"Why I Converted To Islam' - Former Actress Vivian Metchie Opens Up

Date: 24-12-2013 3:29 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 24-12-2013 03:29 PM (10 years ago)

Recently divorced Nollywood actress Vivian Metchie says she recently adopted the Islamic faith because she found the Christian faith too confusing. Speaking with Yes! magazine on her conversion, Ms Metchie said it was a personal decision she had to take...

"Yeah it is personal. I understand the Koran more than the bible. All of a sudden, the Christian confusion was driving me nuts. My dad was catholic, my mum was Deeper Life, I married someone in the Redeemed Church and then all of a sudden, the few religions had something bad to say about each other. I just couldn't take it anymore. A friend of mine who is close to me said that once you are grounded on the word, it wont be confusing. Unfortunately, maybe I wasn't grounded in the word, but I still could see what I see. But in my quest and study and research, I don't know: I was probably looking for peace. Yeah! That was what I was looking for and I found it in the Koran".

The mother of 4 who has adopted Fareedah as her muslim name says her decision was well received and respected by her dad who has since stopped calling her by her native name and now calls her Fareedah.

Posted: at 24-12-2013 03:29 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rosco4luv at 24-12-2013 03:48 PM (10 years ago)
Nice one.............
Posted: at 24-12-2013 03:48 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- emekaeneh at 24-12-2013 03:53 PM (10 years ago)
Na ur life
Eneh say so via nokia 3310
Posted: at 24-12-2013 03:53 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 24-12-2013 03:58 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 24-12-2013 03:58 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- aladon at 24-12-2013 04:02 PM (10 years ago)
Coool congrat
Posted: at 24-12-2013 04:02 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ThoRam at 24-12-2013 04:05 PM (10 years ago)
ok  Cool  
Posted: at 24-12-2013 04:05 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- qatar2 at 24-12-2013 04:07 PM (10 years ago)
nice one sister god bless u more and more
Posted: at 24-12-2013 04:07 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- amyportion at 24-12-2013 04:09 PM (10 years ago)
General Overseer of the Deeper
Christian Life Ministry, Pastor W.F
Kumuyi, has warned members of the
church against celebrating Christmas,
saying the celebration of Christmas is
idolatrous and unscriptural.
Kumuyi warned that doing so is
making Christians to go back from the
commandment of Jesus Christ.
    "We don’t celebrate Christmas. It
actually came from idolatrous
background. That is why you don’t
hear us sing what they call Christmas
carol, Never! We always say it is the
December retreat. We are only
gathering together because it is the
holiday period and love the lord more,
and rededicate ourselves more."
The cleric said this on Saturday at the
annual national December convention
of the church, which held at the
church’s camp ground in Ogun State.
He said, “When you find anybody
coming in, or any leader, trying to
introduce the idolatry of mystery
Babylon, that they call Christmas and
you want to bring all the Christmas
carol saying that is the day that Jesus
was born, and you don’t find that in
the Acts of the Apostles or in the early
church, then you don’t find that in the
church either. If you don’t know that
before, now you know.”
He warned that any of the church’s
leaders that tried to introduce the
“idolatry of Christmas” into any section
of the church would be sanctioned,
while also encouraging other believers
in Christ to jettison the celebration as
part of their sacrifice to perfection.
Kumuyi said the duty of the church is
to make people more like Jesus Christ,
not join in worldly celebrations.
“We are not trying to make the church
turn like the world. We want it to be
like Jesus Christ, and more like the
Apostles. If you don’t have that mind
with us, then you have permission to
go to other places,” he added.
Posted: at 24-12-2013 04:09 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- koliano4me at 24-12-2013 04:10 PM (10 years ago)
u r welcome in peace land
Posted: at 24-12-2013 04:10 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- gmarley at 24-12-2013 04:12 PM (10 years ago)
UR  BIZ
Posted: at 24-12-2013 04:12 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kenigye at 24-12-2013 04:13 PM (10 years ago)
Na you sabi! Ihe onye metara,onwere isi ya buru! #gbam
Posted: at 24-12-2013 04:13 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- cyone at 24-12-2013 04:17 PM (10 years ago)
Wetin concern me for wetin no concern me
Posted: at 24-12-2013 04:17 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- daysixers at 24-12-2013 04:29 PM (10 years ago)
All those mumu Muslims will be happy now
Posted: at 24-12-2013 04:29 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- latuak at 24-12-2013 04:38 PM (10 years ago)
welcome to the religion of peace. May Allah's rahmah and Barakah continue to be on us the faithfuls. Amin
Posted: at 24-12-2013 04:38 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 24-12-2013 04:42 PM (10 years ago)
Mtcheeeeeeew
Posted: at 24-12-2013 04:42 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- latuak at 24-12-2013 04:43 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: daysixers on 24-12-2013 04:29 PM
All those mumu Muslims will be happy now
sure we are. at least better than your confusing religion. Before you blab rubbish here, go and solve the Xmas issue with your confused  pastors. WHAT A CONFUSED RELIGION AND FOLLOWERS WITH THOUSANDS OF WAYS AND BELIEFS!!! I'm sure Jesus never celebrated Xmas.
Posted: at 24-12-2013 04:43 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- mary11 at 24-12-2013 05:10 PM (10 years ago)
Wrong decision

Posted: at 24-12-2013 05:10 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Wysetots at 24-12-2013 05:13 PM (10 years ago)
Your name...............Your Life.
I could care less.
Posted: at 24-12-2013 05:13 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 24-12-2013 05:53 PM (10 years ago)
Sorry for your life, anu
Posted: at 24-12-2013 05:53 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Orojoe at 24-12-2013 06:02 PM (10 years ago)
Sorry for u, ur forever confused..Except u have Christ ur doomed...
Posted: at 24-12-2013 06:02 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 5