SAD: Corps Member Shot In Anambra Cult Clash

Date: 25-03-2014 9:27 am (10 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 25-03-2014 09:27 AM (10 years ago)

A corps member, Julius Oghoroko, who was serving with a government organization in Anambra State today, had narrowly escaped death after being shot by unknown gunmen.

Sources told SaharaReporters that the Delta State born Corps member was returning from a function with his friend when he was shot. He was mistakenly identified for a cult member by a rival group and was shot at point blank range. The assailants fled, sources say.

It was a messy crime scene. Blood gushed out of his body before he was immediately rushed to the Anambra State Teaching Hospital, in Amaku. It is there where the wounded man was given emergency treatment, with a team of doctors feverishly working to save his life.

Confirming the incident to SaharaReporters through several phone calls, the Anambra State Command of the Nigeria Police said an investigation into the case is underway.

The Command, through his spokesman, Emeka Chukwuemeka, disclosed that surveillance had been ‘beefed-up’ around Umunya, in Oyi local government area of the state, where a source said the incident occurred.

Chukwuemeka said no suspect as been arrested yet, but he attributed the incident to what he called, “a renewed cult clash” among youth, especially among students in the area.

Chukwuemeka revealed that residents of the community had informed the command of “constant fights” between cultists in the area. In this instance, he stressed that his command responded quickly to their calls about a case of multiple gunshots. Their fast arrival to the scene likely saved the life of the corps member, Chukwuemeka said.

A nurse at the Teaching hospital where Julius Oghoroko was taken told SaharaReporters that he was responding well to treatment. The bullets, she said, have since been removed from his body, thereby giving hospital officials a cautious freedom to speak on his status. They are now listing him in a critical, but stable condition.

"The bullets measured about eight centimeters in his body, and (he) got injured at his right biceps of the muscle (and in other areas,") she revealed.

Posted: at 25-03-2014 09:27 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 1on14u at 25-03-2014 09:40 AM (10 years ago)
After 100 year of existence there is no progress in any way.No and no to election. Nigeria has expired and it is crippled for ever and nothing or any one can revive it be we are not one.Division Is the answer to that place called nigeria since we can't be one if not there will and will always be various dire situation and consequence all times like bomb exploding if you know what I mean. The leaders and every one including the pastors knows what is right( peaceful division,seperation, distingration)and doeth it not it is a sin. Is it not it? Now the president name is bad luck and gowon is hated for murdering millions of biafrans . the only good thing or gift they can give or do us is to divide that place called nigeria so we can all go and rule our selves in our own land the we want. Where there will not be pointing of fingers because we are one. I am igbo at first and biafran is my nation. Niggeria was created by man named Fredrick lugard and it has expired and at 100 years old there is no improvement and progress so let's seek our way out.lets break out we have the right. If we the youths can can say no we don't want to continue any more and don't vote our leaders will ..... And we will miss see each other and so after if you can travel to Ghana from niggeria we can still see each other.
Posted: at 25-03-2014 09:40 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Larry28 at 25-03-2014 09:51 AM (10 years ago)
Tank God for ur Life
Posted: at 25-03-2014 09:51 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- angesco at 25-03-2014 10:15 AM (10 years ago)
The "community has informed the command of frequent clashes!"

And I suppose these "informants" FAILED to IDENTIFY or RECOGNISE even ONE OF THEM!!!!!
Posted: at 25-03-2014 10:15 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daveobahon at 25-03-2014 10:30 AM (10 years ago)
buh m sured informants kno 1 or 2 of dem
Posted: at 25-03-2014 10:30 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- schmit at 25-03-2014 10:49 AM (10 years ago)
children make una go school, and leave dis yeye life style, ooo, bad gangs etc no dey pay oooo, thank God 4 his life.
Posted: at 25-03-2014 10:49 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Harikeee at 25-03-2014 11:46 AM (10 years ago)
God Have Mercy on Us Faaaaaaaaa
Posted: at 25-03-2014 11:46 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- chicco77 at 25-03-2014 12:17 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 25-03-2014 12:17 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Harikeee at 25-03-2014 12:20 PM (10 years ago)
 Wink
Posted: at 25-03-2014 12:20 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- cocoeni at 25-03-2014 12:24 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 25-03-2014 12:24 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- IDOKOO at 25-03-2014 12:26 PM (10 years ago)
Thank God 4 his life but, most of these NYSC member's are d once spreadin cult all over secondary schools. most of dem ar cultist in d univasity and durin dia service, dey wil stat iniciatin secordary school students at d place of dia service. DEVILS
Posted: at 25-03-2014 12:26 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- osamabinladin at 25-03-2014 12:40 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 25-03-2014 12:40 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 25-03-2014 01:38 PM (10 years ago)
Bad, up biafra!!!
Posted: at 25-03-2014 01:38 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- ObyWBabaK at 25-03-2014 01:44 PM (10 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 25-03-2014 01:44 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ObyWBabaK at 25-03-2014 01:48 PM (10 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 25-03-2014 01:48 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 25-03-2014 02:35 PM (10 years ago)
Story! How can he be mistakenly identified as a cult member when he no wear mask? Abeg make dem check the well joor. Possibly, he was a cult guy in school or even still a cult guy. On thing I know for sure is that cult guys don't just strike anybody. They confirm their target and then strike. Make hin just go thank baba God
Posted: at 25-03-2014 02:35 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- iamDonc at 25-03-2014 02:46 PM (10 years ago)
God dey!!
Posted: at 25-03-2014 02:46 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Topsylucas at 25-03-2014 03:08 PM (10 years ago)
Who evn introducd dez useles cults in schs?
Posted: at 25-03-2014 03:08 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 25-03-2014 03:34 PM (10 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 25-03-2014 03:34 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulohking at 25-03-2014 04:21 PM (10 years ago)
damn!!!!!!¡!!!
Posted: at 25-03-2014 04:21 PM (10 years ago) | Hero