Apologise Or Forget Honouring Fela – Femi Kuti Tells Jonathan

Date: 26-02-2014 5:54 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 26-02-2014 05:54 PM (10 years ago)

Femi Kuti, son of the late Afrobeat legend, Fela Anikulapo-Kuti, says the family will not accept any centenary award in his honour.

In a twitter correspondence with PM News on Tuesday, Femi further disclosed that the family has not yet been officially notified of a centenary award for Fela. He made it clear that the Federal Government should first apologise for the killing of his grandmother, Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti, and, burning of Kalakuta Republic before accepting the award.

“We have not heard such but I can speak for myself, FG should first apologise for the killing of our grandmother and burning of Kalakuta,” he wrote.

Asked if the family will accept the award if the government apologises for the two wrongs mentioned, Femi said, “Like I said, we have not heard anything from the Federal Government. But I doubt if the family will accept the award.”

For over two decades, Fela sang and protested against anti-people policies of the government. Beginning from the 70s, he was a torn in the flesh of military and civilian administrations in Nigeria.

Fela is to be awarded alongside 99 others as part of the centenary celebration according to a statement released by the Presidential Committee on Nigeria’s Centenary Celebrations. He will be honoured by the FG in the ‘Internationally Acclaimed Artistes, Literary Icons and Journalists’ category.

At the ceremony, President Jonathan would be presenting awards in 13 categories to 100 distinguished personalities, either alive or dead, who eminently symbolised the tapestry of Nigeria’s first centenary.

The award is slated to hold at the Banquet Hall, State House, Abuja, on February 28, 2014.

Posted: at 26-02-2014 05:54 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Emyjen at 26-02-2014 06:11 PM (10 years ago)
Just passing  Grin Grin
Posted: at 26-02-2014 06:11 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- HOPEA23 at 26-02-2014 06:16 PM (10 years ago)
When was your grandma killed n is it the present president that killed her or former president or presidents?

Posted: at 26-02-2014 06:16 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- orekiata at 26-02-2014 06:21 PM (10 years ago)
Felabration
Posted: at 26-02-2014 06:21 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Larry28 at 26-02-2014 06:49 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 26-02-2014 06:49 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- ken222 at 26-02-2014 06:58 PM (10 years ago)
Jobless government
Posted: at 26-02-2014 06:58 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ken222 at 26-02-2014 07:02 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on 26-02-2014 06:16 PM
When was your grandma killed n is it the present president that killed her or former president or presidents?
Don't be stupid and don't ask stupid question, government of Nigeria is still government of Nigeria, be it now and then
Posted: at 26-02-2014 07:02 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- richiestone at 26-02-2014 07:11 PM (10 years ago)
It  Dose not matter which government, the FG. Should apologise. Good child femi.
Posted: at 26-02-2014 07:11 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Onyibochukwu at 26-02-2014 07:24 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: ken222 on 26-02-2014 07:02 PM
Don't be stupid and don't ask stupid question, government of Nigeria is still government of Nigeria, be it now and then

you don't think your the one being stupid here, if your made the president today will you come out and say sorry we killed your grand mother? except your stupid indeed! femi better wake up.
Posted: at 26-02-2014 07:24 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bankable at 26-02-2014 07:37 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: ken222 on 26-02-2014 07:02 PM
You want present president to apologize for crime he didn't commit?  If Femi was a president will he apologize to his family for killing their grandma before awarding his own family? Obasanjo and Shehu Yaradua should apologize to his family. Not Jonna.
Posted: at 26-02-2014 07:37 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 26-02-2014 08:04 PM (10 years ago)
Not my business
Posted: at 26-02-2014 08:04 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- elmatado at 26-02-2014 08:12 PM (10 years ago)
hmm Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-02-2014 08:12 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Shegzan at 26-02-2014 09:15 PM (10 years ago)
Kk#

Posted: at 26-02-2014 09:15 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ifemylove at 26-02-2014 09:19 PM (10 years ago)
no be only to just say "sorry" ?
Posted: at 26-02-2014 09:19 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- casmireduru at 26-02-2014 10:14 PM (10 years ago)
All yoruba are de same if u are looking 4 apology OBJ ur tribe man that kill ur grandma is still alive like de saying pikin way never grow begin find wetin kil hin mama wetin kill hin mama go soon kill am..femi u are stuipd and I hate u 4 disrespecting our presdoo monkey
Posted: at 26-02-2014 10:14 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- seunsd at 26-02-2014 10:18 PM (10 years ago)
It becomes more vivid on a daily that a whole lot of Nigerians still need to be schooled even at the basic level. I am BOLDLY, CLEARLY AND LOUDLY stating that anyone who thinks or says that the Nigerian government shouldn't apologize to the Kuti family for the evil It has done irrespective of whom the president may be even though he is from the Kuti family, is clearly been stupid for not understanding the basics of government or perhaps a fool for knowing the truth and ignoring what is right. This is one of the major problems killing us in this country. Accepting the so called award without apology will ruin all what Fela stood for and the reputation of his family to, also it will make greater awards they have earned internationally which have greater virtue than that which our today opaque and corrupt Nigeria has to offer irrelevant. So which side are you on ? YOUR CALL...

Posted: at 26-02-2014 10:18 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- seunsd at 26-02-2014 10:19 PM (10 years ago)
It becomes more vivid on a daily that a whole lot of Nigerians still need to be schooled even at the basic level. I am BOLDLY, CLEARLY AND LOUDLY stating that anyone who thinks or says that the Nigerian government shouldn't apologize to the Kuti family for the evil It has done irrespective of whom the president may be even though he is from the Kuti family, is clearly been stupid for not understanding the basics of government or perhaps a fool for knowing the truth and ignoring what is right. This is one of the major problems killing us in this country. Accepting the so called award without apology will ruin all what Fela stood for and the reputation of his family to, also it will make greater awards they have earned internationally which have greater virtue than that which our today opaque and corrupt Nigeria has to offer irrelevant. So which side are you on ? YOUR CALL...

Posted: at 26-02-2014 10:19 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- seunsd at 26-02-2014 10:33 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: seunsd on 26-02-2014 10:18 PM
It becomes more vivid on a daily basis that a whole lot of Nigerians still need to be schooled even at the basic level. I am BOLDLY, CLEARLY AND LOUDLY stating that anyone who thinks or says that the Nigerian government shouldn't apologize to the Kuti family for the evil It has done irrespective of whom the president may be even though he is from the Kuti family, is clearly been stupid for not understanding the basics of government or perhaps a fool for knowing the truth and ignoring what is right. This is one of the major problems killing us in this country. Accepting the so called award without apology will ruin all what Fela stood for and the reputation of his family too, also it will make greater awards they have earned internationally which have greater virtue than that which our today opaque and corrupt Nigeria has to offer irrelevant. So which side are you on ? YOUR CALL...

Posted: at 26-02-2014 10:33 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Afrogotojail at 26-02-2014 11:30 PM (10 years ago)
Go and Hung a transformer. For you and your family are not special.
Posted: at 26-02-2014 11:30 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ken222 at 26-02-2014 11:43 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Onyibochukwu on 26-02-2014 07:24 PM
you don't think your the one being stupid here, if your made the president today will you come out and say sorry we killed your grand mother? except your stupid indeed! femi better wake up.
I wonder how some of you reason, it was not the president in person that killed the woman, it was the government which every stupid person who claim to be a Nigeria is one of. Your stupid president GEJ is  planing to honor Frederick Lugard, his wife and Queen Elizabeth for creating you, was Jonathan there when the animal kingdom Nigeria was created, why must he honor them?
Posted: at 26-02-2014 11:43 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming