Awolowo Was Greater Than Mandela, Writer/Poet Odia Ofeimun Says

Date: 02-01-2014 9:57 am (10 years ago) | Author: Charles colins
[1] 2 3 4
- at 2-01-2014 09:57 AM (10 years ago)

In an interview with Sahara TV, the writer, poet & social critique said late premier of the old Western region, Chief Obafemi Awolowo, was a greater man than South African anti-apartheid revolutionary, Dr. Nelson Mandela.

I am too much of an Awolowo man not to see that the process of moving into independence in South Africa and in Nigeria followed exactly the same pattern. It was based on a negotiated settlement. The liberation struggle did not create the end of apartheid. It was a negotiation and Nigerians negotiated exactly the way Mandela negotiated.

“You can hype it if you like, but the pattern was exactly the same. You move from one meeting to the other, discussing politics and economics, and they successfully convinced Mandela to buy the pig in a poke of an economy and they also successfully succeeded in convincing Nigerians to buy the pig in a poke of an economy.

“The only man in Nigeria, who stood up against it, was (Obafemi) Awolowo. He was quickly jailed and all his men scattered across the prisons in Nigeria. Some driven abroad and the educational system that he had put in place was smashed.” Ofeimun said

"People talk about Mandela’s capacity to put various classes (of people) together as theory, but Awolowo ironed it out very clearly, why you don’t need a class struggle, in order to create a society in which all children can go to school; in which everybody can get a job, and in which old age pensions will be paid to people.

“It is not just love and I want to emphasise that. Those who criticise Awolowo’s socialism for wanting in love are obviously basing their argument on his claim that a government should be like a sun that shines on all equally. If it is about a theory of how to bring the people together on the African continent, none is as good as the Awolowo’s and I’m not trying to pretend.

“Bring all their writings, fine phrases, alright, but reduce them to economic terms, and I can tell you that there is only one man who rivals Awolowo in this respect and that is Nkrumah. Unfortunately unlike Awolowo, Nkrumah did not believe in either a democratic or a federal theory. If you want to save Africa, you need those two.”

Ofeimun said he chose Awolowo over Mandela because..
"The simple reason is that what needed to be done in South Africa, after apartheid was precisely what Awolowo wanted for Western Region and Nigeria after independence. Which is to say put every child at school, ensure that productivity takes the creativity of the individual citizen into proper focus and build the relationship between people and not on whether they did not love each other? But whether there is justice and equality.”

Interview transcribed by Punch. What do you guys think of the comparison ?

Posted: at 2-01-2014 09:57 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 2-01-2014 10:16 AM (10 years ago)
Thwy were great in their own different ways.

However someone spending 27 years in prison to ensure his people - owners of the land - are treated and respected as human beings gets my vote.

Secondly after all the maltreatment in prison Mandela came out and turned the other cheek and set up the truth and reconciliation committee.

What he has done has made him not just a national champion but an international one.

May the souls of both men continue to rest in peace.
Posted: at 2-01-2014 10:16 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 2-01-2014 10:20 AM (10 years ago)
I see
Posted: at 2-01-2014 10:20 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- bankadetoun at 2-01-2014 10:38 AM (10 years ago)
Both of them are great on their own. God is the greater
Posted: at 2-01-2014 10:38 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mathzno at 2-01-2014 11:06 AM (10 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked How many Presidents come for Awo burial?Huh?Huh? Please count and tell me. Was Awo President?Huh?Huh?? Abi na to take hungry beat Biafra children during war makes him great?Huh?? Or na to seize Igbos money during the war and pay back only 2 Pounds each makes him great?Huh?Huh??
Posted: at 2-01-2014 11:06 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jar84 at 2-01-2014 11:22 AM (10 years ago)
naaaah
Posted: at 2-01-2014 11:22 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yusfy1 at 2-01-2014 11:37 AM (10 years ago)
true
Posted: at 2-01-2014 11:37 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- mary11 at 2-01-2014 11:49 AM (10 years ago)
Dats ur opinion and I respect it
But 4 me I can't een compare d both of them cos awolowo is nowhere near mandela

Posted: at 2-01-2014 11:49 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Onyibochukwu at 2-01-2014 12:04 PM (10 years ago)
no body had to blow mandela's trumpet before the whole world gathere!
Posted: at 2-01-2014 12:04 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- potsofgold at 2-01-2014 12:04 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: mathzno on  2-01-2014 11:06 AM
Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked How many Presidents come for Awo burial?Huh?Huh? Please count and tell me. Was Awo President?Huh?Huh?? Abi na to take hungry beat Biafra children during war makes him great?Huh?? Or na to seize Igbos money during the war and pay back only 2 Pounds each makes him great?Huh?Huh??
brother, do not mind the treacherous traitors. if so, why did he drink a bottle of otapiapia that was made at Aba? sages doesn't commit suicide, cowards does. hence the words that goes, "it is better to die like a soldier than live like a coward". the gods are wise.
Posted: at 2-01-2014 12:04 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wysetots at 2-01-2014 12:49 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: mathzno on  2-01-2014 11:06 AM

Thank you!!
You have given them the response they need.
Posted: at 2-01-2014 12:49 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- firmlord2011 at 2-01-2014 12:58 PM (10 years ago)
Guy look for what to write for ur poem don't make sense
Posted: at 2-01-2014 12:58 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ogene2z at 2-01-2014 01:20 PM (10 years ago)
Na waoo for our Yoruba brothers, so Awo is greater than Mandela how?
Posted: at 2-01-2014 01:20 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 2-01-2014 01:28 PM (10 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 2-01-2014 01:28 PM (10 years ago) | Grande Master
- gmarley at 2-01-2014 02:24 PM (10 years ago)
huh
Posted: at 2-01-2014 02:24 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- enoisang at 2-01-2014 02:47 PM (10 years ago)
Who cares
Posted: at 2-01-2014 02:47 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- emnoeasy at 2-01-2014 02:57 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: potsofgold on  2-01-2014 12:04 PM
brother, do not mind the treacherous traitors. if so, why did he drink a bottle of otapiapia that was made at Aba? sages doesn't commit suicide, cowards does. hence the words that goes, "it is better to die like a soldier than live like a coward". the gods are wise.
tell me more of this please, shey na suicide that idiot commit? hahaah so na him kill em self because of fear of Hausa koboko? Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin e don tee wey Hausa don dey ruff handle this people, no wonder dey chose to be their slave for ever Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 2-01-2014 02:57 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Reignest at 2-01-2014 03:43 PM (10 years ago)
Chinua achebe is greater bcos he rejected national award. He asked to use the money to better Nigeria... Mandela is the greatest
Posted: at 2-01-2014 03:43 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Neglito at 2-01-2014 04:11 PM (10 years ago)
Awolowo was just for the Yorubas
Posted: at 2-01-2014 04:11 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- potsofgold at 2-01-2014 04:35 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: emnoeasy on  2-01-2014 02:57 PM
tell me more of this please, shey na suicide that idiot commit? hahaah so na him kill em self because of fear of Hausa koboko? Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin e don tee wey Hausa don dey ruff handle this people, no wonder dey chose to be their slave for ever Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
the igbo hater who participated in the genocide to extinct the igbo race for hate, jealousy & fear of economic dominance later killed himself in 1987 with 5kobo bottle of otapiapia that was made at Aba, the enviable commercial hub of the same great Eastern region. the coward was over ambitious but the hausa/ fulani frustrated him to death just as they did to abiola in addition with karma for killing over 3 million people from a certain tribe of whom most were women & children.
Posted: at 2-01-2014 04:35 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4