It is a fallacy to say that no knowledge is wasted

Date: 06-08-2013 5:31 pm (10 years ago) | Author: fort ndulue
- at 6-08-2013 05:31 PM (10 years ago)
Undoubtedly the saying that no knowledge is wasted appears axiomatic and arguably sacrosanct.
=
In his book ''Think Big'', (pp. 200-212) Ben Carson argues that you never can know what you will be doing fifteen years from now hence one should grab every available knowledge.
=
He cited an incident where he was before an interviewer  who mentioned en passe that he had heard about a concert and he also quipped that he too had heard about it which visibly left the interviewer surprised and they then started discussing classical music..
He contends that that knowlege of classical music was instrumental in his success in that interview.
=
=
MY OPINION
Methinks that having or acquiring some knowledge is sheer and utter waste of scarce time and resources.
----------------------------------
For example, I don't see how the knowledge of how to prepare a cake or sew clothes would have a significant bearing on my life if I were a lawyer. This is truer given that I may never get the time to come and be sewing clothes or making cakes for either myself or family.
Even if I would get to use them in future, wouldn't it be once in a blue moon as in Ben Carson's case.
---------------------------------------------
In high school, I was very good at the use of Pitman Shorthand. An aeon has elapsed since I left junior secondary, and I have never got to use not even a vestige of the knowledge I acquired in that subject.
=

Again, acquiring some of this otiose and  apparently irrelevant knowledge may be at the expense of knowledge which would have been more apt and handy. In other words, you may be wasting time acquiring knowledge that has not even a modicum bearing on your life or knowledge  you may never get to use due to your discipline.
=
At any rate, I suggest that it would be stellar to have a smattering of many things.
=
Your methodical views are welcome!

Posted: at 6-08-2013 05:31 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- chicco77 at 6-08-2013 06:22 PM (10 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 6-08-2013 06:22 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Fertymor at 6-08-2013 08:39 PM (10 years ago)
OMO, DIS ONE PASS ME JOR... I STILL DEY READ YAM
Posted: at 6-08-2013 08:39 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mbiotic at 6-08-2013 09:26 PM (10 years ago)
Ok do quick
Posted: at 6-08-2013 09:26 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- jossy4reall at 7-08-2013 04:03 AM (10 years ago)
pls cum again

Posted: at 7-08-2013 04:03 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 7-08-2013 08:42 AM (10 years ago)
is this another igodomigodo?

Posted: at 7-08-2013 08:42 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mbiotic at 7-08-2013 11:03 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  7-08-2013 08:42 AM
What?
Posted: at 7-08-2013 11:03 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- mbiotic at 7-08-2013 11:04 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  7-08-2013 08:42 AM
What?
Posted: at 7-08-2013 11:04 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- sophiebaby at 7-08-2013 12:01 PM (10 years ago)
what sort of axiomatic and  sacrosanct reply is that?  Huh?

Posted: at 7-08-2013 12:01 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jossy4reall at 7-08-2013 05:14 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  7-08-2013 12:01 PM
what sort of axiomatic and  sacrosanct reply is that?  Huh?

heheheh... yeye girl

Posted: at 7-08-2013 05:14 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Toks-E at 8-08-2013 04:30 AM (10 years ago)
Ok. Agree with you to some extent

Posted: at 8-08-2013 04:30 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mbiotic at 2-09-2013 10:46 AM (10 years ago)
Wow
Posted: at 2-09-2013 10:46 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- sophiebaby at 2-09-2013 03:40 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: jossy4reall on  7-08-2013 05:14 PM

heheheh... yeye girl

Hehehehehe.. na now me dey learn english o  Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 2-09-2013 03:40 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jossy4reall at 2-09-2013 05:54 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  2-09-2013 03:40 PM
Hehehehehe.. na now me dey learn english o  Grin Grin Grin

I notice am

Posted: at 2-09-2013 05:54 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- PoliticxGuru at 19-08-2015 08:03 AM (8 years ago)
Ur opinion
Posted: at 19-08-2015 08:03 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Burna Boy Blasts Foreign Blogs Over Old Image Of His Shaved Beards

2. U.S., India Rejected Mr Ibu Because He Couldn't Survive Flying Abroad - Nigerian Actors Guide

3. Check Out List Of Africa's Youngest Serving Presidents, 2024

4. Japanese Nappy Maker Shifts From Babies To Adults

5. Police Arrest Man Who Pretended To Carry Out Transaction Robbed PoS Operator At Gunpoint In Edo

6. Yul Edochie Publicly Announces Judy Austin His Soul Mate' In New Loved Up Video

7. Residents Panic As Man & Pregnant Woman Get Abducted In Ikorodu

8. Gov. Dr Alex Otti Flags Off Construction Of 11km Road In Abia North

9. Dangote Commences Donation Of 80,000 Bags Of Rice To Lagos Residents

10. Tragedy As 4 Die In Bauchi Auto Crash, Over N1.6Million Recovered From Victims

11. Seun Kuti Blasts DJ Khaled For His Silent Over Killing Of His People In Palestine

12. Nigerian Singer Joe El Amadi Speaks On Beef Between Burna Boy & Davido

13. How Three Boys Gang-Rap3d a 14yr Old Girl in Delta Community

14. "Small Maggot" – Jim Iyke Fires Back At Troll Who Said He Has A Failed Career

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

5. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

6. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)