"Dbanj’s Koko Concert Was A Complete Mess" - fans vent anger on Twitter

Date: 28-12-2012 12:47 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Gistvillage
- at 28-12-2012 12:47 PM (11 years ago)
Dbanj disappointed his fans at the concert.

Micro-blogging site, Twitter, was agog with criticism of the end of the year concert by popular Afropop musician, Dbanj, tagged Koko Concert held at the Eko Atlantic Beach, Lagos .

Many of Dbanj’s frustrated fans who took to twitter to vent their anger described the concert as lacklustre and ill-managed.

In the past weeks, the concert has enjoyed a lot of hype in the media and was one of the most expensive musical concerts in the country. Some fans paid as much as N1 million to attend the concert which also has Hollywood actor Idris Elba; America rappers, Pusha T and Big Sean; as well as Nigerian-born British rapper Tinnie Tempah; on parade.

Fans were particularly disappointed by Dbanj’s performance. Many of them who went to the concert hoping to hear him perform some of his popular tunes were heartbroken as the musician chose to perform his most recent tunes that many have problems relating to.

“Dbanj does not have any song to sing.. Terrible. Let tomorrow come first,” said a fan tweeting from the handle @RicDizZle.

“Sing Suddenly or Mogbonofelifeli if you know say e sure for you!” @RicDizZle continued referring to some the musician’s popular tunes.

Dbanj, who is used to a mimed performance, had problems adjusting to performing to a live band, some attendees said.

“I think Dbanj is the worst performer of the night #kokoconcert. Easier to perform with a CD. Live performance no be beans [not easy],” said a fan tweeting from the handle @ebraheemshehu

“I have a lot of respect for #Nigerian artistes who perform with a live band but i don’t think #Dbanj killed it today. #kokoconcert,” s
aid Fidelis Mbah, a reporter with the BBC.

“That’s not a live band, just a bunch of confused electricians,” said another fan tweeting from the handle @TheBlackHermit.

Insulted fans

His woeful performance aside, many of fans, who stayed awake all night to see him perform at the concert and those watching the live stream of the event on NdaniTV, said Dbanj’s worst blunder of the night was when he said: “The people wey pay me money na dis side dem dey” (those that paid me are on this side) while apologising to those at the VVIP section of the concert for below-par arrangement made for them. At a point he even asked those at the popular and VIP sections to apologise to those at the VVIP for the inconvenience they suffered.

Fans at the popular section and VIP paid 5,000 and 20,000 respectively. Many of his fans who felt insulted reacted sharply:

“Disgusting that he only keeps apologising to VVIP. The 5K ticket holders are the real fans and the ones promoting his music . Shame,” said a fan tweeting from @Rebl_jade.

“Dbanj needs to stop acting the fool with this VVIP thing. So rude!” said @EniolaHundeyin

“And he had the nerve to ask the 5k & 20k people to aplogise to the VVIPs. I say it, the concert was an allegory for Nigeria as a whole,” said Tola Sarumi tweeting from @AfroVII.

“Only in naija (Nigeria) you pay for something and STILL get insulted. Customer appreciation? Absolute zero,” said a fan tweeting from @kennagq

A complete mess

From tiresome trek along the sandy beach, inadequate parking space, to Dbanj’s fake American accent, the general perception was that the overpriced concert was a failure.

“The worst day of my life! Dec 29th, Koko concert. Despite d negativity, I managed to hold my head up nd stay positive! Home now..#NeverAgain” said eccentric Channel-O presenter, Derenle Edun.

“Call me a hater but Dbanj is too big of an artist to be putting out mediocre shows like that!! #kokoconcert,”
said @natashamutale

“This guy better not be planning to drop any album soon. People will refuse to even bootleg it,” said Tome Buluku tweeting from the handle @IamTome.

“There’s def no koko concert next year sha. Not with this crap,”
said Yemi O tweeting with the handle @mimio193

“D’Banj speaks like Igbo man from Iweka Road now,” said Onyeka Nwelue.

“@iamdbanj sold more VIP & VVIP tickets than d no of seats available..we had to hustle for seats..pathetic,”
said Tokunbo Otitoju tweeting from the handle@fimiletoks

“In Koko Concert, Money can’t buy class. LOL. 1M for table no mean you no go do endurance trek to and fro,” said @Shimoshi1.
cc:  http://www..com/dbanjs-koko-concert-was-a-complete-mess-disappointed-fans-vent-anger-on-twitter/

Posted: at 28-12-2012 12:47 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- paulohking at 28-12-2012 02:17 PM (11 years ago)
gotten
Posted: at 28-12-2012 02:17 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- aso4life1 at 28-12-2012 02:20 PM (11 years ago)
Mennnnn, Mr.Dbanj abegi go back to your real manager Don Jazzy because the break-up is also affecting him seriously, cos non of the songs released so far from his Mavin records impress me....make una come back together and forget the Devilish Kanye West that was sent to separate una.
"A WORD IS ENOUGH FOR MOHITS"

Posted: at 28-12-2012 02:20 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- proly at 28-12-2012 02:27 PM (11 years ago)
kkk
Posted: at 28-12-2012 02:27 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- djmeda at 28-12-2012 02:51 PM (11 years ago)
Am skibang, like my Jamaica friends use to call me. lol
Thank God say i no waste my money ooooo.
Posted: at 28-12-2012 02:51 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- alibab at 28-12-2012 02:51 PM (11 years ago)
Don jazzy nd d'banj needs each other for beettr music carrier orelse yur doom will com soon.
Posted: at 28-12-2012 02:51 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Yworry03 at 28-12-2012 02:57 PM (11 years ago)
Haha....Dbanj......Y now....U fall ma hand.....Haba.....As much as ppl love u.....Pls....Apology is Urgently needed n u need to do sometin about dis very quick
Posted: at 28-12-2012 02:57 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- mrchris at 28-12-2012 03:00 PM (11 years ago)
One can not challenge his God in a wresting competition!!!! Think D banj
Posted: at 28-12-2012 03:00 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- mankaa at 28-12-2012 03:02 PM (11 years ago)
 Grin
Posted: at 28-12-2012 03:02 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- jamesbondchick at 28-12-2012 03:19 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked one million naira for table??? Dem drink?

Posted: at 28-12-2012 03:19 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Biafranwar at 28-12-2012 03:28 PM (11 years ago)
Na them sabi, to organize a concert no easy o
Posted: at 28-12-2012 03:28 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 28-12-2012 03:54 PM (11 years ago)
There is nothg wrong wit Don jazzy, talk to dat over pumpous Dbanji wit no lyrics. And he keep boasting. Now see d phyuk up na.
Posted: at 28-12-2012 03:54 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Noble12 at 28-12-2012 04:23 PM (11 years ago)
I c
Posted: at 28-12-2012 04:23 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sportyzander at 28-12-2012 04:30 PM (11 years ago)
Dbanj be careful with your pride, in entertainment, nothing stays the same...Micheal Jackson is dead........news musicians are now making the heat spot....think
Posted: at 28-12-2012 04:30 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- stikerxxx at 28-12-2012 04:47 PM (11 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 28-12-2012 04:47 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- micc at 28-12-2012 06:03 PM (11 years ago)
The guy no serious again na
Posted: at 28-12-2012 06:03 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- PidginMOUTH at 28-12-2012 06:12 PM (11 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 28-12-2012 06:12 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- satsaver at 28-12-2012 07:03 PM (11 years ago)
thank God say i no go Grin Grin
Posted: at 28-12-2012 07:03 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 28-12-2012 08:07 PM (11 years ago)
Guy no vex mr o
Posted: at 28-12-2012 08:07 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- paulohking at 28-12-2012 08:08 PM (11 years ago)
Guy no vex mr o
Posted: at 28-12-2012 08:08 PM (11 years ago) | Hero

1. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

2. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

5. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

6. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

7. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer