Nigeria: Bank Customers Lose Over N60 Million in ATM Scam

Date: 01-09-2009 4:43 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Teeco Designer
- at 1-09-2009 04:43 PM (14 years ago)
Abuja — Customers of one of Nigeria's top banks have lost over N60 million in a new Automatic Teller Machines (ATM) fraud, Daily Trust can reveal.

Most of the affected customers receive withdrawal alerts on their mobile phones without conducting any transactions, said one of the staff of the bank who pleaded anonymity.

He said the scam is extraordinary and the bank's management at the moment cannot trace the hackers who penetrated the network but have only taken some measures to reduce the scale of the scam.

He told Daily Trust that the amount of money lost by the affected customers could even be more than N60 million, "if a detailed survey is carried out".

He explained that some customers who didn't subscribe to the alert system hardly knew about the scam until they request for their account balance.

According to the source, the scam is not new, saying that around December last year, the hackers penetrated into the bank system and since then, they have continued to dupe customers".

A victim in Abuja who lost N200,000 in the scam, said he was in his office one evening when he received an alert from the bank that N200,000 had been withdrawn from his account.

" As soon as I received the message, I went to my bank's branch to enquire but the manager told me to write a complaint letter which will be forwarded to their e-business department but since then I have been following up and there has been no responce from the bank yet."

The victim who works with the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), said the bank was able to change his ATM card with another number.

He said his case is not alone among the staff of the NNPC, saying many people have fallen victim to the same scam, saying, " two of my colleagues also lost N400,000 and N140,000 respectively in their accounts".

According to him, he has already stopped using the affected account and suspended using ATM cards for a while.

Daily Trust learnt that the affected bank has now reduced the limit of withdrawal from the ATM from N100, 000 to N20,000 as part of measures to reduce the scope of the scam.

DailyTrust

Posted: at 1-09-2009 04:43 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- black_samurai at 1-09-2009 09:04 PM (14 years ago)
The day i was leaving naija some months ago, i went to withdraw money from an ATM at fourth avenue,  asked for 50k ans this maching accepted, gave me money and the notes got stuck in. I was able to pullout only 7k!
Called the bank when I got here and explained. They only told me theres no way they can verify it therefore nothing can be done bout it.
Nigerian banking system is hell!

Posted: at 1-09-2009 09:04 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- KleverC at 1-09-2009 09:49 PM (14 years ago)
too bad

Posted: at 1-09-2009 09:49 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- teeco at 2-09-2009 09:16 AM (14 years ago)
up till now my 20k is hanging in IBTC

Posted: at 2-09-2009 09:16 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- pancho at 2-09-2009 09:23 AM (14 years ago)
is not much infact na charity den carry d money give.

Posted: at 2-09-2009 09:23 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- divineproject at 2-09-2009 09:37 AM (14 years ago)
too bad............

Posted: at 2-09-2009 09:37 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 2-09-2009 09:45 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: pancho on  2-09-2009 09:23 AM
is not much infact na charity den carry d money give.

Posted: at 2-09-2009 09:45 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- waco at 2-09-2009 09:46 AM (14 years ago)
guy soon i go block all my atm, i no like am again. wahala don too much

Posted: at 2-09-2009 09:46 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- pancho at 2-09-2009 09:55 AM (14 years ago)
too bad u cant do without it, there is weekends and holidays. Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 2-09-2009 09:55 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- teeco at 2-09-2009 09:58 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: pancho on  2-09-2009 09:55 AM
too bad u cant do without it, there is weekends and holidays. Grin Grin Grin

that is the problem

Posted: at 2-09-2009 09:58 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- divineproject at 2-09-2009 10:06 AM (14 years ago)
I can, in short I hardly use mine self............

Posted: at 2-09-2009 10:06 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- pancho at 2-09-2009 10:12 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on  2-09-2009 10:06 AM
and there is money inside?

Posted: at 2-09-2009 10:12 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- teeco at 2-09-2009 10:19 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: pancho on  2-09-2009 10:12 AM
Quote from: divineproject on  2-09-2009 10:06 AM
and there is money inside?

Posted: at 2-09-2009 10:19 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- divineproject at 2-09-2009 10:21 AM (14 years ago)
I can drop at the bank and withdraw..........they are close to me here

Posted: at 2-09-2009 10:21 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- pancho at 2-09-2009 10:30 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on  2-09-2009 10:21 AM
I can drop at the bank and withdraw..........they are close to me here
what if u travel? Grin Grin

Posted: at 2-09-2009 10:30 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- divineproject at 2-09-2009 10:33 AM (14 years ago)
There will always be a branch of dat bank where I go..........besides I get prepared when I travel

Posted: at 2-09-2009 10:33 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 2-09-2009 10:47 AM (14 years ago)
nawa ooo

Posted: at 2-09-2009 10:47 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- divineproject at 2-09-2009 10:59 AM (14 years ago)
wats wa?

Posted: at 2-09-2009 10:59 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 2-09-2009 11:03 AM (14 years ago)
I dey see querry

Posted: at 2-09-2009 11:03 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Abbey316 at 2-09-2009 12:31 PM (14 years ago)
Had d experience twice with Oceanic, 20k each time,got d money back after some months, but if I had 40k for months, wuold have gotten something,even if it was just sitting there in my savings account.
The Nigerians banking system is still light years away from been solid
Posted: at 2-09-2009 12:31 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

3. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

4. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

5. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

6. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

7. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

8. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

9. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

8. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu