My Pastor Insulted Me for Failing To Link Him With Gov Fashola - Madam Fashola

Date: 29-03-2014 9:44 am (10 years ago) | Author: Abidex Samuel
- at 29-03-2014 09:44 AM (10 years ago)
Madam (Prof) Winifred Fashola is a unique person. She got her first degree at the age of 45, Master's degree when she was 49 and I finished her PhD at 62. Can you beat that? She shared part of her story with Punch and here are few interesting excerpts, plus her funny encounter with the pastor of her new church:

You attended the university at an older age, how did you feel seeing younger ones in your class?
I wasn’t too old but I was above their age group. But I made up my mind to be young at heart. I was in my 40s and I still dressed like them. I got my first degree when I was 45, my Master’s degree when I was 49 and my Master of Philosophy degree was when I was around 52. I was a research fellow. Then, I finished my PhD at 62. People are usually surprised when they hear about all these achievements, but it started somewhere, with strong determination.

Your late husband was an uncle to the incumbent Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Babatunde Fashola, what kind of relationship do you have with him?
The governor is a very humble man. We relate well whenever we see, especially at family functions. The wife is the same; very polite, decent and humble. I don’t go to him to look for favours but if I meet him for anything, I know he would attend to me, but then, at my age, what else do I need? I am a happy woman...

With the level of relationship you have with him, one would have expected to meet you living at one of the highbrow areas. Why are you living here?

I like it here. It’s central and I can access anywhere I want to go from here. This area is also devoid of the usual pressure, noise and traffic in those places you call highbrow areas. Here, we don’t have blood pressure. I even pity my children who live in those areas because of the traffic congestion they experience from time to time.
Based on your relationship with the governor, do people come to you for favours?
A lot. People come to me because of that. But politely I tell them there is not much I can do. I was embarrassed sometimes ago. It was my first time in a church and I was given a form to fill. After the service, some members quickly accosted me, because of the name on the form and later in the day; towards evening, they came to my house and prayed for me, which was a good thing. Then they brought out a letter that I should help them give to the governor. I told them that it wouldn’t be possible for me to see him or deliver the letter. I only see him at family functions and it will be unfair to him if I meet him at a function and all I will do is to hand him a letter for assistance. So, as my widow’s mite, I put N5,000 in an envelope and gave to the church. The following day, the Pastor came to my house and said the church was shocked and surprised that someone like me could behave like that. So, these are some of the things I see. If there is a way I could help people in my own capacity, I do, not because of my relationship with the governor.
                                                                    Shocked  Naija Babe Caught In Dirty Runs

Posted: at 29-03-2014 09:44 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Chylove247 at 29-03-2014 10:07 AM (10 years ago)
Ok.
Posted: at 29-03-2014 10:07 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 29-03-2014 05:02 PM (10 years ago)
very funny
Posted: at 29-03-2014 05:02 PM (10 years ago) | Grande Master
- kceemore26pp at 24-04-2014 01:35 PM (10 years ago)
wow
Posted: at 24-04-2014 01:35 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie