White Man Punched After Racist N-Word Tirade In West Village

Date: 15-07-2013 10:08 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Direct
- at 15-07-2013 10:08 PM (10 years ago)
A man is in critical condition today after he was punched for allegedly going on a racist tirade about “n***ers” in the West Village yesterday. According to the News, the incident happened outside Benny’s Burritos on Greenwich Avenue near W. 12th Street around 5:30 p.m. on Friday. The man, who has not been identified, was overheard telling a black couple, “You n—–s are why I lost my job.” “This really belligerent white guy came walking up to them and started yelling out the n-word,” Benny’s worker Robert Garcia told the Post. “There was some sort of altercation and it made the black guy punch the white guy in the face. He was out cold. I thought he was dead.”

“He was lying on his back unconscious with his arms and legs spread out,” a witness told the Daily News. “I couldn’t believe it. He mentioned the N-word, this guy hits him one time and he hits his head on the curb.” A woman who claims she spoke with the man before he was knocked out told the Post he was upset over his wife leaving him and about his job at Goldman Sachs. That man was taken to Beth Israel Medical Center in critical condition with head trauma.

The alleged puncher, 25-year-old Douglas Reddish, of Queens, was arrested a few blocks away on West 10th Street and charged with assault, according to CBS. Other witnesses told CBS that they would react the same way if someone used language like that toward them: “That’s not really a good thing to do – say racial slurs, you’re going to get punched in the face.” Some weren’t so quick to violence though: “You can’t just hit anybody. No matter what, you can’t just hit people,” a man said, “even if they deserve it.”

Posted: at 15-07-2013 10:08 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- merion at 15-07-2013 10:46 PM (10 years ago)
crazy
Posted: at 15-07-2013 10:46 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- silverndgold at 15-07-2013 10:50 PM (10 years ago)
good

Posted: at 15-07-2013 10:50 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Horpsy at 16-07-2013 12:00 AM (10 years ago)
He get lucky sef,he for die.
Posted: at 16-07-2013 12:00 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Shegzan at 16-07-2013 05:31 AM (10 years ago)
Kk#

Posted: at 16-07-2013 05:31 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- GreatDan at 16-07-2013 07:08 PM (10 years ago)
Passing
Posted: at 16-07-2013 07:08 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Unikpearl at 16-07-2013 10:33 PM (10 years ago)
Yeah
Posted: at 16-07-2013 10:33 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac