Nigeria: Increase in Transport Fare Creates Problems in FCT

Date: 01-09-2009 4:33 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Teeco Designer
- at 1-09-2009 04:33 PM (14 years ago)
The increase of N10 in transport fares on the Abuja Urban Mass Transport Company (AUMTC) bus is creating a serious problem for residents of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The company which initially charged N50 from Mararaba to Wuse two years ago and operated e-ticket system of N60 from Masaka to Wuse, suddenly increased the fares by N10 making a balance of N40 a difficult thing on the buses.

Owing to the hold-up along Mararaba road, civil servants are forced to leave their homes earlier but always get bogged down at the motor parks after spending long time on queues at dawn.

In an interview with some residents last Thursday, some affirmed that the e-ticketing failed due to dishonesty.

Sources claimed that barely three months into the commencement of the e-system, some conductors placed passengers' tickets on the electric device repeatedly pretending to have made mistakes at first time but knowing fully that the machine was very sensitive and would deduct repeatedly as well.

A civil servant Emilia Lawal, resident of Masaka narrated her bitter experience two years ago when she boarded one of the buses to visit her sister in Mararaba.

"That day, I had no money on me but I relied so much on what should be left in my card for transportation for a month. When I got to Mararaba, my sister was not at home, so I had to wait for many hours. I left for the bus stop and entered the bus with the card. When the conductor dropped the card on the machine, he told me the balance was not enough to transport me to Wuse. When I heard my balance, I shouted and went down the bus holding my head. I begged for transport fare back home and never recharged the card again till today."

Emilia said since that day, she became watchful of how the extortion is being carried out until on a certain occasion, when there was a serious quarrel between one of the conductors and a passenger.

"That day, the passenger discovered that the cashier placed his smart card on the machine twice and had deducted the sum of N120 from Wuse to Masaka. It was then she understood their tricks," she said.

On Monday evening, Lawal, Sam, Garba, Henry and Helen residents of Mararaba got down from one of these buses and were jointly given the sum of N200 to settle their balances.

They said they went round the entire Mararaba bus stop and had to buy things before they could solve the problem.

On Tuesday morning, one Kehinde with ticket serial number 688715 encountered the same situation and lamented that on Many occasions, they have written his balance behind his tickets but always forget it in their hand.

Vangard

Posted: at 1-09-2009 04:33 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- waco at 1-09-2009 04:36 PM (14 years ago)
e don tay. when i bin dey Abuja i even fight with conductor
and driver when they charge me 150 from berger to Kubwa
wey suppose to be 80 bus, teeco imagine na

Posted: at 1-09-2009 04:36 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 1-09-2009 04:49 PM (14 years ago)
yes is 80 naira if you are going to zuba 100 naira

Posted: at 1-09-2009 04:49 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- waco at 1-09-2009 04:52 PM (14 years ago)
na 'im make i ben wan break two of them head.
they been think say me abi jjc, they no no
say na for Abuja dem born me.

Posted: at 1-09-2009 04:52 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 1-09-2009 04:54 PM (14 years ago)
Na so them they do yeye boyz

Posted: at 1-09-2009 04:54 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- waco at 1-09-2009 05:01 PM (14 years ago)
if they try that one for Lag no be peson go tell them na

Posted: at 1-09-2009 05:01 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 1-09-2009 05:05 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: waco on  1-09-2009 05:01 PM
if they try that one for Lag no be peson go tell them na

haha them know na Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 1-09-2009 05:05 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- waco at 1-09-2009 05:08 PM (14 years ago)
thats why i like eko till 2moro, we no dey dey take shit here

Posted: at 1-09-2009 05:08 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 1-09-2009 05:16 PM (14 years ago)
yes na

Posted: at 1-09-2009 05:16 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- waco at 1-09-2009 05:19 PM (14 years ago)
okay kpom!

Posted: at 1-09-2009 05:19 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 1-09-2009 05:21 PM (14 years ago)
Kpom 2

Posted: at 1-09-2009 05:21 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- waco at 1-09-2009 05:26 PM (14 years ago)
wey divine

Posted: at 1-09-2009 05:26 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 1-09-2009 05:28 PM (14 years ago)
she's out

Posted: at 1-09-2009 05:28 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- waco at 1-09-2009 05:30 PM (14 years ago)
okay me sef i wan log out na, we go yarn 2moro. gud9t teeco

Posted: at 1-09-2009 05:30 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 1-09-2009 05:36 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: waco on  1-09-2009 05:30 PM
okay me sef i wan log out na, we go yarn 2moro. gud9t teeco

thx 2moro

Posted: at 1-09-2009 05:36 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ngfineface at 2-09-2015 11:24 AM (8 years ago)
All we  hear in Naija since I was born is inflation, no such thing as deflation.
Posted: at 2-09-2015 11:24 AM (8 years ago) | Hero