Delta: Man kills father over fish ...Bags 20-yr- jail term

Date: 28-02-2013 10:34 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Direct
- at 28-02-2013 10:34 PM (11 years ago)
For killing his own father over a piece of fish, one Opukeme George, a native of Tuomo in Bomadi Local Government Area of Delta State is to spend the next 20 years in jail, a Delta State High Court, Asaba yesterday ruled. The convict was said to have accused his father of stealing his piece of fish, a situation that resulted in a scuffle between the two. During the trial, Opukeme had admitted before the court in a confessional statement that he accused his late father of stealing the said fish, stating that it was his father who attacked first with a cutlass.

The convict also informed the court presided over by Justice M.O. Omovie that he overpowered his father in self defence and thereafter inflicted several machete cuts on his head and other parts of his body, which led to his instant death. Justice Omovie, who delivered the judgment found Opukeme guilty of the manslaughter charge preferred against him and subsequently handed down the sentence.

In a related development, another Delta State High Court on Tuesday sentenced a 31-year-old bus driver, Ndubuisi Onwe to 50 years imprisonment with hard labour for armed robbery. Onwe, a native of Ebonyi State was found guilty of the two-count charge of conspiracy to commit armed robbery and armed robbery preferred against him by the prosecution.

He was sentenced to 25 years each for both counts, which would run concurrently. The convict with others now at large had on December 14, 2011 at the Onitsha Bridge Head within Asaba Judicial Division robbed one Emeka Obidor of a Mitsubishi L-300 bus with registration number XD 129 WER at gunpoint. The bus, which belonged to one Morah Chinedu, was later found in the possession of the convict at No.0 1, Nwachukwa Duluozor Street, Idemili in Ogbaru Local Government Area of Anambra State after five days.

Posted: at 28-02-2013 10:34 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- steve232 at 1-03-2013 01:13 AM (11 years ago)
Mad people Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 1-03-2013 01:13 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- WhaleDog at 1-03-2013 02:02 AM (11 years ago)
The sentences or punishment rather were too harsh,Murder in self defense need be appeal,the court in question violated the ruling,therefore appeal to the verdict is necessary.

Posted: at 1-03-2013 02:02 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toibeli at 1-03-2013 02:46 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: WhaleDog on  1-03-2013 02:02 AM
The sentences or punishment rather were too harsh,Murder in self defense need be appeal,the court in question violated the ruling,therefore appeal to the verdict is necessary.
There is no defense for Killing your father for stealing a piece of fish. I think the court
went easy on him. He should have been sentenced to life imprisonment.
Posted: at 1-03-2013 02:46 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgrawl231 at 1-03-2013 03:09 AM (11 years ago)
This one na born throwey pikin,,,,,how can??? bcos of fish??
Posted: at 1-03-2013 03:09 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 1-03-2013 03:38 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Ultimatepals on  1-03-2013 03:00 AM
Akpors went to his pastor, knelt down and
began confesing tearfully: Pastor, I have
sinned.Pastor : My son, what did you do, just confesswhat exactly you did? God Almighty willorgive you.Akpors: (sobbing), Pastor I committed adultery with several of the female church
members.Pastor : can you mention their names andhow many times you slept with each of?You see, for your forgiveness to be complete,you need to mention them, so that we canalso pray for them....Akpors: Aaaah Pastor I can't, I am ashamed.Pastor; Okay this is what we will do; after service, we will go to the church entrance together and watch members come out, once
anyone you have slept with comes out, just say "pau". If it is once you slept with her. The Number of times you say 'pau' will indicate the Number of times you slept with that particular person. And so they went to the church
entrance. Head usher passes wriggling her buttocks. Akpors: Pau. Pau Pastor: The Lord forgive you.
Deacon’s wife passes carrying bible. Akpors: Pau Pastor :May the Lord forgive you. A choir member passes singing;
Akpors: Pau pau pau Pastor: God will forgive you. Yes, he will. Pastor’s wife passes by and Akpors goes off like a machine gun: Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau............ .......Pastor: #fainted#
Kindly helP me LIKE this page » http://fb.com/ultimatetians
Follow » http://twitter.com/ultimatetians ama follow back

Don’t you think this is rubbish?
Posted: at 1-03-2013 03:38 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 1-03-2013 03:40 AM (11 years ago)
The guy must be sick...one has to be sick to kill his one's dad.
Posted: at 1-03-2013 03:40 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ezchusa at 1-03-2013 04:43 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: toibeli on  1-03-2013 02:46 AM
There is no defense for Killing your father for stealing a piece of fish. I think the court
went easy on him. He should have been sentenced to life imprisonment.
So the guy should watch his father kill him and not defend himself because the man is his father?

Posted: at 1-03-2013 04:43 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ezchusa at 1-03-2013 04:55 AM (11 years ago)
No matter how you view this the man is the one insane for attempting to murder his own son because he just accused him for stealing his fish. The boy is left with no option than to defend himself. Nobody will fold his hands and watch a man that call himself your father kill you

Posted: at 1-03-2013 04:55 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wysetots at 1-03-2013 06:05 AM (11 years ago)
Is our law system not warped??
Someone robs with a gun and bags 50 years.
What about all the politicians looting the country and state treasury? All the Bankoles, Farouks, Etteh and long list of others.

Instead what do they get? Bail and a seat in senate. God will judge them all. And their sins shall soon find them out.

This is a sign of end time.
Your father angrily attacks you with a cutlass, as a younger man, you overpower and kill him? When he was young like you, would it be that easy?

Where has respect and honour gone to?
Even if he took the fish......can you not buy a whole fish for your father?

No!!! You'd give your girl your plate of food, but fight with your father over a piece of fish. #SMH#

The law has spoken......may God forgive you!!
Posted: at 1-03-2013 06:05 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Solmat at 1-03-2013 06:30 AM (11 years ago)
Nobody knows d real story,therefore all should keep judgement to theirself!
Posted: at 1-03-2013 06:30 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- etibaba at 1-03-2013 07:05 AM (11 years ago)
any witness?

Posted: at 1-03-2013 07:05 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lanudja at 1-03-2013 07:24 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Wysetots on  1-03-2013 06:05 AM
What about all the politicians looting the country and state treasury? All the Bankoles, Farouks, Etteh and long list of others.

Instead what do they get? Bail and a seat in senate. God will judge them all. And their sins shall soon find them out.

Your father angrily attacks you with a cutlass, as a younger man, you overpower and kill him? When he was young like you, would it be that easy?

No!!! You'd give your girl your plate of food, but fight with your father over a piece of fish. #SMH#

I knw something like dis wil definitely come up. If we keep talking like dis den Nigeria wil be a den of crime. For d fact dat politician steals & go free does nt mean crime shld nt be tackled accordingly. Do u knw hw many they might av killed thru dat robbing? 4 me, serve dem right.
Posted: at 1-03-2013 07:24 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Keffejude at 1-03-2013 08:22 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ezchusa on  1-03-2013 04:55 AM
No matter how you view this the man is the one insane for attempting to murder his own son because he just accused him for stealing his fish. The boy is left with no option than to defend himself. Nobody will fold his hands and watch a man that call himself your father kill you
are you insane or could you slay ur parents over such trivial issues??? According to the story or d boys confession rather it was stated that he successfully disarmed the father, before going on to lash several cuts on the deceased head & body, if he had no intention of killing d popsy 1 or 2 wips on d bk would be kk.. serves him right jareh! Tongue
Posted: at 1-03-2013 08:22 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ezchusa at 1-03-2013 08:53 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Keffejude on  1-03-2013 08:22 AM
are you insane or could you slay ur parents over such trivial issues??? According to the story or d boys confession rather it was stated that he successfully disarmed the father, before going on to lash several cuts on the deceased head & body, if he had no intention of killing d popsy 1 or 2 wips on d bk would be kk.. serves him right jareh! Tongue
I should be the one asking you if you're insane, that he over powered his father today doesnt mean he will over power him tomorrow. His father knowing the son has already tarnished his image in their area by accusing him of stealing fish might attempt killing the son again and who knows, he might just succeed killing his son

Posted: at 1-03-2013 08:53 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bestbuky at 1-03-2013 08:59 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Ultimatepals on  1-03-2013 03:00 AM
Akpors went to his pastor, knelt down and
began confesing tearfully: Pastor, I have
sinned.
Pastor : My son, what did you do, just confess
what exactly you did? God Almighty will
forgive you.
Akpors: (sobbing), Pastor I committed
adultery with several of the female church
members.
Pastor : can you mention their names and
how many times you slept with each of
them?
You see, for your forgiveness to be complete,
you need to mention them, so that we can
also pray for them....
Akpors: Aaaah Pastor I can't, I am ashamed.
Pastor; Okay this is what we will do; after
service, we will go to the church entrance
together and watch members come out, once
anyone you have slept with comes out, just
say "pau". If it is once you slept with her. The
Number of times you say 'pau' will indicate
the Number of times you slept with that
particular person.
And so they went to the church
entrance.
Head usher passes wriggling her buttocks.
Akpors: Pau. Pau
Pastor: The Lord forgive you.
Deacon’s wife passes carrying bible.
Akpors: Pau
Pastor :May the Lord forgive you.
A choir member passes singing;
Akpors: Pau pau pau
Pastor: God will forgive you. Yes, he will.
Pastor’s wife passes by and Akpors goes off
like a machine gun: Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau
Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau Pau
Pau Pau Pau............ .......
Pastor: #fainted#

Kindly helP me LIKE this page » http://fb.com/ultimatetians

Follow » http://twitter.com/ultimatetians ama follow back

are you tonto's music promoter, cos i just don't understand you.
Posted: at 1-03-2013 08:59 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lanudja at 1-03-2013 09:20 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Wysetots on  1-03-2013 06:05 AM

I knw something like dis wil definitely come up. If we keep talking like dis den Nigeria wil be a den of crime. For d fact dat politician steals & go free does nt mean crime shld nt be tackled accordingly. Do u knw hw many they might av killed thru dat robbing? For d guy dat killed his father bcos of piece fish has place a cause upon himself 4 life even after serving d jail sentence, serve dem right.
Posted: at 1-03-2013 09:20 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- WhaleDog at 1-03-2013 10:14 AM (11 years ago)
I'm convinced that this case will be refer to human right lawyer association of Nigeria ,it's outrightly unjust and abuse of the accused right to defend oneself in the face of life threatening attack.He didn't deserve much harsher verdict,he acted in self defense,if he had not defended the attack the case would have been opposite as the deceased would be the accused person today,that's the father.

Posted: at 1-03-2013 10:14 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Slimchery at 1-03-2013 10:36 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ezchusa on  1-03-2013 04:55 AM

Dumb read the news again maybe you were drunk when you first read it, what after the boy over power the father and took to his hill? or hold him to say sorry for the accusation, can the boy or you give account of how many fishes you eat from your father from birth till you know how to fish? don't be a fool, father is father no matter what.
Posted: at 1-03-2013 10:36 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tanglefree at 1-03-2013 10:41 AM (11 years ago)

There is just no love in some families.Too sad.
Posted: at 1-03-2013 10:41 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac