PHOTOS: Meet Homeless Man Who Has Been Living In A Grave For The Last 15 Years

Date: 18-02-2013 10:18 am (11 years ago) | Author: uduak Sophia Monday
- at 18-02-2013 10:18 AM (11 years ago)
A homeless man has told how he began sleeping with the dead when he moved into a cemetery 15 years ago.

Mr Stojanovic said that living with the dead isn't as scary as some might think. He said: 'I was afraid in the beginning, but I got used to it in time. Now I am more afraid of the living than of the dead Bratislav Stojanovic, 43, has shared the burial plot with the ashes of a a family who died out more than 100 years ago in Nis, Serbia. But after giving the grave a changing tombs-style makeover the former construction worker said he feels at home. He said: 'It is dry and it is warm. I have some lamps and my personal possessions. 'It isn't a palace but it is more comfortable than the street.' Mr Stojanovic, who has never had a regular job, lost his home in the town after running up debts.

He moved into the grave after dossing down in the streets for months and now spends his time foraging in the out of use cemetery for candles. 'Whenever I want to crawl out I first check if there's someone around, otherwise I could scare a person to death.'People are very kind to me, they sometimes bring me food or clothes. 'Sometimes I have to get my food from rubbish bins but it can be very nutritious. It's amazing what people throw away," he explained. 'It doesn't frighten me to sleep in a grave. The dead are dead. I'm more frightened of being hungry. 'And if I die in the night, at least I'm in the right place.' Mr Stojanovic lives on a diet of food he collects from the rubbish and collects cigarette butts he finds on the ground.

His tomb spans only two-square yards and the ceiling is one yard high. Officials at the cemetery say their squatter can stay as long as he does not disturb other visitors. 'The family who owned the tomb are long gone so technically it belongs to no-one. If he behaves himself there are no plans to evict him,' said a spokesman.

The name of the family who owned the tomb is unknown as the names have eroded from the gravestone.

Posted: at 18-02-2013 10:18 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 18-02-2013 10:24 AM (11 years ago)
such is life
Posted: at 18-02-2013 10:24 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 18-02-2013 10:25 AM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 18-02-2013 10:25 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- macario at 18-02-2013 10:44 AM (11 years ago)
3rd person to comment, hurray!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 18-02-2013 10:44 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- ela214 at 18-02-2013 10:47 AM (11 years ago)
things dey happen oh,goodness me
Posted: at 18-02-2013 10:47 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- brightossy at 18-02-2013 10:49 AM (11 years ago)
He said: 'I was afraid in the
beginning, but I got used to it in time. Now I am more
afraid of the living than of the dead ''
Posted: at 18-02-2013 10:49 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Treasure2 at 18-02-2013 11:35 AM (11 years ago)
Na wa oo
Posted: at 18-02-2013 11:35 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Herdeola1 at 18-02-2013 03:15 PM (11 years ago)
God help us
Posted: at 18-02-2013 03:15 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ozem at 16-09-2013 10:22 PM (10 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 16-09-2013 10:22 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Toks-E at 17-09-2013 05:44 AM (10 years ago)
See morale na

Posted: at 17-09-2013 05:44 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

2. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

3. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

4. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

9. Nigerian Actress, Doris Simeon Reveals Why She Relocated To America

10. NSCDC Arrest 8 Illegal Security Guards, Recovers Firearms In Anambra

11. I Foresee ‘Earth-Shaking’, Climatic Problems In Lagos, Abuja, Others – Primate Ayodele Warns

1. 'Brand Ambassador', Phyna Calls Out Pepsi For Supplying Her Expired Drinks

2. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

3. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

4. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

5. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

6. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

7. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu