How Desperate Actresses Sleep For Movie Roles In Asaba – Anna Patrick

Date: 23-05-2014 12:04 am (9 years ago) | Author: Opemipo Adeniyi
- at 23-05-2014 12:04 AM (9 years ago)
vixenn-e1400736605540
Anna Patrick’s name might not ring a bell but people in Nollywood know her well. Having featured in over ten films, this fast rising actress is set to take her place in Nollywood, in an interview with vanguard, Anna says most actresses rushing off to Asaba to act, only go there to sleep with directors for roles, some even pay to act and appear on posters and movie jackets.

Below Is what she said in a recent interview with Vanguard…

You talked of se.x.ual harassment, is it real in Asaba?

Yes, this is because there are a lot of desperate actresses who sleep their way to the top. Some of them would go as far as paying to get movie roles. Those who are talented are not given the needful opportunity to express themselves. That’s what we are experiencing here, in Asaba.

Are you saying that not having a mentor exposes these young actresses to all kinds of treatment in the industry?

It’s not really the issue of having a manager or a mentor because the idea of signing a contract is not yet popular in Asaba. But I consider it as the wisest thing any young actress should do, if she must make it in the industry. It will not only help such actress to be focused, and appreciated, rather it will also help her to stay away from all kinds of se.xual advances by the producers. I didn’t experience any form of intimidation or harassment because I got signed to an agency that grooms actors.

If you didn’t sign the contract, what would you have done?

I wouldn’t have continued my career in acting based on the fact that the pressure was getting unbearable for me.

What pressure?

The pressure from producers and directors who want to sleep with these up and coming actresses. Sometimes, they compel them to pay before getting roles in their new productions.

How much do they pay per movie role?

It depends on the individual actress, I can’t put a figure to it now. But that’s the tradition in Asaba.

It means that s*xual harassment is real in the industry?

Yes, it’s real. I have been harassed by both producers and directors. Sometimes, when you refuse their advances, they would start to antagonise you. Some of them would start seeing you as a very proud person.

CLICK HERE TO READ Woman Caught Having S*x With Neighbour

Posted: at 23-05-2014 12:04 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- dondada4040 at 23-05-2014 12:33 AM (9 years ago)
Na only women dey exposed to this harassment, in an extreme poor countries, this is what we see; the women succumb to economic pressure as a result become sex slaves or go straight into prostitution. God help your people in this struggle. Every woman has her own stories regarding this issues starting from the higher institutions to their working places like banks...etc...
Posted: at 23-05-2014 12:33 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 23-05-2014 12:45 AM (9 years ago)
i know  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 23-05-2014 12:45 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 23-05-2014 12:58 AM (9 years ago)
very soon all nigerian native names no go dey exist again because of our new generation girls wey dey grow up troway their papa name along the line,wetin we dey hear now ni mercy johnson,rita dominic,ann ken,yvonne phil,sexy richy,sadra wayne rooney,sharon christian ronaldo e.t.c  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 23-05-2014 12:58 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dondada4040 at 23-05-2014 02:25 AM (9 years ago)
Rita Dominic de answer Rita Nwaturuocha for primary and secondary school as she begin enter the movie market from Uniport her name changed. Forcing guy.
Posted: at 23-05-2014 02:25 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 23-05-2014 08:58 AM (9 years ago)
Watever
Posted: at 23-05-2014 08:58 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- h_kingsman at 23-05-2014 09:00 AM (9 years ago)
not my business
Posted: at 23-05-2014 09:00 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- paulohking at 23-05-2014 09:02 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 23-05-2014 09:02 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 23-05-2014 09:06 AM (9 years ago)
Na today?
Posted: at 23-05-2014 09:06 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 23-05-2014 09:21 AM (9 years ago)
na the nation of the job...u most open legs...them love it that way...wetin be una own..
Posted: at 23-05-2014 09:21 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Topsylucas at 23-05-2014 09:28 AM (9 years ago)
May God help our women o. These producers sef,dem never marry? Abi wetin dey worry dem wif sex. E be like say dem get higher educatn note book wey dem wan fill up wif the names of their conquest(names of the girls dem don hammer). I hope say dem dey go 4 daily HIV screening?
Posted: at 23-05-2014 09:28 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 23-05-2014 09:49 AM (9 years ago)
me dickie like am that way...body no be  firewood oooh,,the truth be say..the ladies them need am..and them ask for it....
Posted: at 23-05-2014 09:49 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jane4real at 23-05-2014 09:59 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: beneno on 23-05-2014 12:58 AM
very soon all nigerian native names no go dey exist again because of our new generation girls wey dey grow up troway their papa name along the line,wetin we dey hear now ni mercy johnson,rita dominic,ann ken,yvonne phil,sexy richy,sadra wayne rooney,sharon christian ronaldo e.t.c  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin lol
Posted: at 23-05-2014 09:59 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- lufad at 23-05-2014 10:05 AM (9 years ago)
Dere ish....
Posted: at 23-05-2014 10:05 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- lufad at 23-05-2014 10:06 AM (9 years ago)
D one wey she dey do behind camera wey we no dey see nko...na all of dem dey do am..abeg..
Posted: at 23-05-2014 10:06 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- chicco77 at 23-05-2014 10:27 AM (9 years ago)
ur bizz
Posted: at 23-05-2014 10:27 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Larry28 at 23-05-2014 10:51 AM (9 years ago)
Whatever
Posted: at 23-05-2014 10:51 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- koboko1 at 23-05-2014 11:13 AM (9 years ago)
Is also done in Hollywood Nigeria won't be different . but ladies and men be careful AIDS kills.
Posted: at 23-05-2014 11:13 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- cocoeni at 23-05-2014 11:40 AM (9 years ago)
Na normal tin for dem
Posted: at 23-05-2014 11:40 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- DrSoba at 23-05-2014 12:30 PM (9 years ago)
She did not say how she got her roles
Posted: at 23-05-2014 12:30 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac