UK Set To Deport A Gay Nigerian Asylum Seeker Who Fled Nigeria To Escape Death

Date: 02-10-2012 6:20 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Charles colins
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 2-10-2012 06:20 PM (11 years ago)
UK authorities are insisting on deporting a gay Nigerian asylum seeker, despite him facing a possible death sentence and a campaign to let him stay in Bradford.

Olalekan M Ayelokun fled eight years from Nigeria eight years ago to escape persecution because of his segxwality.

A judge at Bradford’s Immigration Court stated he was not convinced Ayelokun was a gay and ordered his deportation by 6 October.

Mr Ayelokun was detained last Tuesday after a routine appointment at the UK Border Agency’s Waterside Court offices in Leeds.

Jason Feather, a friend of Ayelokun told Gay Star News: ‘He was arrested with only the clothes he was wearing, since then he did not have a change of clothes.

Yesterday he was moved to Collingbrook detention center in London, which is near the airport so he can be deported to Nigeria in only four days.

Feather and other friends of Ayelokun have set up a Facebook group, an online petition and a sample letter to MPs, to try and stop him from being forced onto a plane back to Nigeria on 6 October.

His solicitor, Mark Taylor, appealing to the High Court in a bid to get the judge’s decision reversed.

However, a UK Border Agency (UKBA) spokesman told the daily Telegraph and Argus that Mr Ayelokun had lived in the UK illegally, having overstayed a visit visa that expired in 2003.

The spokesman said: ‘He did not claim asylum until 2011, after he was arrested by UK Border Agency officers for using false documents to gain employment.

‘At no point has he been able to provide sufficient evidence of his segxwality and our decision not to grant him asylum has been upheld by an independent immigration judge.’

Taylor, Ayelokun’s solicitor, branded the judge’s decision in as ‘extraordinary’, claiming three former segxwal partners and other friends from the gay scene gave evidence on oath that his client was gay.

He said: ‘This young man is undoubtedly gay. The reality is he will die if he goes back to Nigeria. Homosegxwality is an offence there and there is Sharia law in some places, so the reality is that he will die.’

Jason Feather told GSN: ‘My friend Ola Ayelokun may face death if he is deported to Nigera.

‘It is also contradiction of David Cameron's pledge in 2010 who said that: “those Africans seeking asylum on the basis of segxwal orientation and at real risk of persecution in their home countries should be allowed to stay in the UK".

'We are hoping the Prime Minister will step in and keep his word.’

Homosegxwality is illegal in the federal system of Nigeria and is punished in different states in varying degrees of severity.

Southern states punishes same-sex acts with up to 14 years imprisonment.

While northern states and punish same-sex acts with a minimum of 14 years imprisonment as well as a fine, and in twelve of the northern states punishments include flogging and death by stoning.

Omar Kuddus, chair of the British charity organization Gay Asylum slammed the UK authorities telling GSN: ‘To what length does a person have to go to prove he is gay?

‘The UKBA needs to understand that to be gay in Nigeria is a death sentence and as such how can they justify sending him back to his possible death?

‘The UKBA must realize that they are playing with lives and as such must show compassion and understanding.’  

Posted: at 2-10-2012 06:20 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dguy2 at 2-10-2012 06:48 PM (11 years ago)
ADURO YAKPA
Posted: at 2-10-2012 06:48 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- danuy at 2-10-2012 07:08 PM (11 years ago)
fake gay,,
Posted: at 2-10-2012 07:08 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 2-10-2012 07:13 PM (11 years ago)
Na dem sabi

Posted: at 2-10-2012 07:13 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- factfinding at 2-10-2012 07:17 PM (11 years ago)
if your a Gay sorry is your name, because Nigeria Govt will kill you if try to come back
Posted: at 2-10-2012 07:17 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 2-10-2012 07:37 PM (11 years ago)
See level.....Fake gay.....

Posted: at 2-10-2012 07:37 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 2-10-2012 07:38 PM (11 years ago)
Nothing people will not do for paper level

Posted: at 2-10-2012 07:38 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- longben at 2-10-2012 07:51 PM (11 years ago)
na boko haram go dabaru your wetin call,agbaya
Posted: at 2-10-2012 07:51 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- jamesbondchick at 2-10-2012 08:00 PM (11 years ago)
Tufiakwa! Gay freak!

Posted: at 2-10-2012 08:00 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 2-10-2012 08:23 PM (11 years ago)
You trained him to be gay and you'd better keep him there. UNITED GAY KINGDOM.
Posted: at 2-10-2012 08:23 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- de-girl at 2-10-2012 08:25 PM (11 years ago)
He got Sodom's nationality
Posted: at 2-10-2012 08:25 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Amor1444 at 2-10-2012 09:09 PM (11 years ago)
You  were very bold in claiming Gay, condemning your fatherland in a Gay nation, now that you have been rejected by both heaven & hell, where will you go to? You see ur life? For whatever reason, anything associated with abnormality like this is evil in the site of God. You have made yourself an outcast  Cry Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 2-10-2012 09:09 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 2-10-2012 09:14 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Neglito on  2-10-2012 08:23 PM
You trained him to be gay and you'd better keep him there. UNITED GAY KINGDOM.
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
you this monkey , you are right oooooooooo
Posted: at 2-10-2012 09:14 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 2-10-2012 09:18 PM (11 years ago)
this guy is telling a lie, except if theres something he is hidding from us, its just only recently they passed it into law here in nigeria, and its jail and not death sentence, one nolly wood was recently bagged only 3 months in jail sef, so what rubbish is this monkey look like guy saying here?
Posted: at 2-10-2012 09:18 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- mobjunk at 2-10-2012 09:35 PM (11 years ago)
SCAM OF THE HIGHEST ORDER. IF U ARE REALLY A GAY WHY ARE U AFRAID TO COME TO NIGERIA WHEN WE HAVE NOT HEARD FROM SECURITY AGENT THAT U ARE ON THE WANTED LIST. FEAR NIGERIAN IT HAS GOTTEN TO DEPORTATION U ARE CLAIMING GUY .
Posted: at 2-10-2012 09:35 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- denmal at 2-10-2012 09:40 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 2-10-2012 09:40 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Senegal at 2-10-2012 09:49 PM (11 years ago)
Let him come back and marry Ajanni
Posted: at 2-10-2012 09:49 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dallasp at 2-10-2012 10:13 PM (11 years ago)
na thm sabi
Posted: at 2-10-2012 10:13 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 2-10-2012 10:36 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Senegal on  2-10-2012 09:49 PM

marry him to your uncle  na, i am not a gay, i love women so -------
Posted: at 2-10-2012 10:36 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- Slimchery at 2-10-2012 10:40 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Senegal on  2-10-2012 09:49 PM
  Lol, wahala dey oooh, well till him come back, maybe dem fit like each other from there develop love, lol
Posted: at 2-10-2012 10:40 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 5

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

4. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

5. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

6. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,