Ibinabo Fiberesima: “I Am Not An Ex-Convict”, Calls Out Emeka Ike

Date: 28-05-2014 9:42 am (9 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 28-05-2014 09:42 AM (9 years ago)
Ibinabo Fiberesima is defending herself against criticism of her tenure as AGN President.

In an interview with us , she speaks on the next election of the Actors Guild of Nigeria, Emeka Ike, rumours that she is using the office for personal gains and shutting down reports that she is an ex-convict.
In 2006, Ibinabo was arrested for the murder of a medical doctor Giwa Suraj. She spent three months and three days in prison, but is still appealing the case.
On the election that led to her winning not being free and fair: “That’s false. The elections were held in Lagos and every state was properly represented, although they voted by proxy, they sent in their votes and it was collated here in Lagos by AGNEC in the presence of the press, so there was no form of malpractice in anyway.”

On if there are financial rewards to her position: “Here is the secret. These people who call themselves conference of Chairmen, they are first of all, one person. They make letter heads with AGN of their state and go to the government and companies to seek for fund. These are things my administration seeks to end, which is why I have become an enemy. I do not exclude Emeka Ike from my list. I contested against Emeka Rollas and Steve Iboh, but Emeka Ike kept parading himself as the president just to gain attention. They go from one place to another claiming to be president. They say I am an ex-convict and charged me to court before and after the election but I won both times.”
On if she was convicted: “Yes, I was. I am not denying it but I was convicted for a traffic offence. Even the Nigerian constitution states that it is not criminal or fraudulent so I can hold public offices.”
On the death of the man: “It was involuntary. I didn’t go out of my way to kill someone. It was an accident and could have been me or anybody else. People have had accidents after me. What is painful is that these people are bringing up the pain and sadness in this case because of their own selfish reasons. Do you think they care about the family and the torture they went through back then. They don’t even know the pain the family will go through now that this has come up again.”

On if she is an ex-convict: “No. I am not an ex-convict.”
On defining and ex-convict: “I was charged. I am in court and I am appealing”
On defending not being an ex-convict: “No, because I came out on bail to appeal and I am appealing because the judgement was wrong.”
On what made the judgement wrong: “Why was I sentenced? Anyway, I have my own issue. That is between me and the court. I am appealing my conviction.”

Posted: at 28-05-2014 09:42 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- okonkwosangel at 28-05-2014 10:49 AM (9 years ago)
Politics na bad game
Posted: at 28-05-2014 10:49 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- DMG17 at 28-05-2014 11:15 AM (9 years ago)
"...AS LONG AS YOU WERE CONVICTED AND YOU DID TIME IN JAIL FOR A CRIME COMMITTED AGAINST THE STATE, YOU ARE A CONVICT. IF YOU ARE EVENTUALLY RELEASED FROM SAME JAIL YOU BECOME AN EX-CONVICT. ALL YOU NEED TO DO IS TO PUT THE PAST BEHIND YOU AND MOVE ON WITH YOUR LIFE AND DO SOMETHING CONSTRUCTIVE. GEN. OBASANJOR WAS AN EX-CONVICT UNDER GEN. ABACHA FOR PLANNING A FAILED COUP. HE WAS RELEASED AND LATER BECAME A PRESIDENT. LIFE IS ALL ABOUT LIVING, LEARNING AND MOVING ON, UNEQUIVOCALLY "EXPERIENCE"...."

CHIKA J. NJOKU
Posted: at 28-05-2014 11:15 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 28-05-2014 11:27 AM (9 years ago)

[attachment deleted by admin]
Posted: at 28-05-2014 11:27 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- proly at 28-05-2014 11:44 AM (9 years ago)
kkk
Posted: at 28-05-2014 11:44 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Topsylucas at 28-05-2014 12:10 PM (9 years ago)
Take heart Ibinabo,politics is a ruthless game.
Posted: at 28-05-2014 12:10 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DrSoba at 28-05-2014 12:21 PM (9 years ago)
IB u of all people should know better than this once  found guilty and sentenced u are a convict and once you are released either by parole or other means u are an ex-convict. OK?
Posted: at 28-05-2014 12:21 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- micc at 28-05-2014 12:47 PM (9 years ago)
Na una sabi ooo
Posted: at 28-05-2014 12:47 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- cocoeni at 28-05-2014 01:29 PM (9 years ago)
Abi oooo
Posted: at 28-05-2014 01:29 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 28-05-2014 03:18 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 28-05-2014 03:18 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osamabinladin at 28-05-2014 03:41 PM (9 years ago)
Alright !
Posted: at 28-05-2014 03:41 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- christianity at 28-05-2014 06:23 PM (9 years ago)
u ar an ex convict,dats the simple truth,if not den tell nigerians what u were doing in prison for up to 4 months.nonsense.
Posted: at 28-05-2014 06:23 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- schmit at 28-05-2014 09:42 PM (9 years ago)
Hahahahaha
Posted: at 28-05-2014 09:42 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- EVERYBODY at 29-05-2014 02:49 AM (9 years ago)
NA UNA PROBLEM BE DAT , E NO CONCERN ME ABEG UNA.
Posted: at 29-05-2014 02:49 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Titojoeman at 29-05-2014 08:14 AM (9 years ago)
na them sabi. none of my bizz mchewwwwwww
Posted: at 29-05-2014 08:14 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Nicksam at 29-05-2014 09:59 AM (9 years ago)
PASSING
Posted: at 29-05-2014 09:59 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- queenbabe at 29-05-2014 03:22 PM (9 years ago)
Excuse me
Posted: at 29-05-2014 03:22 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Larry28 at 31-05-2014 02:24 PM (9 years ago)
K
Posted: at 31-05-2014 02:24 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 31-05-2014 02:29 PM (9 years ago)
K
Posted: at 31-05-2014 02:29 PM (9 years ago) | Hero