'Baby Konga' banned on radio by NBC (Nigeria Broadcasting Comission)

Date: 28-05-2008 6:04 pm (15 years ago) | Author: OMOLADE
- at 28-05-2008 06:04 PM (15 years ago)
Lawal Olalekan Olumo a.k.a. Konga, in this interview, explains why the Nigerian Broadcasting Commission (NBC), may have placed a ban on his hit single, 'Baby Konga' from being played on broadcast stations.

Q: Konga, recently, the NBC announced that your hit single, Baby Konga, has been banned from airplay. Why was the song banned?
A: Really, I must confess that the reason that was given for the ban is vague to me. Baby Konga, in what we call 'Konga' language, means the most beautiful girl in Africa and to me, my listeners know the message I am trying to pass through the song. It is not vulgar as they claim. The language was only coded in eno (Yoruba slang) and Konga. Even if they want to claim that the language is vulgar, that's why we coded the lyrics because of the children. I know that what the song is all about is: Baby Konga, (meaning the most beautiful girl in Africa), Bo Konga (come to the party) and anyone that wants to spoil the party, E ju won si Konga (kick them out). That's all. So, I don't see any vulgar words in that. In a nutshell, what the song means is, come and have a fun-filled time.

Q: How come you decided to code the song because of the children, as you claim, when it is not vulgar?
A: That was because I just wanted to code my songs in a 'Konga' style. It is not because it contains vulgar language.

Q: If it does not have any vulgar language, what is Ileke konga, as you sang in the song?
A: Okay, this is how 'Ileke Konga' came in to the song: 'Baby Konga' 'So konga' 'Di Konga' 'Ileke Konga' (Most beautiful girl in Africa, shake your buttocks), 'Ileke' are beads which is currently being promoted among African women, who wear them around their waist. So, I decided to bring it into the song to describe the real African woman, since my style, 'Konga,' is deeply from Africa and aimed at projecting the image of Africa. That's why I also wear beads around my neck during shows since I cannot wear them round my waist like a woman. I prefer wearing those beads instead of gold, diamond or any kind of foreign jewelry. I think the only problem is that, they don't understand the 'Konga' language.

Q: Where does the 'Konga' style come from and how did you develop it?
A: Really, right from my childhood days, I had always wanted to carve an image for myself. When I was coming into the music industry, I went through a lot of research and met people. I am a rap artiste and I observed that most rap artistes are 'rasta,' so I felt I should come up with my own style since I understand the eno language very well. The 'Konga' style is peculiar to me and basically from me, because I want to teach people the 'Konga' style through my music. And one of the advantages of the style is that it is secured.

Q: Has the NBC written you on the vulgar parts of the song?
A: No, but the truth is that I can interpret the song to them from the beginning to the end. And what they have only said about it is that there seems to be a mix up somewhere.

Q: Don't you think the NBC can't find how you arrived at 'E pon mi si Konga' (fetch water into the well), which confuses virtually all the listeners. Is it possible to fetch water into the well?
A: Just as I said earlier, my style is eno and what e pon mi si konga means is that everybody should join the party. It has no vulgar meaning and the issue of beads (Ileke Konga), means shake the beads and join the groove. I think this whole controversy is the brainchild of some of my detractors. I know God will never allow their evil plans to manifest because I believe every stumbling block fashioned against my life will be a stepping stone.

Q: Before the ban circulated to the Nigerian media, were you served any notification letter by the NBC?
A: No, not even as we are now discussing. We have been to their office at Race Course and they told us they are responsible for the ban. They demanded that we replay the song and explain the lyrics to them, which I did and they concluded that it might be a mix up, or probably, there's another version of the song which may be vulgar and immoral. So, why would any one just wake up and decide to spoil my career?

Q: When writing the song, who were your target audience?
A: Everyone that has imbibed the hip-hop culture. The old, the young and the unborn. I want to spread the language through music.

Q: Although the song is catchy, how do you intend to endear your 'Konga' style to the hearts of people in other continents?
A: With time, people will embrace it. And even through my research, I discovered that during the colonial era, some of those that enslaved our forefathers even got to know about this eno slang and spoke it. Apart from the language, now you can dance to the music because it is very danceable. Thank God, my fan base is widening by the day and even the pace at which it is moving, I don't think I can meet it for now.

Q: When recording a song, an average Nigerian musician would dream of clinching a Grammy award with it, just as I'm sure you did. Now, did you ever envisage this kind of problem?
A: Yes, because I know life is all about ups and downs. I was prepared to face the challenges ahead but I waited this long to release the song, four years after it was recorded, to avert impending dangers ahead.

Q: Now that the song has been banned, what are your plans?
A: I will go on another research, while I will make sure that whatever I am coming out with is well furnished, fresh and won't have any loopholes. I want to make sure that everyone who hears it will attest to the fact that I am a world class musician.

Q: You came out as a promising music act and your hit single has been banned from the airwaves. Now, don't you think your career is in jeopardy?
A: I have always prayed to God to lift me up and let me achieve my dreams in life. Although this situation is making me scared, I believe God is in control. This is just going to be a challenge that will put me on the right path and I hope sooner, God will further put me in the limelight.

Q: Do you have any plan to redo the song if the need arises?
A: Yes, as a matter of fact, we are currently working on that in the studio. The reason is that I want to translate what was meant in the 'Konga' style of Baby Konga.

Q: So, have you accepted that Baby Konga is banned for real?
A: No. I don't think it is banned because I don't have any letter to that effect. There's no letter regarding the ban and nobody can just come and ban my song without explanation. But I have only decided to take it easy with them. Soon, we shall sort things out because they don't have any evidence for now.

Q: The song Baby Konga has received nominations for awards like GhaNaija Awards coming up next month (March), Hip Hop World Awards and the forthcoming Gbedu Awards. Don't you think the ban placed on your work may affect your chances?
A: I pray it does not affect it but... I believe God is in control and He won't allow me to weep over what I suffered for many years to achieve. However, if I don't clinch those awards, I will congratulate whoever wins and accept my fate.

Posted: at 28-05-2008 06:04 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- evans_ogezi at 29-05-2008 01:11 AM (15 years ago)
hey,dis na amebor.i will not be part of this, if you want to know why don't you ask him.
Posted: at 29-05-2008 01:11 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- kingseas at 17-06-2008 01:06 AM (15 years ago)
hey whosoeva says e no go beta for my konga,will also not go far.i ll also advise my konga to beware of vulgar words bcos of children.
Posted: at 17-06-2008 01:06 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- khadijah at 31-07-2008 12:57 AM (15 years ago)
up konga..lol
Posted: at 31-07-2008 12:57 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omerta_7 at 3-08-2008 05:08 PM (15 years ago)
that's hypocrisy in capital letters
Posted: at 3-08-2008 05:08 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- jogwu78 at 25-03-2009 04:53 PM (15 years ago)
Fetch water into the well...hmmm! The song is well coded but the NBC haven't banned other more vulgar uncoded songs. They are quite confused!
Posted: at 25-03-2009 04:53 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- slimzypink at 2-04-2009 01:51 PM (15 years ago)
This is only showing lack of sense on NBC part Huh?. I mean there are a thousand and one songs out there that are uncoded and still contain vulgar words. where they blind or deaf when the koko master and the likes of zule zoo released his own? I mean  can't they find something better to do?
Posted: at 2-04-2009 01:51 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Ifeezy at 4-04-2009 11:28 PM (15 years ago)
Simple! It they ban Konga, then they should Ban, Yahooze (Olu Maintain), Maga don pay  (Kelly Handsome) , Kokolets/Tongolo (D'Banj)... Tumba/ Lorile... (X-Project), Pasa (MP), Enter the Place (Tuface)... and so on...

omerta_7: I second U...... That's Hypocrisy, and i think politics has been brought into this...
Posted: at 4-04-2009 11:28 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- bomsi99 at 27-04-2009 01:44 AM (14 years ago)
konga so sorry but i think u must've sepped on d toes of the powers dat be...or i think u must've frolicked wit 1 of se aristo's gurlfriend,na im dey land u 4 dese trouble,lol!!!!so sorry dear better luck next timE!!COS D EXCUSES NBC's givin is damn too flimpsy&holds no water@all.
Posted: at 27-04-2009 01:44 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- quinzee4me at 27-04-2009 09:41 AM (14 years ago)
i love this music, the NBC are not serious y dont they ban the likes of shaggy, usher, snoop dogg, and all white artists showcasing naked girls in their tracks

lets team up take this NBC people by surprise, we visit their homes and check were they keep their cds if we wont see those vulgar cd plates in their home

rubbish
Posted: at 27-04-2009 09:41 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nollylove at 5-05-2009 09:30 PM (14 years ago)
Wow
Posted: at 5-05-2009 09:30 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 9-10-2012 06:36 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 9-10-2012 06:36 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 9-10-2012 06:36 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 9-10-2012 06:36 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Disturbing Video Shows Moment Nigerian Man Slaps Girlfriend Over Cake-Cutting At Party

2. Man Undergoes Surgery After Breaking His Erect P3nis & Disfiguring His Eggplant From Rolling

3. Anyim Vera Offered All-Expense-Paid Vacation At 5-star Hotel In PH Following Public Humilation

4. Blessing CEO Reveals Reasons Why Women Cheat In Marriage

5. Police Launch Manhunt For Abiola's Widow For Allegedly Sponsoring Yoruba Nation Agitator Attack

6. Nigerian Soldier, Sani Yahaya Goes Wild In Enugu, Stabs Colleague In The Head With Dagger

7. “Not All Divorces Must Be Toxic” -Singer, Paul Okoye Tackles Critics

8. VIDEO: Secondary Schoolgirl Stirs Reactions As She Names BBN, Tolanibaj As Her Role Model

9. Video Of A Student And His Teacher Engaging In Heated Argument Sparks Outrage

10. VIDEO: Adorable Moment Man Proposes Marriage To Lover On A Plane

11. Pete Edochie Reveals How Nnamdi Azikiwe Taught Him How to Handle Female Fans

12. Police Arrest Two Suspects For Allegedly Killing Mother & Son In Akwa Ibom

13. TERRORISM: Court Grants Osun Gov, Adeleke's Aide Ajagungbade Emir N50m Bail

14. Tragedy As Two Teenage Girls Drown As Canoe Capsizes In Niger State

15. "I Don’t Engage In S3x For Money" – BBN Star, Khloe Says

16. A'Ibom Court Orders Arrest Of Man Who Abandons Wife, 2Yr Old Daughter In The Village To Live

17. VID: BBN Sheggz Reveals The ‘Crazy’ Thing He Can Do For His Woman If He Offends Her

18. Panic As Fire Razes University Of Ilorin Teaching Hospital, Destroys Drugs, Equipment

19. BREAKING: Suspected Terrorists Kill Ruling PDP Secretary, Musa Ille In Zamfara

1. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

2. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

6. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

7. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks

10. Edo Police Commissioner Orders Trial Of Officer Threatening Civilians With AK-47 In Viral Video