PREMIUM TIMES' reporter whose police brother was killed by OMBATSE speaks

Date: 12-06-2013 4:12 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Times
- at 12-06-2013 04:12 PM (10 years ago)
Since my brother, Christian, was gruesomely killed alongside over 90 other policemen a month ago by Ombatse cultist/ militiamen in Nasarawa, the need for justice – or rather the absence of it – has tormented me like a sore toe in an ill-fitting shoe. Though I’ve tried to airbrush the torture with a façade of occasional light-heartedness, I’ve only succeeded in switching from one level of depression to another like a danfo driver switching lanes in Lagos rush hour traffic.

My pillows should be renamed Insomnia. Even when I manage to sleep, it’s often in snatches – I’m violently roused to reality by frightful nightmares sweating like I took a dive in the devil’s pool. Leaving the house is terribly becoming unexciting these days. Almost everything that thrilled me suddenly tastes bland. I’m badly beaten and bruised all over by dejection.

One might argue that these are signs of intense grieving. True. I haven’t known grief this deep before. The pain I felt at the passing of my old man was nothing compared to this. However, I’m traumatized more at my helplessness to bring the perpetrators of this heinous crime to justice; it disturbs me greatly that 10 years from now I might have to tell my two nephews (3 and 1.5 years old) that the savages that killed their dad were never arrested or prosecuted. Worse, the government and police authorities have made only a feeble, or honestly, no attempt whatsoever to make them pay. They haven’t even bothered to tell the truth of how these men were led to their death. It breaks my heart that the founder of this cult group still talks freely to the media and brags about how “his gods sent fire from above to kill the policemen.”

I’m not saying this because I crave for people’s pity or sympathy. No. First, I want to express how brazen we have become at the brutal waste of human lives and the impunity that vultures around it. Further, I hope by sharing the trauma my family endured these past month, we can begin to, at least, imagine the suffering of thousands of families that have lost loved ones in the convulsing madness that has darkened the soul of the country. I also intend that this piece will serve as a wakeup call for those of us in our nice little bubbles outside the north that evil is roaming just down the street. But I doubt if that would be necessary. If anyone don’t still realize how dare our situation is at the moment, he/she probably just woke up from a thousand years hibernation.

More reading...http://www.spammer.com/2013/06/premium-times-reporter-whose-police.html

Posted: at 12-06-2013 04:12 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie