24-yr-old nabbed for defrauding US couple of $42,497

Date: 22-11-2013 7:36 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Direct
- at 22-11-2013 07:36 PM (10 years ago)
LAGOS — Operatives of the Special Fraud Unit, SFU, Milverton Road, Ikoyi, Lagos have arrested a 24-year-old man who posed as a lady to defraud a United States of America couple of $42,497, purportedly  for the purchase of a property in Lagos.
The suspect,  identified as Olafinraye Adedamola,  admitted the offence while being paraded yesterday.
He was said to have connived with a Malaysian lady to defraud the couple. The Malaysian lady, according to him, was his Facebook friend, adding that he had intended to use the money to further his studies in a tertiary institution.
How he was arrested
Explaining how the  artisan who trained in aluminum works was arrested, spokesperson for the unit, Ngozi  Isintume-Agu, a Deputy Superintendent of Police, said: “An intelligence report dated September 24, 2013 from Nigerian Financial Intelligence Unit (NFIU), Abuja addressed to the Commissioner of Police, Special Fraud Unit (SFU)  alleged that one Olafinraye Adedamola opened a USD Domiciliary Account No. 273/6980678251/0 with the Demurin, Ketu, Lagos Branch of Sterling Bank Plc and through suspicious circumstances, cumulative sum of USD 42,497 was paid into the account by unsuspecting victims abroad between August 13, 2013 and September 16, 2013.

“The suspected illicit inflows were followed by immediate cash withdrawals by the suspect who appeared to have no known affiliation with the international depositors.
“SFU operatives swung into action and investigation carried out on the domiciliary account revealed that $18,129.92 is still left in the account and a lien was immediately placed on the account.
“The suspect was traced to his house at 7, Agidi Road, Oshogun, Alapere, Ketu, Lagos but he evaded police arrest and his father, a proprietor of a moribund driving school, feigned ignorance of his son’s whereabouts. However, the fleeing suspect was later apprehended by the Police.
“Olafinraye Adedamola who posed as a lady named Janet was born in 1989 in Kosofe LGA Ketu, Lagos.
“An artisan who trained in construction of aluminum but currently a driving instructor in his father’s moribund driving school located in Ketu, Lagos claimed he met a Nigerian at a conference in Malaysia who introduced him to the victim who requested that he purchased property for him in Nigeria which was the basis for the disbursement of the money into his account and that he had already bought a building at Ogba, Ikeja for N4 million and that the documents were with him.”
I intended to further my studies with the money— Suspect
Adedamola who noted that this was his first attempt, said he first met the couple on Facebook and in the course of their discussion, booked for a meeting in Malaysia.
According to him; “I posed as Janet on the Facebook, using a white woman’s photograph. I told the couple that I was an estate manager and convinced them to buy property in Lagos.
“Since they have not been to Nigeria, they asked us to meet elsewhere and when I stumbled on a business conference that was holding in Malasia, I booked the meeting.
“On reaching Malaysia, I told a Facebook lady friend to pose as Janet after telling her what to say. That was how the deal was struck and they paid the dollar equivalent of N3.4 million into my account. I intended to use the money to further my studies because I am determined to be a graduate. I used part of the money to travel again to Malaysia for leisure in August.
“My regret is that I was caught at the end because I used my genuine data to open the account. I guess it was because it is my first time.”
The suspect, according to Isintume-Agu, will be charged to court.

Posted: at 22-11-2013 07:36 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- praytoGod4help at 22-11-2013 08:17 PM (10 years ago)
No need to read am I nor send
Posted: at 22-11-2013 08:17 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ObyWBabaK at 22-11-2013 08:20 PM (10 years ago)
Film Title: Maga No Pay... & U no go watch am! Sad Sad Sad Sad
Posted: at 22-11-2013 08:20 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jossy4reall at 22-11-2013 08:29 PM (10 years ago)
bad market

Posted: at 22-11-2013 08:29 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- mary11 at 22-11-2013 08:42 PM (10 years ago)
Every day 4 the thief
But 1 day,jst 1 day
I repeat 1 day,mchteeew 1 day...........help me complete am Grin

Posted: at 22-11-2013 08:42 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- angesco at 22-11-2013 08:49 PM (10 years ago)
Silly little boy.

Wants to become a millionaire on stolen wealth. Does he really want ppl to believe he was doing it to pay his way through university. Once you start stealing you can't stop!

He would have graduated to the 21st century Anini if he had not been caught.

The thing is that I like many Nigerians have no faith in our police force and once this story dissapears from the headlines of our newspapers he will be released after ogfering bribe to secure his release!!!!!
Posted: at 22-11-2013 08:49 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Noble12 at 22-11-2013 08:55 PM (10 years ago)
hmmmm!
Posted: at 22-11-2013 08:55 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ThoRam at 22-11-2013 08:58 PM (10 years ago)
 Undecided Undecided Undecided  
Posted: at 22-11-2013 08:58 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- petrick10 at 22-11-2013 09:08 PM (10 years ago)
C f**k up
Posted: at 22-11-2013 09:08 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- spicymariam at 22-11-2013 09:11 PM (10 years ago)
2 bad
Posted: at 22-11-2013 09:11 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- bashoo8888 at 22-11-2013 09:22 PM (10 years ago)
hmm! igbo/money nawa oo!
Posted: at 22-11-2013 09:22 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- fidel2luvgi at 22-11-2013 09:28 PM (10 years ago)
Every dog eat shit. but na the 1s wey carry 4 mouth ..........
Posted: at 22-11-2013 09:28 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- dareper at 22-11-2013 09:32 PM (10 years ago)
Ole
Posted: at 22-11-2013 09:32 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- steveoneal at 22-11-2013 09:48 PM (10 years ago)
barawo,, if you can do the crime , be ready for the time,,,
Posted: at 22-11-2013 09:48 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- clems22 at 22-11-2013 10:04 PM (10 years ago)
Una nor fit catch the people wey dey steal Billions of Naira from our Oil. yeye people
Posted: at 22-11-2013 10:04 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- kingsbeen at 22-11-2013 10:34 PM (10 years ago)
na Y but if you put am  BA na you sabbi that is  yoruba people for you that is only job they can do better  they too like money  and na them kill nigeria ?
Posted: at 22-11-2013 10:34 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- kingsbeen at 22-11-2013 10:37 PM (10 years ago)
that is only good thing there baba Obafemi Awolowo teach to them 419 lazy  people
Posted: at 22-11-2013 10:37 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 22-11-2013 10:40 PM (10 years ago)
very stupid boy
Posted: at 22-11-2013 10:40 PM (10 years ago) | Grande Master
- zoe61 at 22-11-2013 11:02 PM (10 years ago)
rot in jail all this ppl defrauding of their hard earn money will never know peace
Posted: at 22-11-2013 11:02 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 22-11-2013 11:41 PM (10 years ago)
job don nock.
Posted: at 22-11-2013 11:41 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Betty Akeredolu Called Out By Aide, Folasade For Abandoning Her After Serving Her For 7Yrs

2. Former ECOWAS Court VP Berates EFCC Chairman Over Press Briefing On Yahaya Bello

3. Nigerian Man Allegedly Stabs Roommate To Death During Argument In Portugal

4. Pandemonium As Bandits Strike Again, Kill Four, Abduct Six In Zamfara

5. Drama Looms As Accountant Accuses Ex-Employer, Police Of Harassment In Lagos

6. VIDEO: Warri Pikin Hails Veteran Actor, RMD As He Visits Her Family

7. Reactions As 23Yr Old Man Flaunts Wealth Online, Shows Off Expensive House He Newly-Built

8. Residents Flee As Soldiers Leave Niger Community After Deadly Ambush

9. VIDEO: Abroad-Based Nigerian Cries Profusely Over Failure To Make It In The UK

10. Rising Singer, Shine TTW Lament On How Policemen Damaged His Car, Harassed Him After Tagging

11. How Police Nabbed Kidnappers Who Killed Victim After Collecting N3m Ransom In Jigawa

12. Man Sentenced To Physical Castration And 50 Years In Jail For Raping 14 Year Old Girl

13. Eight Mobile Suspected Phone Snatchers Arrested In Kano

14. FCT Police Denies Reports Of Thugs Attacking Drivers In Traffic, Watch Video Of The Alleged Mom

15. VIDEO: Nigerian Lady Explains Why Marriages Work Better Abroad

16. VIDEO: "Portable's Many Wives Linked To Poverty" - Isaac Fayose Reveals

2. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

3. Abia Police Parade Suspected Criminals, Including ABSU Student Involved In Fatal Shooting

8. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

10. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper