Two bald eagles in air battle crash land at airport

Date: 15-05-2013 11:14 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Direct
- at 15-05-2013 11:14 PM (10 years ago)
There was a crash landing Sunday at the Duluth International Airport, but it didn’t involve airplanes. Rather, it was two bald eagles, which were fighting in midair when they locked talons. In a rare spectacle of nature, they were unable to disengage in time before crashing to the runway.
“Apparently, mature eagles will sometimes fight over territories,” Randy Hanzal, a Minnesota Conservation Officer, told GrindTV in an email. “They will do battle in the air, crashing into each other and grabbing an intruding eagle with their talons.
“Usually, they will let go of each other before hitting the ground, but in this case, they had the talons so deeply imbedded in each other they may have been unable to let go.”
Hanzal was the one who was called in to collect the birds and deliver them to Wildwoods, a wildlife rehabilitation center in Duluth.
“Surprisingly the two eagles were remarkably calm as I grabbed them both and loaded them into the back of my truck,” Hanzal said. “I think they were still more intent on winning the battle than any concern for me.”
Hanzal didn’t have a container big enough for the eagles, so he put them in the bed of his truck, covered them with blankets and jackets, and strapped them down with webbing, according to a report in the Duluth News Tribune.
“Halfway to the rehabber, there was a ruckus in the back of the truck,” Hanzal told the News Tribune. “I looked around and saw feathers flying up. One of the eagles jumped out the back, onto my tailgate.”
That eagle flew away, apparently no worse for wear. The other eagle smartly hung around to get treated with antibiotics, fluids and pain medication. The eagles were both expected to recover.
Another wildlife expert told the News Tribune that it is “pretty rare” for fighting eagles to hit the ground like this.
“I have never seen this before,” Hanzal told Grind.

Posted: at 15-05-2013 11:14 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- SENTIMAL at 16-05-2013 03:08 AM (10 years ago)
Hmmmm . . .
Posted: at 16-05-2013 03:08 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Delawgeneral at 16-05-2013 11:00 AM (10 years ago)
If na for Naija, dem for don turn bush meat since
Posted: at 16-05-2013 11:00 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- FinlandGuy at 16-05-2013 11:25 AM (10 years ago)
landing na landing weather na plane or bird the most important thing there is that there was a landing
Posted: at 16-05-2013 11:25 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 16-05-2013 11:46 AM (10 years ago)
So na Bird news we go dey hear for this forum now...uhhhhh Huh?

Posted: at 16-05-2013 11:46 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- GreatDan at 16-05-2013 03:44 PM (10 years ago)
I c
Posted: at 16-05-2013 03:44 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- nzewyte at 16-05-2013 08:08 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: FinlandGuy on 16-05-2013 11:25 AM
landing na landing weather na plane or bird the most important thing there is that there was a landing
den dia landing can b 4 barb wire or 4 chuku chuku....

Posted: at 16-05-2013 08:08 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- micc at 16-05-2013 09:33 PM (10 years ago)
Ok o
Posted: at 16-05-2013 09:33 PM (10 years ago) | Hero