Videos: Nigerian Troops 'Cannot Take On Terrorists' Says Terrified Soldier & Mum

Date: 20-05-2014 12:10 am (9 years ago) | Author: Tony Ladipo
- at 20-05-2014 12:10 AM (9 years ago)
Poster is not responsible for the Major Headline outside this page…..

A Nigerian soldier tells Sky's Alex Crawford Special Correspondent, in Nigeria
that troops are too poorly armed and ill-equipped to fight Boko Haram militants

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X2jMEwr2ByA" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X2jMEwr2ByA</a>

Sky News U.K.

CHIBOK, Nigeria
May 19, 2014

A Nigerian soldier tells Sky's Alex Crawford that troops are too poorly armed and ill-equipped to fight Boko Haram militants.

A host of African countries with Western backing may have "declared war" on Boko Haram - but one Nigerian soldier has told Sky News how they have little equipment to take on the terrorists and what weapons they do have are old, worn down and ineffective.

He spoke to us on condition of anonymity: "If my superiors know I have spoken to you, I will be jailed and tortured." But he described an army which is haemorrhaging morale and which lacks the will or the means to take on the terrorists. He said his views reflected the feelings felt throughout the army about the war on terror in Nigeria's northeast.

"They give us just AK47s to go into the bush to fight Boko Haram," he told us. "Our equipment doesn't work and they give us just two magazines (60 bullets) to go into the bush."

He went on to say many soldiers were complaining about not receiving their allowances and being made to wait weeks, sometimes months, for salaries to be paid.
"It's not right," he said.

"We feel so bad because we ... are trying, the soldiers are trying our best but the civilians don't realise what the Nigerian army is issued with, what they are given to go and fight the Boko Haram.
"They don't know the calibre of the weapons that the Nigerian army is giving them.
"The calibre of the Boko Haram weapons is past (better) than the Nigerian army weapon."

The lack of progress in tracking down more than 200 schoolgirls from Chibok has angered the girls' parents who don't believe the Nigerian authorities responded quickly enough - and then only did so because of the huge international outcry following a social media campaign.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ABl27d-rCbs" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ABl27d-rCbs</a>

"Please, please help us," one crying mother appealed to us.
"All we want is for our daughters to be freed."

Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan sparked further discontent when he hurriedly cancelled a trip to Chibok more than a month after the kidnappings, due to reported security concerns.

Sky cameraman Garwen McLuckie and I were in Chibok with the girls' parents and the elders of the town when the word came through that the president would no longer be coming.

There was a welcoming committee waiting for him as well as increased security. We listened as one community elder broke the news to them and then spoke to the furious parents afterwards. Many of them were screaming with indignation and pain.

"Another father told us angrily: "If this place is not safe for the President of Nigeria to come to, how does he think the people of Chibok feel?"
The president's office later contacted Sky News to angrily deny any trip had been planned and he certainly had not cancelled it.
The president later went on to tell the summit in Paris that everything was being done to try to track down the girls. But the parents of Chibok do not feel that is the case.

And the anonymous soldier who spoke to us said the troops charged with the task don't have good enough equipment, the kit or the weapons to carry through the job.

And more than a month on, there's still no sign of the girls.

Posted: at 20-05-2014 12:10 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 20-05-2014 06:13 AM (9 years ago)
Foreign journalists are very daring and more reliable than Nigerian journalists.
………..you can imagine a female journalist with her crew,
………..all the way from England on the ground to get the news to us.

Posted: at 20-05-2014 06:13 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 20-05-2014 06:19 AM (9 years ago)
Same story with the Nigeria Police….
Nigeria Police: We Cannot Stop Boko Haram Cause Not Equipped
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ix_1OETASfY" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ix_1OETASfY</a>

On Patrol With Nigeria's Police
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVYo9oA4890" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVYo9oA4890</a>
Posted: at 20-05-2014 06:19 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tankNZ at 20-05-2014 08:12 AM (9 years ago)
wow.
Posted: at 20-05-2014 08:12 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- emmy_real at 20-05-2014 08:32 AM (9 years ago)
Wat a shame...-it very obvious dat a terrorist group(BH) is stronger dan a nation calld Nigeria... If dis continue 4 the neareset future, am scared of wat d country gonna look like... God help us
Posted: at 20-05-2014 08:32 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Topsylucas at 20-05-2014 08:43 AM (9 years ago)
Gej & his wicked incompetent ways. His personal army in ASO ROCK & his boys @ Niger/delta are well equipped & armed while the army that are suppose 2 protect ordinary citezens are ill equipped. Now I know that those @ the top are useless & heartless. How can so many armed men guard a few while the struggling man on the street is left 2 his own fate? Why don't they arm the nigeria army? What are they afraid of? Time will tell. This game will soon be over.
Posted: at 20-05-2014 08:43 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daveobahon at 20-05-2014 08:45 AM (9 years ago)
BH is not stronger than d Nigerian army its just tat most of d GOC'S in d Nigerian army demsefs re boko haram so they won't supply weapons n witout order,d soldiers cnt do anyfin
Posted: at 20-05-2014 08:45 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 20-05-2014 09:03 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 20-05-2014 09:03 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Topsylucas at 20-05-2014 09:11 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: omomalaga1 on 20-05-2014 07:08 AM
u know some time I go read ur comment I go just shake head, u call this people funy people? people who have decided to give their life 4 the nation who the goverment never care for the old people or pensioners this old men still come out to show their love 4 this useless nation and  idiots like u, only u waka come seate down running ur mouth asking us about a group of lazy people who called them selves army's ok keep asking 4 them they will come tommorow army that don't want to die 4 their nation lazy men that are afraid to protect their wife and kids and family, if the army says they are not well equip that is a big lie to be frank what do book haram have ist not guns do they have neuclear bomb? no do Nigerian don't have marching guns and ak 47 gun if u ask me I will say yes because I see them carry it around every day with my corcor eyes or those ones I saw toy guns,anyway I can't tell because this is naija.
U & ur entire generation are idiots. Its just typical of an illiterate like u 2 comment & insult ur miserable family. I made my opinion, it is left 4 u ass wipe 2 make urs if u have any sensible thing 2 say. I never asked u 2 read my comment, not 2 mention quoting me. U can see that I've ignored u on this forum 2 let u have a little peace but since u don't want 2 let sleeping dog lie then ull get it 4rm me. May thunder,lightning & that small god u serve,strike u dead the next time ull comment on my post. And u better go back 2 night school cos u can't construct a simple sentence & ur spelling is horrible. Big elephant with the brain of a flea! Reply me & see wot ull get,bitch!
Posted: at 20-05-2014 09:11 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- odimajorr at 20-05-2014 09:17 AM (9 years ago)
U don't pay dia salarys on time, u don't equip dem well, their superiors sells weaponry to the so called boko. U allow dem to be ambused and killed. Am sure GEJ doesn't care and he sits his wicked ass all day without sacking some of dis super- intendents.

Posted: at 20-05-2014 09:17 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 20-05-2014 09:41 AM (9 years ago)
Dis guy is right o. Superiors are always hiding d truth from their subodinate.I don't blame them o.
Posted: at 20-05-2014 09:41 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulohking at 20-05-2014 09:46 AM (9 years ago)
........imagine that.
Posted: at 20-05-2014 09:46 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- EmekaBlue at 20-05-2014 10:05 AM (9 years ago)
make foreign media kip on disgracing our army until ghana or cameroon comne invade us take our d govt..shame on d chief of army staff
Posted: at 20-05-2014 10:05 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 20-05-2014 10:15 AM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 20-05-2014 10:15 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- iamDonc at 20-05-2014 10:41 AM (9 years ago)
they gave our good ammnitions to them and give the fake and non functional ones to the army!! who be the fool??
Posted: at 20-05-2014 10:41 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- omomalaga1 at 20-05-2014 10:51 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Topsylucas on 20-05-2014 09:11 AM
U & ur entire generation are idiots. Its just typical of an illiterate like u 2 comment & insult ur miserable family. I made my opinion, it is left 4 u ass wipe 2 make urs if u have any sensible thing 2 say. I never asked u 2 read my comment, not 2 mention quoting me. U can see that I've ignored u on this forum 2 let u have a little peace but since u don't want 2 let sleeping dog lie then ull get it 4rm me. May thunder,lightning & that small god u serve,strike u dead the next time ull comment on my post. And u better go back 2 night school cos u can't construct a simple sentence & ur spelling is horrible. Big elephant with the brain of a flea! Reply me & see wot ull get,bitch!
may thunder fire ur entire usless generation, may u die a misserable death and ur corps will be thrown into an evil forest 4 voltur to feed on may ur family never know peace since u have   know respect 4 old people may ogun the god of iron strangle ur entire family to surden death.. i promise u, u will never escape boko haram this year, u idiote cant ignored me, all u  can do is ignored naijapal leave this place or write me private message to plead 4 ur freedom here, or els i am going to keep acking ur smelling krorkror ass, u dont know anyting u not let reasonable people hear word here over sabi house wife, may sango strike u and chop up ur head and sprinko ur blood ontup od amadioha to drink, u have enjoy some litle peace i think is high time from u usless poverty stinkin idiote hehehe.  
Posted: at 20-05-2014 10:51 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- kelemann at 20-05-2014 11:31 AM (9 years ago)
I see the whole thing as Oyibo gang up. Why dem never find our girls naa all these days after all their shakara if na only dem get sophisticated weapons.  Am very sure that their coming to find our girls no be for free ooooh.
Posted: at 20-05-2014 11:31 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- uncledon at 20-05-2014 12:19 PM (9 years ago)
It seems that Boko Haram are winning the battle against Nigeria government,
Posted: at 20-05-2014 12:19 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Topsylucas at 20-05-2014 02:34 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: omomalaga1 on 20-05-2014 10:51 AM
may thunder fire ur entire usless generation, may u die a misserable death and ur corps will be thrown into an evil forest 4 voltur to feed on may ur family never know peace since u have   know respect 4 old people may ogun the god of iron strangle ur entire family to surden death.. i promise u, u will never escape boko haram this year, u idiote cant ignored me, all u  can do is ignored naijapal leave this place or write me private message to plead 4 ur freedom here, or els i am going to keep acking ur smelling krorkror ass, u dont know anyting u not let reasonable people hear word here over sabi house wife, may sango strike u and chop up ur head and sprinko ur blood ontup od amadioha to drink, u have enjoy some litle peace i think is high time from u usless poverty stinkin idiote hehehe.  

Iya agba, check out ur miserable life 4rm now, ull see that ure finished. I told u 4rm day 1 that ur mates hve long gone. They died in the 50s & ure here forming a human being that ure not. U hve been buried a long time,go & check ur father's backyard ull see ur grave there. Dem no dey take juju serve juju, u wey UGLY like juju carving. U don turn WITCH FOOD TEY TEY. As 4 ur paedophilic father that was caught molesting a 2yrs old girl,may u & him be dropped in the hottest part of HELL where they keep BASTARDS like OSAMA BIN LADEN, HITLER & SHEKAU when they finally kill him.
I can see that ure the stubborn fly that was buried wif the pauper,by the time I'm done wif u in this life,ull wish u were truly dead. Animal, wretched illiterate. Go & beg a pry sch pupil 2 type 4 u cos this game has just begun. And next time u type, proof read (if u can) b4 u post. Ur poor write up is not readable. I find it DIFFICULT 2 decipher the gibberish ure posting here. Reply, I'm waiting 4 u bitch. Daughter of an ashewo!
Posted: at 20-05-2014 02:34 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Adbb at 20-05-2014 02:36 PM (9 years ago)
but lets face fact y is the nigerian army still using ak47 when there is ak74 n ak105, those d army have nite vision googles? y  is it that d army could not deploy re enforcement by helicopters to chibok is bcos we either dont have or the are outdated, y those d army use hilux n not humvee? how many coms those each soldier hav? how are our troops when it coms to making evri bullet count? sum soldiers hav 4gotten they last time they actually fired their weapons as part of drills or training. all dis are just a few of whats needed to hav an effective army so u tell me if u tink the naija get dem  
Posted: at 20-05-2014 02:36 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming