'If I wasnt Fela's son, I would have gone farther than this' - Seun Kuti

Date: 20-01-2014 12:22 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Olak
- at 20-01-2014 12:22 PM (10 years ago)

The youngest son of Afrobeat legend Fela Anikulapo Kuti and new father Seun Kuti tells City People mag about the limitations his dad's name has brought to his music career....
"I dont believe that being Fela's son has helped my career. Yes I am fela's son. Yes I grew up to love music through him. Most people believe it's easier looking in, when you are out. Everything just seems easier that way. But I keep saying that the fact that I am Fela's son, for me it didn't really help me musically. The fact that I am Fela's son has brought me more stress than good fortune. I believe if I wasn't Fela's son with my amount of talent and what I have been able to achieve, I would have gone far. What people see in Nigeria is 'Hey, he is just like his father. Who is seun? Oh, he is Fela's son' and that is it. They dont bother to look deep into what I am doing. I see them singing high praises of people here that for me, musically, I dont see what they are singing. What I am saying is Yes I am Fela's son but it still took me 10 years to get my record deal after his death.
Me I believe I have paid my dues. There was no Fela's name helping me get anything. My brother, Femi, won that lottery, I have to say. There was already one Kuti out there. It's like that with music families. There is only one person that is pushed by the name. The others have to strive. Being Fela's son, especially when you have a brother that is already out there, will make it difficult for you after him. What that does to you is that they listen, but before they listen, they have already set the standard so high. I am lucky that still with all the talk and comparisons all the time, I am still able to break my own barriers and we are doing our own thing. The band and I, and we have achieved great success. Since the first album, internationally, we have been able to close that chapter of people comparing us. They now know that we are our own force. Right now the band has made more money, played in more places than they ever did under my dad.

CLICK HERE FOR & HOT SEXY ENTERTAINMENT  CELEBRITY SCANDAL NEWS    

Posted: at 20-01-2014 12:22 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- gmarley at 20-01-2014 03:19 PM (10 years ago)
FIRST TO COMMENT
Posted: at 20-01-2014 03:19 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kenny_kenny at 20-01-2014 03:37 PM (10 years ago)
kmt
Posted: at 20-01-2014 03:37 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- BlueIxora at 20-01-2014 03:45 PM (10 years ago)
If no be your papa and the Kuti's name you will just be another wannabe.
Posted: at 20-01-2014 03:45 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 20-01-2014 03:51 PM (10 years ago)
put in more effort if you really want to be greater than your papa.

Posted: at 20-01-2014 03:51 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- kenosas at 20-01-2014 04:43 PM (10 years ago)
then if you do music,it not favor you,then quit to other business,or its most that all fela´son must be a musician,or ur papa tell you say if u not do music
you ll not survive.
Posted: at 20-01-2014 04:43 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emnoeasy at 20-01-2014 05:12 PM (10 years ago)
HI
Posted: at 20-01-2014 05:12 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- iam_teehizik at 20-01-2014 05:15 PM (10 years ago)
Well said
Posted: at 20-01-2014 05:15 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 20-01-2014 05:36 PM (10 years ago)
Is that so?
Posted: at 20-01-2014 05:36 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- emekaeneh at 20-01-2014 05:41 PM (10 years ago)
Try hard bro
Eneh say so via nokia 3310
Posted: at 20-01-2014 05:41 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Marson at 20-01-2014 05:43 PM (10 years ago)
Abeg allow me hear word, don't BlaME otheRS fOR UR FaiLURE! A man can turn any situation fOr his FORtuNE or MIsFortuNE! MaRsON said sO
Posted: at 20-01-2014 05:43 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 20-01-2014 06:29 PM (10 years ago)
name has notting to do with who u are
Posted: at 20-01-2014 06:29 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- combis at 20-01-2014 06:40 PM (10 years ago)
try sing hip hop.. you go make am
Posted: at 20-01-2014 06:40 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 20-01-2014 06:45 PM (10 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 20-01-2014 06:45 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- abah247 at 20-01-2014 06:46 PM (10 years ago)
Do you Know you Can now watch up to 250 Mobile Tv channels on your mobile phone!
Just download and Enjoy!
=:> Download Now!
=======================
Mtn, Etisalat, Airtel, And GLO cheats All Made Available for you, to
get this Trick Click Here
Posted: at 20-01-2014 06:46 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- jaymendez at 20-01-2014 06:55 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: kenosas on 20-01-2014 04:43 PM
then if you do music,it not favor you,then quit to other business,or its most that all fela´son must be a musician,or ur papa tell you say if u not do music
you ll not survive.
if  U̶̲̥̅̊‎​‎  no sabi write ƒøЯ english,write ƒøЯ U̶̲̥̅̊я̲̅ language we go fine interpreter abeg... U̶̲̥̅̊‎​‎  dey go evening school
Posted: at 20-01-2014 06:55 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 20-01-2014 07:21 PM (10 years ago)
Shartap ur dad made name for himself. D thg is u are not a musician and u started smoking fish very early of ur age and even refuse to be serious wen ur siblings were talking to u. Now u cum here to blame a legend.
Posted: at 20-01-2014 07:21 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 20-01-2014 11:30 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 20-01-2014 11:30 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Asterimou at 21-01-2014 02:12 AM (10 years ago)
I understand his plight. i think this guy is right. some people are judged even before knowing them. those are not pleased with his dad will actually have nothing to do with his kids or their music. or the fact his bro is already up there. lots of things anyway. Glad he is still coping.
Posted: at 21-01-2014 02:12 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SHAGASHA at 21-01-2014 03:46 AM (10 years ago)
i dnt tink so, its even ur father's name that helped u go dis far
Posted: at 21-01-2014 03:46 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming