Veteran Nigerian Actor, ‘Natty’ Says He Does Not Want To Die

Date: 03-02-2013 8:56 am (11 years ago) | Author: Direct
- at 3-02-2013 08:56 AM (11 years ago)
Veteran actor, Romanus Uchenna Amuta popularly known as Natty for his role in the 70′s comedy show,  New Masquerade is very ill.
Natty suffered stroke in 2006, and was left bedridden. In 2010, he miraculously managed to regain his steps but could only manage to limp, as the right side of his body had gone numb.
Currently, he can’t manage to move with the left side of his body… he is almost a vegetable as he is slowly losing his memory of past events, old friends and his surroundings.
Hear his words:
“Will I be poor in New Masquerade and still be poor in real life, and even now that I’m about to die?” he wondered, with tears dropping from his eyes.He struggled to add, “I’m … … so, so, so, so poor that I could not even cure the stroke when it was just starting. Now that it (the stroke) is even worse, there is no money to even enjoy myself, even if na small enjoyment before I quench like my mama wey die a long time ago.
Even the best clothes in my wardrobe were bought in 1984 when I made some reasonable money working with Daily Times Newspaper as an Advert Representative in Enugu. Since then, to buy even pant na war.
I have reached out to my friends, but it appears they have abandoned me to die. For my people (his relatives), they have tried, but they can’t kill themselves. My children have also done their best for me.
I believe that if government comes to help me my problems will be over. But the more they delay in coming, the more my body dies, and soon the entire Natty will just die and leave you people.
If they (government) can send me to any of the best hospitals in the world, I will surely get better and bounce back to life.
They (government) should give me land. I need a land and money from government. I need money; plenty money.”
Natty, who hails from Udi Local Government Area in Enugu State cuts a pathetic picture of helplessness. He says virtually all the property in his residence…an old three bedroom flat on 7, Umuchi Nwoko Street, Off One Day Road, in Agbani Road, Enugu  were acquired in the 1970s and changing them has become a mission impossible.
Natty is one of  two of the only surviving cast of the rested New Masquerade series.  Cast such as James Iroha (Giringory Akabuogu), Christy Essien-Igbokwe (Apena), Claude Eke (Jegede Shokoya) have all died, while Davis Offor (Clarus) is currently blind.
The only other surviving member of the New Masquerade cast is Chief Chika Okpala, aka ‘Zebrudaya’. Zebrudaya, who was the lead cast of the series, was approached for comments on Natty’s state and he said:
“It is really unfortunate that Nigerian actors have been left to die. I don’t know why calamity has chosen to befall the film industry, especially the cast of the New Masquerade that is almost wiped out.”
Shaking his head, the comic actor added, “If Natty dies without the government coming to his aid, it will be so bad. But I know that death is a necessary end that must come when it will and so we will not run away from death.
“I will keep praying for Natty and we hope something good will come, and early, before it might become late.”
Natty is married to Cordelia Amuta, a primary school teacher. They have two male and four female children, all grown up…and a 12 year old son from an affair Natty had in 2000.
All his family members are doing the best they can to support him in this trying time.
Why is our society so uncaring and nonchalant about our veteran actors?

Posted: at 3-02-2013 08:56 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Rihannaaa at 3-02-2013 01:37 PM (11 years ago)
 Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad

Posted: at 3-02-2013 01:37 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dlimelite at 3-02-2013 01:45 PM (11 years ago)
I pray that God will give you successful healing IJN amen.

What is with our govt.
Posted: at 3-02-2013 01:45 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- PidginMOUTH at 3-02-2013 01:57 PM (11 years ago)
Amen oo
Posted: at 3-02-2013 01:57 PM (11 years ago) | Hero