Nigerian Woman Sentenced to 80 Years Imprisonment In US

Date: 23-11-2012 2:32 pm (11 years ago) | Author: franel
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 23-11-2012 02:32 PM (11 years ago)
«§» 23 November 2012

A Houston jury has reached a decision on the sentencing phase of the trial against Jessica Tata, a daycare owner whose home caught fire, killing and injuring several children.

On November 13, Tata was found guilty of murder and sentenced to 80 years in prison.

Tata, 24, left children in a home on Crest Park near Waypark alone with a pan of grease heating on a stove while she went shopping on February 24, 2011.

When she got home, the house was on fire. Elias, Shomari d**kerson, 3; Elizabeth Kojah, 20 months, and Kendyll Stradford, 20 months, all died in the fire. Three other children were hurt.

Jurors took eight hours to decide on punishment. Tata will be eligible for parole in 30 years.

Tata wiped away tears as her attorney, Mike DeGeurin, said the fire and deaths were an accident. He said Tata made a mistake and never intended for the children to be hurt because she loved them.

“She should have called for help or she should have said to herself, ‘I’ll wait until they wake up, change their diapers, I’ll load them up in the car and we’ll go shopping together,’” DeGeurin said. “But she didn’t.”

DeGeurin said that Tata will forever pay, no matter how long she spends in prison, for using bad judgment.

Posted: at 23-11-2012 02:32 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 23-11-2012 03:38 PM (11 years ago)
80 years ? na wa o o o o
Posted: at 23-11-2012 03:38 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- winace at 23-11-2012 04:26 PM (11 years ago)
She was really careless.
Posted: at 23-11-2012 04:26 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Rolinppp at 23-11-2012 04:56 PM (11 years ago)
So unfortunate!

Posted: at 23-11-2012 04:56 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 23-11-2012 06:37 PM (11 years ago)
what kind of carelessness is this
Posted: at 23-11-2012 06:37 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dlimelite at 23-11-2012 06:56 PM (11 years ago)
Babies having babies again.  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Why would you abandon your children at home to go shopping. Is it an emergency that cant wait? You didnt even think about your children. And ontop of that leave a pan of grease heating on the stove. You can't complete one task at a time? Clearly stupid. I feel sorry for those kids who lost their lives  becuz they were born with an untrained foolish parent and didn't get to fulfill their task in life.  Cry Rest in peace little angels
Posted: at 23-11-2012 06:56 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- chylind5 at 23-11-2012 07:08 PM (11 years ago)
Rip little ones... The woman was just careless. But she doesnt look 24 in that Pix.
Posted: at 23-11-2012 07:08 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 23-11-2012 07:40 PM (11 years ago)
The parents of these children may never get over it I hope they’ll continue to have the strength to move on.

She was careless no doubt. I’ll like to make a point that it is very tough to survive in the Western World. Most of the time you have to juggle between so many things in the name of money. Very sad for all involved.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BMgJj0kUi0" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BMgJj0kUi0</a>

Tata still faces three more counts of felony murder in relation to the other children who died and tree counts of abandoning a child and two counts of reckless injury to a child in relation to the three who were hurt. Prosecutors planned to pursue trials on the remaining felony murder charges.

She was born in the U.S. but has Nigerian citizenship.

Posted: at 23-11-2012 07:40 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 23-11-2012 07:43 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 23-11-2012 07:43 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zoe61 at 23-11-2012 08:33 PM (11 years ago)
is a pity that is why in my country if u don't have license u can't pratice day care
Posted: at 23-11-2012 08:33 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 23-11-2012 08:52 PM (11 years ago)
na wa ooooo.24 + 80 = 104years  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes wetin come remain for her life wen she come out. Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 23-11-2012 08:52 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 23-11-2012 09:02 PM (11 years ago)
   Cry  Cry         Cry  Cry     i realy feel so pitty for her.why E  no be say ni ajanni them give this kind jail sentence intead of this woman.what is the use ajanni living outside freely now?Huh???  Cry
Posted: at 23-11-2012 09:02 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- arsenal123 at 23-11-2012 09:07 PM (11 years ago)
 Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 23-11-2012 09:07 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- alibab at 23-11-2012 09:18 PM (11 years ago)
I really feeel vry vry sowi for her.
Posted: at 23-11-2012 09:18 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Unikpearl at 23-11-2012 09:25 PM (11 years ago)
Ooops
Posted: at 23-11-2012 09:25 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ifemylove at 23-11-2012 09:28 PM (11 years ago)
poor her
Posted: at 23-11-2012 09:28 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jamesbondchick at 23-11-2012 10:14 PM (11 years ago)
You see now? See what carelessness can do? If they were her children wud she have bin so careless? Now see! 80 yrs! Her life is officially over.

Posted: at 23-11-2012 10:14 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- xband at 23-11-2012 10:16 PM (11 years ago)
God please make her to live up to 104 years. Undecided
Posted: at 23-11-2012 10:16 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- neloceleb at 23-11-2012 10:24 PM (11 years ago)
Eiyah..rip to d kids
Posted: at 23-11-2012 10:24 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- denmal at 23-11-2012 11:16 PM (11 years ago)
na wao
Posted: at 23-11-2012 11:16 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 5