Hundreds Of Hijab Wearing School Pupils' Protest Paralyses Activities In Lagos

Date: 01-03-2013 9:41 am (11 years ago) | Author: Direct
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 1-03-2013 09:41 AM (11 years ago)
Hundreds of hijab (Muslim veil for women) wearing school pupils under the aegis of the Muslim Student Society of Nigeria, MSSN, yesterday, paralysed activities at the Alausa Secretariat, office of Governor of Lagos Babatunde Fashola over alleged flogging and victimization of two pupils by their principals for wearing Hijab, within and outside the school premises.

While Miss. Aisha Alabi, a 16-year-old pupil of Kadara Junior Grammar School, Ebutte-Metta, Lagos, was allegedly given many strokes of the cane by her principal, Mrs. E.C. Ukpaka, on February 5, 2013, Miss. Barirat Tajudeen of Mafoluku Senior Grammar school, was allegedly victimised by her principal, Mrs. Elizabeth Omidele, on February 20, 2013 for using the scarf outside the school premises.

The protesters who stormed the office of the Governor at about 10:00 a.m. barricaded the entire entrance to the Governor’s Office, obstructing free flow of traffic in the state seat of power saying, “we will not leave the entrance of the Governor’s office until we see the Governor, whom we voted for at the last general election.”

They displayed several placards with inscriptions like “Hijab is my identity; don’t take it away from me. Our Hijab is our freedom, Hijab should be part of our uniforms, Dressing without Hijab is incomplete, Hijab is a symbol of pride and honour, among others.” “All we want is that Hijab should be legalised as part of the school uniforms for Muslim students in the entire public school in the state. And the government should also recall Barirat, who was suspended, back to school with immediate effect.”

Speaking on behalf of the protesters, Assistance General-Secretary, Mr. Zikrulahi Sulaimon, said” “Enough of this maltreatment from our teachers and lecturers, this is not the first corporal punishment meted to school pupils. And we haven’t received any reasonable assurance from the state government that such act wouldn’t happen in the state again.”

At about 4:00p.m., the protesters yielded to the plea of government representatives led by the Commissioner for Home Affairs and Culture, Mr. Oyinlomo Danmole, for a closed door meeting with 8-man delegation from them.

At the end of the meeting which lasted for over an hour, Danmole, assured the protesters that the government understood their plight and was already taking appropriate steps to ensure that such act did occur again in the state.

Posted: at 1-03-2013 09:41 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Idbabe at 1-03-2013 11:22 AM (11 years ago)
So after the protest wat was the outcome?  Dem fit hide bomb inside na.  Make dem dey come sch without the coverings joooor.  Anything can happen, everybody is a suspect Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 1-03-2013 11:22 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- fallah at 1-03-2013 12:20 PM (11 years ago)
Pls fellow muslims brothers and sisters in lagos should join hand to make this to be effective so that our religion right shouldn't seized by any useless people. Go ahead, no going back. ISLAM 4 LIVE
Posted: at 1-03-2013 12:20 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ela214 at 1-03-2013 01:41 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: fallah on  1-03-2013 12:20 PM
Pls fellow muslims brothers and sisters in lagos should join hand to make this to be effective so that our religion right shouldn't seized by any useless people. Go ahead, no going back. ISLAM 4 LIVE
if u want to wear hijab go to kano,where it´s legalizied,or u people can open ur woun school,
i mean anywhere u muslims go to,u want to impose ur muslim law on every1.ENOUGH FROM U GUYS ALREADY
Posted: at 1-03-2013 01:41 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Angelo6656 at 1-03-2013 02:05 PM (11 years ago)
It is not proper 4 teachers to victimise students 4 der blive , it has to be stopped , let dem have freedom to wear wat der religion permit dem , am a Xtian I support der protest
Posted: at 1-03-2013 02:05 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- ezchusa at 1-03-2013 02:23 PM (11 years ago)
Hijab is for worship not studies. Hijab should not be allowed in school

Posted: at 1-03-2013 02:23 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Idbabe at 1-03-2013 02:34 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ezchusa on  1-03-2013 02:23 PM

Bless you
Posted: at 1-03-2013 02:34 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 1-03-2013 02:48 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Angelo6656 on  1-03-2013 02:05 PM
It is not proper 4 teachers to victimise students 4 der blive , it has to be stopped , let dem have freedom to wear wat der religion permit dem , am a Xtian I support der protest

The best comment so far. This teacher or principal assaulted  the student pure and simple.
Posted: at 1-03-2013 02:48 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 1-03-2013 02:53 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ela214 on  1-03-2013 01:41 PM
if u want to wear hijab go to kano,where it´s legalizied,or u people can open ur woun school,
i mean anywhere u muslims go to,u want to impose ur muslim law on every1.ENOUGH FROM U GUYS ALREADY

What you are saying is; it is lawful for a teacher or anyone to assault or beat someone wearing … Hijab.
Posted: at 1-03-2013 02:53 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 1-03-2013 02:59 PM (11 years ago)
I am not a Muslim but as far as I am concerned the teacher should be charged. 
Posted: at 1-03-2013 02:59 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Idbabe at 1-03-2013 03:00 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: papadip on  1-03-2013 02:59 PM
I am not a Muslim but as far as I am concerned the teacher should be charged. 

Charged to where, sharia court of school court?
Posted: at 1-03-2013 03:00 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Princee50 at 1-03-2013 03:02 PM (11 years ago)
flog them more,crazy people,she want to creat this problem again
Posted: at 1-03-2013 03:02 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Biafranwar at 1-03-2013 03:32 PM (11 years ago)
Religion matter my hand no dey, but if those girls realy wants to cover up they should aswell cover down too. Not  covering up and openning down any how Grin
Posted: at 1-03-2013 03:32 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 1-03-2013 03:34 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ezchusa on  1-03-2013 02:23 PM
TRUE

Posted: at 1-03-2013 03:34 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 1-03-2013 03:36 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 1-03-2013 03:36 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- papadip at 1-03-2013 03:43 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on  1-03-2013 03:00 PM
Charged to where, sharia court of school court?

Charged accordingly
You’ve got to understand that you cannot beat anybody for wearing a piece of cloth because you don’t like it.
You can suspend or dismiss the student but don’t beat her. She is a teacher and should know better.
Posted: at 1-03-2013 03:43 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 1-03-2013 05:19 PM (11 years ago)
the school's dress code should be obeyed by all students.
if there is no strict uniform code, then hijab can be allowed.
Posted: at 1-03-2013 05:19 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Starship at 1-03-2013 05:25 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Angelo6656 on  1-03-2013 02:05 PM
U be olodo y not wear suit against ur school uniform to school nd expect to go in like dat because u're a christian....
Posted: at 1-03-2013 05:25 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Starship at 1-03-2013 05:27 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: papadip on  1-03-2013 03:43 PM
Charged accordingly
You’ve got to understand that you cannot beat anybody for wearing a piece of cloth because you don’t like it.
You can suspend or dismiss the student but don’t beat her. She is a teacher and should know better.

U be Ode
Posted: at 1-03-2013 05:27 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- cocoeni at 1-03-2013 05:37 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 1-03-2013 05:37 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4 5

1. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

2. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

3. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

4. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

5. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

6. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

7. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

8. My Mother, Enemy Of Progres!Man Reveals How His Mother Ended His Plans To Travel Out Of Nigeria

9. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

10. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

11. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

12. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

13. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

14. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

15. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor