Prominent Islamic Cleric, Sheikh Gumi Was The Primary Target Of The Kaduna Bomb

Date: 14-08-2012 11:52 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 14-08-2012 11:52 PM (11 years ago)
The bomb blast in Kaduna, Tuesday afternoon, may have been targeted at a renowned Islamic Scholar and medical doctor, Ahmed Gumi, sources in Kaduna say.

A witness who prefer not to be named said “though the explosion may have been accidental, the Sheikh is clearly the target because the incident occurred just when he was about to leave for the daily Tafsir he delivers at Sultan Bello Mosque.”

It is not clear who the bearers of the explosive were. However, the Islamic cleric has been very critical of the Boko Haram sect as well as the Federal Government in his Ramadan sermons this year.

The cleric is one of the few prominent Islamic clerics, based in Northern Nigeria, who publicly condemn the activities of the sect.

Meanwhile, the spokesperson for the Kaduna State Police Command, Abubakar Balteh, while confirming the incident, said only two bodies, believed to be those of the assailants, were found at the scene of the blast.

But some witnesses say three persons were on the motorcycle on which the attackers rode before the explosion.

Mr. Baltzh said, “two persons on a motorcycle were killed from an IED (improvised explosive device) that accidentally exploded on transit.”

Speaking further, Mr. Balteh said “the incident occurred around 3:45pm around Modibo Adama Junction leading to the residence of Sheikh Dr Ahmed Gumi near NNPC Mega station along Ali Akilu way.”

“However, no other casualty is reported and we have already commenced investigation into the explosion,” he said.

Kaduna, the political capital of old Northern Nigeria, has witnessed several attacks by the Boko Haram group.

In July, the group attacked the home of Namadi Sambo, the Vice president, in Zaria, killing one person.
Several bomb attacks in the state, especially on places of worship and private residences, have also caused the death of dozens of people.

Tuesday’s explosion came amidst reports that the Boko Haram sect had begun negotiation with the Federal Government .

A man, Abu Mohammed, who claimed to be the deputy leader of Boko Haram, called the Voice of America to inform them that the sect was having discussions with the FG.

Mr. Mohammed called a VOA reporter in Mecca, Saudi Arabia, to talk about the negotiation which he said was facilitated prominent Northern leaders.

PREMIUM TIMES could not independently verify Mr. Mohammed’s claim.

http://premiumtimesng.com/news/96484-kaduna-bomb-targeted-prominent-islamic-cleric-sheikh-gumi.html

Posted: at 14-08-2012 11:52 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mallorca at 15-08-2012 12:06 AM (11 years ago)
Boko Haram is simple winnning

Posted: at 15-08-2012 12:06 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- FinlandGuy at 15-08-2012 12:20 AM (11 years ago)
Bunch of nuisances  and hypocrites.Nahimtalklie Number 1
Posted: at 15-08-2012 12:20 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FinlandGuy at 15-08-2012 12:36 AM (11 years ago)
You people should kill yourselves for there,that is a message from your allah!!!
Posted: at 15-08-2012 12:36 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ice4jez at 15-08-2012 12:52 AM (11 years ago)
When have u ever tried and Pray for dis country.its wat can save us now cos our leaders dont even care if we rot in hell as far as dey continue steal the money meant for the masses
Posted: at 15-08-2012 12:52 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Amaight at 15-08-2012 01:55 AM (11 years ago)
Is nigeria a country?
Posted: at 15-08-2012 01:55 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- clement0244 at 15-08-2012 02:38 AM (11 years ago)
Naija pals una too much , i so much like this new site , at least it allows reasonable people to post comment. no be for person were no sabi use internet to come here come dey post rubish comment. about coffee,amala,GEJ, OBASANGO and so on .....................which i hv not red for some times now.......
your members should be reasonable.
Posted: at 15-08-2012 02:38 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- dogodajiabuja at 15-08-2012 03:42 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: FinlandGuy on 15-08-2012 12:36 AM
You people should kill yourselves for there,that is a message from your allah!!!
bros,
dem never start sef
from now on, whenever they throw a bomb in a church, a mosque with go up in flames and nothing will happen to the church.
u know say their allah no sabi wetin be miracle, dem go see am soon.
boko haram no deh follow fast?
abi dem no be muslims again?
Posted: at 15-08-2012 03:42 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- malvin2525 at 15-08-2012 04:43 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 15-08-2012 04:43 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Simon-Zeletus at 15-08-2012 05:22 AM (11 years ago)
GOD intervention is on now
Posted: at 15-08-2012 05:22 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Olamideluv at 15-08-2012 06:08 AM (11 years ago)
So know body that was save in Nigeria plz God interveni on this voilence across the contry.[color=][/color]
Posted: at 15-08-2012 06:08 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Neglito at 15-08-2012 06:26 AM (11 years ago)
Good education is the only solution to Nigeria's problem. I therefore call on Nigerian Government to  invest heavily in that sector, It's fair to say, there is so much ignorance in Nigeria.
Posted: at 15-08-2012 06:26 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 15-08-2012 07:08 AM (11 years ago)
no be small thing ooooo, good for them
Posted: at 15-08-2012 07:08 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jamesbondchick at 15-08-2012 08:22 AM (11 years ago)
rubbish! since when has boko boys missed a target? they are fooling themselves,not us

Posted: at 15-08-2012 08:22 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lovecommander at 15-08-2012 09:42 AM (11 years ago)
WHICH ONE DO WE TAKE. ANOTHER NEWPAPER REPORT SAID THAT IT IS FOR A LAGOS BOUND TRAIN.
Posted: at 15-08-2012 09:42 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- denmal at 15-08-2012 10:22 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: clement0244 on 15-08-2012 02:38 AM
Naija pals una too much , i so much like this new site , at least it allows reasonable people to post comment. no be for person were no sabi use internet to come here come dey post rubish comment. about coffee,amala,GEJ, OBASANGO and so on .....................which i hv not red for some times now.......
your members should be reasonable.

we are together
Posted: at 15-08-2012 10:22 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bigdad95 at 15-08-2012 12:12 PM (11 years ago)
exept they repent they will all die in the same in the same way,by bomb blast
Posted: at 15-08-2012 12:12 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- verah at 15-08-2012 12:20 PM (11 years ago)
i pray they kill themselves nd turn all northner state to desert.. so islam can b wiped away.. nametalktrash watch out na fr ur head dem go throw d next bomb.. it a msg nd will of allah  Cheesy

Posted: at 15-08-2012 12:20 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- verah at 15-08-2012 12:21 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: dogodajiabuja on 15-08-2012 03:42 AM
bros,
dem never start sef
from now on, whenever they throw a bomb in a church, a mosque with go up in flames and nothing will happen to the church.
u know say their allah no sabi wetin be miracle, dem go see am soon.
boko haram no deh follow fast?
abi dem no be muslims again?

amen

Posted: at 15-08-2012 12:21 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lee22 at 15-08-2012 01:18 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 15-08-2012 01:18 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

2. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

3. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

4. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

5. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

6. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

7. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

8. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

9. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

10. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

11. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

12. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

13. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

14. My Mother, Enemy Of Progres!Man Reveals How His Mother Ended His Plans To Travel Out Of Nigeria

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Ex-Nigerian Customs Sole Administrator, Omlago Ango Damages Estranged Wife's Abuja Home

6. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor