Saudi Arabia to punish men over Christian woman convert:

Date: 13-05-2013 1:47 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Magnus Uche
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 13-05-2013 01:47 PM (10 years ago)
RIYADH (Reuters) - A court in Saudi Arabia has sentenced two men to lashes and prison terms for converting a woman to Christianity and helping her flee the conservative Islamic kingdom, the Saudi Gazette reported on Monday.

A Lebanese man was sentenced to six years in prison and 300 lashes for converting the woman, while a Saudi man was sentenced to two years and 200 lashes for aiding her escape abroad, the English-language daily said. It added that the pair had challenged the verdict and would appeal.

A spokesman at the justice ministry could not immediately be reached for comment.

In Saudi Arabia, the birthplace of Islam, it is against the law for Muslims to abandon their faith, a practice known as apostasy. Proselytizing for other religions or practicing them openly is also illegal.

Judges have considerable leeway in how to interpret the kingdom's Sharia code of Islamic law and are not bound by sentencing guidelines or a system of precedent. Both capital and corporal punishment are legal.

The case emerged last year after the woman's family complained that she had been "brainwashed" by colleagues at the insurance company where she worked and that they had helped her leave Saudi Arabia via Bahrain on false documents.

The woman, whose name has not been released, was granted asylum in Sweden last year, the newspaper reported.

Last year King Abdullah, who has promoted limited reforms since coming to the throne in 2005, opened a center for religious dialogue in Vienna that drew criticism because of Saudi Arabia's own lack of religious freedom. In 2008 he sponsored an inter-faith conference in Spain.

http://news.yahoo.com/saudi-arabia-punish-men-over-christian-woman-convert-081856796.html

Posted: at 13-05-2013 01:47 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- arsenal123 at 13-05-2013 01:49 PM (10 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 13-05-2013 01:49 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- arsenal123 at 13-05-2013 01:57 PM (10 years ago)
No nation or kingdom should ever be allowed to dictate the religious choices of the people within their borders... Every person should be able to believe or not believe as they choose without punishment or reprisal from the authorities... Islam is not a religion of peace. If it were, then it would accept a person leaving the religion without fear of prison or death. In Iran, another Islamic stronghold, a Christian minister was sentenced to death for trying to convert people to Christianity... In most Islamic theocracies, the sentence for adultery is death by stoning...  Still think it is a religion of peace?..Religion of love and peace?..Please can some one answer me...
Posted: at 13-05-2013 01:57 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 13-05-2013 02:37 PM (10 years ago)
Rubbish. So they dnt have rite to decide wat they want in dat country. They can't have freedom of have freedom of religion. Wat a people.
Posted: at 13-05-2013 02:37 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- aidol011 at 13-05-2013 02:40 PM (10 years ago)
Arsenal213. Didn't you read your post well or what? This aint just any law, its a devine law we are talking about. Just because jesus was given birth to in a place where fornication and sodomy means notin dosent means there are not grave sins. Abegi bros free us ooo.
Posted: at 13-05-2013 02:40 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 13-05-2013 02:57 PM (10 years ago)

there are some element of tryth in your report, but you twisted the entire stories to suite your own purpose, it happened years back now , and i was intouch with the women, i had her pictures and that of her fasmily taken together while she was with them,
the girl was from a very popular asian country we all know
Posted: at 13-05-2013 02:57 PM (10 years ago) | Grande Master
- osarobo62 at 13-05-2013 03:12 PM (10 years ago)
CAN'T A MAN BE ALLOWED TO CHOSE HIS OWN PATHWAY TO FREEDOM AND ETERNITY? Angry Angry
Posted: at 13-05-2013 03:12 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Jaylen at 13-05-2013 03:13 PM (10 years ago)
Na wa o, that country no dey play o..
Posted: at 13-05-2013 03:13 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 13-05-2013 03:16 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 13-05-2013 03:16 PM (10 years ago) | Grande Master
- cadanre at 13-05-2013 03:23 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: arsenal123 on 13-05-2013 01:57 PM
No nation or kingdom should ever be allowed to dictate the religious choices of the people within their borders... Every person should be able to believe or not believe as they choose without punishment or reprisal from the authorities... Islam is not a religion of peace. If it were, then it would accept a person leaving the religion without fear of prison or death. In Iran, another Islamic stronghold, a Christian minister was sentenced to death for trying to convert people to Christianity... In most Islamic theocracies, the sentence for adultery is death by stoning...  Still think it is a religion of peace?..Religion of love and peace?..Please can some one answer me...

We will soon make necessary preparations to kidnap and bring you down to north for appropriate punishment.

Posted: at 13-05-2013 03:23 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- F_B_I at 13-05-2013 03:47 PM (10 years ago)
Please, correct the topic Moderator (s). It's a Muslim woman who converted and not a Christian.

Posted: at 13-05-2013 03:47 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- toibeli at 13-05-2013 03:52 PM (10 years ago)
Irrespective of one's belief, peolpe should be allowed to practice any religion they desire.
Posted: at 13-05-2013 03:52 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toibeli at 13-05-2013 03:55 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 13-05-2013 03:23 PM
We will soon make necessary preparations to kidnap and bring you down to north for appropriate punishment.
Who is going to do the kidnapping Huh? Grin
Posted: at 13-05-2013 03:55 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nobleladyG at 13-05-2013 03:58 PM (10 years ago)
God go punish them all

Posted: at 13-05-2013 03:58 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FinlandGuy at 13-05-2013 04:00 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: arsenal123 on 13-05-2013 01:57 PM
]Well said my man,don't mind the hypocrites ,i don talk before and i go still talk again and again and again that islam is a doom and muslims are bunch of idiots with corrugated  stone brian
Posted: at 13-05-2013 04:00 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- micc at 13-05-2013 04:05 PM (10 years ago)
Fools
Posted: at 13-05-2013 04:05 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Senegal at 13-05-2013 04:10 PM (10 years ago)
Muslims and their archaic mentality
Posted: at 13-05-2013 04:10 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- malvin2525 at 13-05-2013 04:18 PM (10 years ago)
 Lips Sealed
Posted: at 13-05-2013 04:18 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- etibaba at 13-05-2013 04:33 PM (10 years ago)
Religion should be a thing of choice not force.

Posted: at 13-05-2013 04:33 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- torrejon_men at 13-05-2013 04:55 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 13-05-2013 02:57 PM
there are some element of tryth in your report, but you twisted the entire stories to suite your own purpose, it happened years back now , and i was intouch with the women, i had her pictures and that of her fasmily taken together while she was with them,
the girl was from a very popular asian country we all know
show us the picture
Posted: at 13-05-2013 04:55 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 5

1. Time To Tell The World - Primeboy Files Petition Against Mohbad's Widow, Wunmi Over Allegations

2. VIDEO: AY Makun Shares Video Of Renovated Mansion Months After Fire Accident

3. Gospel Artist, Chinyere Udoma Mourns Loss as Fire Destroys Lagos Music Studio (Video)

4. Peter Obi Meets Labour Party's Edo State Governorship Candidate, Olumide Akpata (Photos)

5. American Rapper, 50 Cent Faces Rap3 Accusations By Ex-girlfriend, Daphne Joy

6. “You No Go Pay”: Drama As Old Video Of Basketmouth Begging Wizkid For Free Promo Surfaces Onlin

7. "I’ve Not Touched My N120M" - Ilebaye Odiniya Debunks Financial Struggles Rumors On Snapchat

8. After Spending Two Years In Prison, Court Acquits 23-year-old Accused Of R*ping Girlfriend

9. Former BBNaija Contestant, Deji Morafa Attains Pharmaceutical License In The U.S.

10. 'It Was All A Stunt' -Eniola Ajao Pleads Again, Begs Nigerians To Watch Her N200m Movie

11. Oxlade Raises Concerns About Treatment In Nigerian Music Industry

12. Pregnant Woman, Mmesoma Odili Loses Baby During Detention Over Land Dispute In Anambra

13. 'You’re The Prettiest Woman In The World' - BBNaija's Angel Celebrates Mom On Her Birthday

14. Veteran Actor, Zack Orji Heads To UK For Post-Surgery Evaluation (Photos)

15. Saudi Arabia Set To Make Debut In Miss Universe Pageant; To Be Represented By Rumy Alqahtani

16. Movie Star, Funke Akindele & Her Twin Kids In Dubai On Short Vacation

17. Kano Police Apprehend 22 Suspected Hoodlums, Declare 30 Others Wanted (Photos)

18. Armed Robber Rap3s 20-yr-old Jigawa Housewife In Hubby's Presence After Stealing Bags Of Pepper

19. Police Hand Over Wanted Delta Monarch Ogenerukeywe To Military

20. "People Are Threatening To Kill Me And My Son Liam" - Mohbad's Widow Wunmi Cries Out

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

6. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

7. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

8. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)

9. VID: 44yr Old Senegalese President-Elect Melts Hearts As He Flaunts His 2wives

10. Davido's Daughter, Imade Is Now An Epitome Of Beauty, Netizens React To New Posts About Her