"I am a victim of domestic violence" - Actress Chika Ike opens up

Date: 10-08-2013 2:25 am (10 years ago) | Author: Bella Adaramola
- at 10-08-2013 02:25 AM (10 years ago)

Actress Chike Ike pens an open letter to her fans, opening up about the physical abuse she suffered in the hands of the man she called her husband for five years. Find her story below...

The past three years has been a very emotional period for me. I focused my energy on work and to build back my self esteem. its been really hard for me to come out straight and talk about this because sometimes I pinch myself to wake up and not believe that I was a victim of domestic violence. I've been through a lot in my life, faced a lot of challenges but this is one topic I've tried so hard to avoid and have been waiting for the right time but I have come to a resolve   that there's really no right time because every second of the day,lives are being lost due to domestic violence.  I was a victiim of domestic violence in my marriage and that was the singular reason I left my marriage, aside other reasons.

Growing up as a girl. I was always known as the sweetest kid on the block, before I got married, I have been through some relationships and for once no man had ever laid a finger on me. The first time it happened in my marriage I didn't understand it because I am not the type of woman a man beats but I guess there are no types. It just happens and no woman deserves it. As a young girl I thought it was love or his way of expressing his emotions,after every beating he pleads , cries and says it won't happen again, once again I thought it was love and made excuses for him.  Over the years when it kept happening consistently I started looking for other definitions for it.  I started loosing my self pride,self esteem , self worth, and most painfully i lost  a pregnancy (Miscarriage) I almost lost my life in the process then I realised how serious and abnormal it really was.

I have heard and read a lot of accusations from ignorant people who don't know my story,I guess that's why they are ignorant.  I was 20yrs old and  very naïve to the world when I got married .“ They said I married for money“ LOL. I was married to a corporate guy,who had a 9_5 job in a bank, Lives in a rented 2 bedroom apartment at Egbe..  So do the maths! . I married for love. I did a traditional wedding. A white wedding and a court wedding. So that's how much I wanted to be married forever.  For five years I hoped, prayed & wished that one day it will all change. But the last straw that broke the carmels back was during a heated argument he threw a glass  jug to my face and I dogged it and it shattered on d wall. I saw death flash before me and I made a decision to save my life. I left my marriage.

Am not saying  this to draw pity from anyone because we are entitled to our opinions and believes. I am not also saying this to discourage people from falling in love because its a beautiful feeling and I still believe in it. I am saying this to educate, share and talk about my experience as a victim of domestic violence because it is real.

Posted: at 10-08-2013 02:25 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- katdeluna2 at 10-08-2013 05:39 AM (10 years ago)
Too long jare. Lets hear his side too
Posted: at 10-08-2013 05:39 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Doddy at 10-08-2013 08:15 AM (10 years ago)
Hmmmm, nawa oooo

Posted: at 10-08-2013 08:15 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 10-08-2013 08:33 AM (10 years ago)
Some private issue need to be kept private.
Posted: at 10-08-2013 08:33 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dareper at 10-08-2013 08:37 AM (10 years ago)
Una too much, this thing wey never reach 5mins wey me and chika ike compose come post for facebook, una don quickly post am for here.
Posted: at 10-08-2013 08:37 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- merion at 10-08-2013 08:42 AM (10 years ago)
hmmmmm
Posted: at 10-08-2013 08:42 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- newtoncruz at 10-08-2013 08:52 AM (10 years ago)
when people refused to talk like cultured and matured adult,,,,,,,
Posted: at 10-08-2013 08:52 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- lanudja at 10-08-2013 09:27 AM (10 years ago)
Nt necessary...
Posted: at 10-08-2013 09:27 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Kechywillz at 10-08-2013 09:41 AM (10 years ago)
its neccessary oh,and its meant to discuss publicly oh,coz i have experienced dis kind of thing in ma uncles house.

Posted: at 10-08-2013 09:41 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deway1 at 10-08-2013 09:49 AM (10 years ago)
am tired of you chika ike, you always have something to say
Posted: at 10-08-2013 09:49 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Jennybaby at 10-08-2013 10:07 AM (10 years ago)
Hmmmm
Posted: at 10-08-2013 10:07 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Noble12 at 10-08-2013 10:51 AM (10 years ago)
Any man dat beats his wife is not a RESPONSIBLE type.
Posted: at 10-08-2013 10:51 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Sophyrocks at 10-08-2013 12:35 PM (10 years ago)
U did d ryt thing by leaving dat Beast for good. No man is worth any loss of life.

Posted: at 10-08-2013 12:35 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DMG17 at 10-08-2013 12:42 PM (10 years ago)
100% CORRECT. MY DEAR SISTER, THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS COMMENT. YOU ARE A VERY WISE AND WELL TRAINED WOMAN. YOU ARE A VERY GOOD WIFE MATERIAL. I WISH YOU MEET THIS CHIKA OF A WOMAN AND GIVE HER THIS VERY GOOD ADVISE. AT HER AGE SHE SHOULD KNOW THAT, SUCH ISSUES ARE MEANT FOR SELF CONSUMPTION, AND NOT FOR THE PUBLIC. AND SHE NEEDS TO MOVE ON AND BE QUIET.
Posted: at 10-08-2013 12:42 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DMG17 at 10-08-2013 01:07 PM (10 years ago)
YOU ARE NOT THE FIRST, NEITHER WILL YOU BE THE LAST IN SUCH SITUATION. DIDN'T ANYONE TELL YOU YET THAT, THERE IS SOMETHING CALLED "MOVING ON"? YOU MUST STOP MAKING SPECTACLE OF YOURSELF AND PUT THE PAST BEHIND YOU.

THOUGH YOU MIGHT NOT BE THE CAUSE, BUT THE MORE YOU GO PUBLIC THE MORE YOU FORCE PEOPLE TO BELIEVE THAT YOU WERE BASICALLY THE CAUSE OF YOUR DIVORCE. SUCH THINGS HAPPEN AND NO ONE IS IMMUNE TO THEM.
Posted: at 10-08-2013 01:07 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zeesexie at 10-08-2013 03:43 PM (10 years ago)
women do go thru stuff. thank God u walked thru it alive.
Posted: at 10-08-2013 03:43 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 10-08-2013 05:16 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: lanudja on 10-08-2013 09:27 AM
Nt necessary...
what is not necessary Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 10-08-2013 05:16 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 10-08-2013 05:19 PM (10 years ago)
abeg chika move on no wahala
Posted: at 10-08-2013 05:19 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- freshprince2009 at 10-08-2013 05:47 PM (10 years ago)
Women coming out of a failed relationship or marriage always have two excuses: infidelity and domestic abuse even when it is the man that called it quits. All these just to draw public sympathy when in actual fact, most of them only wanted to enjoy the privileges of a married woman while refusing to surrender their independence. You can not eat your cake and still have it.
Posted: at 10-08-2013 05:47 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Princingo at 10-08-2013 06:02 PM (10 years ago)
What's a carmel back??
Posted: at 10-08-2013 06:02 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie