REAL TALK: 'Successful Career Women Can't Have it All' - Pepsi CEO, Indra Nooyi

Date: 02-07-2014 2:25 pm (9 years ago) | Author: kaygee
- at 2-07-2014 02:25 PM (9 years ago)

Indra Krishnamurthy Nooyi, an Indian-born American, is a business executive and the current Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer of PepsiCo, the second largest food and beverage business on in the world.  And at the same time, she still is a mom, wife and daughter back home.

In a new interview with David Bradley, who owns The Atlantic, Indra was asked how does she play the two roles and still have a perfect work-life balance?
Below is the transcript of her great reply:
Q. You came home one day as president of the company, just appointed, and your mom was not that impressed. Would you tell that story?
This is about 14 years ago. I was working in the office. I work very late, and we were in the middle of the Quaker Oats acquisition. And I got a call about 9:30 in the night from the existing chairman and CEO at that time. He said:
 Indra, we're going to announce you as president and put you on the board of directors
... I was overwhelmed, because look at my background and where I came from—to be president of an iconic American company and to be on the board of directors, I thought something special had happened to me. So rather than stay and work until midnight which I normally would've done because I had so much work to do, I decided to go home and share the good news with my family.

I got home about 10, got into the garage, and my mother was waiting at the top of the stairs. And I said:
 "Mom, I've got great news for you."  
She said:
"Let the news wait. Can you go out and get some milk?"
I looked in the garage and it looked like my husband was home. I said:
 "What time did he get home?"
She said:
 "8 o'clock."
I said:
Why didn't you ask him to buy the milk?"
Mum: "He's tired."

Me: Okay. We have a couple of help at home. Why didn't you ask them to get the milk?"

She said, "I forgot."

She said just get the milk. We need it for the morning. So like a dutiful daughter, I went out and got the milk and came back. I banged it on the counter and I said:
"I had great news for you. I've just been told that I'm going to be president on the Board of Directors. And all that you want me to do is go out and get the milk, what kind of a mom are you?"  
And she said to me:
"Let me explain something to you. You might be president of PepsiCo. You might be on the board of directors. But when you enter this house, you're the wife, you're the daughter, you're the daughter-in-law, and you’re the mother. You're all of that. Nobody else can take that place. So leave that damned crown in the garage. And don't bring it into the house. You know I've never seen that crown."

Q. What's your opinion about whether women can have it all?
I don't think women can have it all. I just don't think so. We pretend we have it all. We pretend we can have it all. My husband and I have been married for 34 years. And we have two daughters. And every day you have to make a decision about whether you are going to be a wife or a mother, in fact many times during the day you have to make those decisions.

And you have to co-opt a lot of people to help you. We co-opted our families to help us. We plan our lives meticulously so we can be decent parents. But if you ask our daughters, I'm not sure they will say that I've been a good mom. I'm not sure. And I try all kinds of coping mechanisms.

My observation, David, is that the biological clock and the career clock are in total conflict with each other. Total, complete conflict. When you have to have kids you have to build your career. Just as you're rising to middle management your kids need you because they're teenagers, they need you for the teenage years.

And that's the time your husband becomes a teenager too, so he needs you (laughing). They need you too. What do you do? And as you grow even more, your parents need you because they're aging. So we're screwed. We have no... We cannot have it all.

The person who hurts the most through this whole thing is your spouse. There's no question about it.

Posted: at 2-07-2014 02:25 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 2-07-2014 03:00 PM (9 years ago)
too short,please make the post longer  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 2-07-2014 03:00 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Fredoscar at 2-07-2014 03:34 PM (9 years ago)
And so what ? which kind post be this ?
Posted: at 2-07-2014 03:34 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- princesscomic at 2-07-2014 03:47 PM (9 years ago)
hummmmmmmmmmmm right on point...................u cant have it all...............
Posted: at 2-07-2014 03:47 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- okuboye at 2-07-2014 04:18 PM (9 years ago)
Tru talk
Posted: at 2-07-2014 04:18 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osamabinladin at 2-07-2014 04:43 PM (9 years ago)
Noted !
Posted: at 2-07-2014 04:43 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- benbella1 at 2-07-2014 04:46 PM (9 years ago)
notherners are said to be planning massive food poisoning to south east within a specific period of time, this is not mere speculation please beware and pass the message to your loved ones.
Posted: at 2-07-2014 04:46 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Freshlycrazy at 2-07-2014 04:53 PM (9 years ago)
India & their male dominated culture...  if twas a man, d mother for nor talk lyk dat
Posted: at 2-07-2014 04:53 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 2-07-2014 05:30 PM (9 years ago)
Waoh I like d mother.
Posted: at 2-07-2014 05:30 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Larry28 at 2-07-2014 07:26 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: princesscomic on  2-07-2014 03:47 PM
hummmmmmmmmmmm right on point...................u cant have it all...............
Posted: at 2-07-2014 07:26 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Y-ON at 2-07-2014 08:42 PM (9 years ago)
She still is a Mom, Wife and Daughter. What a good example of Womanhood. This is not about those nonsensical ugly bitches parading their washed away bodies in here,  Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 2-07-2014 08:42 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- cocoeni at 2-07-2014 08:53 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 2-07-2014 08:53 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- NaWahooo at 2-07-2014 10:33 PM (9 years ago)
That's the truth, we can't have it all. But it's nothing new, it's just a normal life. It's natural with real women and it's fun. I wonder why you don't get your milk on fridays or saturdays and have enough for the week!

Posted: at 2-07-2014 10:33 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickman2 at 2-07-2014 11:37 PM (9 years ago)
but them most sabi open legs...
Posted: at 2-07-2014 11:37 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- xjiggy at 3-07-2014 12:45 AM (9 years ago)
Benbella1 if northerner wan poison food, why u no go tell them for NTA instead of occupying space here for 9japals? By the way, how many food u don supply from ur farm as alternative to help ur end of the world prediction? Better leave this place with immediate alacrity b4 i change am for u. I dey vex oo.
Posted: at 3-07-2014 12:45 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Y-ON at 3-07-2014 04:39 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: benbella1 on  2-07-2014 04:46 PM
notherners are said to be planning massive food poisoning to south east within a specific period of time, this is not mere speculation please beware and pass the message to your loved ones.

Bros no just worry but you see those Northerners and their evil plans, they MUST NEVER SUCCEED because in the book of Job 5:12, it says. He disappointeth the devices of the crafty, so that their hands cannot perform their enterprise and in Isaiah 8:10, it said, Take counsel together and it shall come to nought; speak the word and it shall not stand for God is with us and in Psalm 33:10. The Lord foils the plans of the nations;  he thwarts the purposes of the peoples. so Bros, let's declare the word of God ok?, because He is with us, EMMANUEL. thank you for sharing this info, stay Blessed. 
Posted: at 3-07-2014 04:39 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Nicksam at 3-07-2014 06:49 AM (9 years ago)
TRUE TALK MADAM KEEP IT UP
Posted: at 3-07-2014 06:49 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Deprince3 at 3-07-2014 10:07 AM (9 years ago)
 SHE'S VERY CORRECT ,@ FRESHLYCRAZY, YOUR TYPE WILL NEVER GET MARRIED OR YOUR THE TYPE OF TODAY MARRIAGE TOMORROW DIVORCE. I PITY YOUR DISGRACEFULL LIFE.
Posted: at 3-07-2014 10:07 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 3-07-2014 10:17 AM (9 years ago)
true talk
Posted: at 3-07-2014 10:17 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulohking at 3-07-2014 03:14 PM (9 years ago)
 Cool
Posted: at 3-07-2014 03:14 PM (9 years ago) | Hero

1. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

2. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

3. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam

4. My Mother, Enemy Of Progres!Man Reveals How His Mother Ended His Plans To Travel Out Of Nigeria

5. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

6. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

7. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

8. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

9. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

10. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

11. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

12. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

13. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

14. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

15. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor