushes okada rider, injures others

Date: 07-08-2012 4:36 am (11 years ago) | Author: Steph.
- at 7-08-2012 04:36 AM (11 years ago)

A driver with the Lagos University Teaching Hospital, Lanre Osho, on Thursday allegedly crushed a commercial motorcycle operator, Jamiu Tiamiyu, in the Mushin area of the state.

We learnt that there was pandemonium in the area following allegation that the driver was drunk.

The wife of the deceased, Siriyatu, told our correspondent on Monday that the incident occurred about 7:30pm on Ade-Oyo Street.

She said, “On Thursday, around 7:30pm, Tiamiyu went to break his fast and just left a mosque. He got on his motorcycle with two passengers when he was hit by the vehicle, which had LUTH inscriptions. My husband and the passengers were seriously injured.”

An eyewitness said Tiamuyu and the passengers were initially rushed to a hospital on Sadiku Street, Ilasamaja, but were later taken to LUTH due to the severity of the case.

The deceased’s wife said, “When he was rushed to LUTH, the nurses started shouting ‘you again, you again,’ meaning that the driver had most likely hit someone before. The nurses immediately admitted my husband to LUTH where he was placed on oxygen.”

Tiamiyu however died the next day at LUTH from the complications of the injury.

Sulaimon Asiwaju, a commercial motorcyclist, who was among the people that rushed the victims to hospital, said, “After hitting Tiamiyu, people apprehended the driver while he was trying to run away. I left immediately to call Tiamiyu’s relatives. We all left for LUTH where he was placed on oxygen. His eyes were swollen and blood gushed out from various parts of his body and his legs were broken.

“We saw the driver a few minutes later reeking of alcohol and even some nurses hinted that he had committed such an offence before.”

The wife of the deceased alleged that when the matter was reported at the Olosan Police Division, the policemen attached to the traffic department refused to register the case.

She added that it took the intervention of the Area D commander before the case was accepted.

She said, “On Friday at Olosan Police Station, it took the intervention of the Area Commander before the police could act on the case.

“Relatives who went to the station had previously been chased away by the police, accusing them of not reporting the case on the night of the incident.”

Siriyatu, who has five children, said it would be difficult for her to cope without her husband.

She said, “I am now a widow with five children to take care of. Even when my husband was alive we were struggling financially. I don’t even know where to start from.

“The landlord served us a quit notice last week and my husband was working extra hard to pay the rent.”

The Public Relations Officer, LUTH, Hope Nwalolo, could not be reached as her phone was switch off.

The spokesperson for the state police command, Ngozi Braide, could not be reached, but a source in her office said she was in a meeting with the Commissioner of Police.

Posted: at 7-08-2012 04:36 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Fertymor at 7-08-2012 09:09 AM (11 years ago)
 Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
GOD will continue to protect us oh, AMEN
Posted: at 7-08-2012 09:09 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 7-08-2012 09:10 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Fertymor on  7-08-2012 09:09 AM
Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
GOD will continue to protect us oh, AMEN
Amen

Posted: at 7-08-2012 09:10 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- mallorca at 7-08-2012 11:53 AM (11 years ago)
nawa ooo!

Posted: at 7-08-2012 11:53 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- aso4life1 at 7-08-2012 01:07 PM (11 years ago)
na real wa

Posted: at 7-08-2012 01:07 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 2-09-2012 03:29 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 2-09-2012 03:29 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- aso4life1 at 3-09-2012 09:30 AM (11 years ago)
 Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 3-09-2012 09:30 AM (11 years ago) | Hero