Nigeria: Over U.S.$10 Billion Wasted On Electricity in Ten Years - Shonekan

Date: 18-09-2009 4:09 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Teeco Designer
- at 18-09-2009 04:09 PM (14 years ago)
Lagos — FORMER Head of State, Ernest Shonekan on Wednesday opened a can of worms on the country's epileptic power supply, declaring that the Federal Government wasted over $10 billion on electricity in 10 years.

The result of Federal Government's over $10 billion investment, according to Shonekan, is disappointing to over 140 million people, who are denied efficient access to electricity.

Delivering a paper at the Third Power Solution Conference in Lagos, the Chairman of the Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission (ICRC), an agency saddled with getting Public Private Partnerships for Nigeria's infrastructural development, cautioned all ministries that have something to do with award of contracts for PPP to adhere strictly to provisions of his commission.

He said: "Over the past 10 years, the Federal Government has made significant investments in the power sector well in excess of $10 billion, in an effort to make up for the dearth of such investments in the preceding two decades. But as we all now know, the result has been clearly disappointing."

"This disappointment", he continued, "is not only due to the poor planning and sequencing of government's investments that was/is needed to bridge the gap between the available capacity and what is needed to meet even the current level of demand for power.

"With a population of over 150 million people and access to electricity of just about 40 per cent (according to the Nigerian Energy Commission), a situation which leaves over 90 million Nigerians without access, the gap that has to be closed is clearly enormous and well beyond the capacity of the treasury.

"The resource gap becomes even more challenging given our national aspiration to position our country among the top 20 economies of the world by the year 2020. Our challenges can be illustrated by statistics from the World Facts Book, which showed the following electricity per capita consumption figures:

U.S. (rank one) 12,672 kWh, Russia (four)-6,969kWh, Egypt (28) - 1052kWh, Algeria (60) - 957kWh, Nigeria (71)-125kWh."

He said the current policy direction of the Yar'Adua administration to encourage the participation of the private sector in the provision of this vital public infrastructure through Public Private Partnerships (PPP) is a most welcome development, adding that that PPPs "have a proven track records elsewhere of providing the requisite financing as well as management capacity to regenerate and expand national infrastructure.

"I believe, in time, the PPP option will prove to be the mainstream opportunity for addressing the growth and development. This is why I consider the establishment of the infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission (ICRC) by the President a very timely and auspicious decision and my being invited to chair it, a great privilege and most welcome responsibility, albeit a very daunting one."

According to the former Head of the defunct Interim Government, the ICRC was inaugurated in November last year by the President under the Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission 2005 to regulate, monitor and supervise contractual arrangement for the participation of the private sector in financing the construction, development, operation or maintenance of infrastructure or development of projects of the Federal Government.

"Finally, we must all commit to addressing the challenges of corruption which, in my view, is the one critical factor that has impeded our country's economic progress and undermined our capacity to actualise our enormous potential. If we are to create a PPP market that would be internationally competitive and that can attract internationally reputable investors, we must ensure that our processes are transparent and internationally competitive and all players involved in any transactions follow due process," he said.

Source: Daily Independent

Posted: at 18-09-2009 04:09 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chik001 at 18-09-2009 05:38 PM (14 years ago)
the goernment are not the only ones currupt, also WE the people are currupt too. for the record: I used to work for a company at Allen avenue in early 90s, I worked there for two years and for those years, the company never paid a NEPA bill!!! the electricity we were usin were tapped from wherever. One day yawa gass, NEPA officials came calling and thretened hell and brimstone, they were taken to one corner and got settled the naija way... Bribe

Several times, anyone in the house would have either tapped illegal light or bribe officials to connect then illegally.

Now look at this; when we pay our bills and the money dont go into power officials private pocket;  this money will be used to repair the thermal stations, purchase new parts, pay workers, develop on the ever growing power needs.

Like I have always said , Nigerian progress will only come tru when we change our attitude of being irresponsible and tink collective responsibility.

Posted: at 18-09-2009 05:38 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- teeco at 19-09-2009 08:53 AM (14 years ago)
like me now if our Unit finish for house I dey diconnect the light from the meter connect am direct sharp sharp

Posted: at 19-09-2009 08:53 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- divineproject at 21-09-2009 11:21 AM (14 years ago)
hahahaha........teeco, you are one of the bad eggs we are talking abt............

hmmm $10B, and what have we got to show for it???............

Posted: at 21-09-2009 11:21 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 23-09-2009 05:25 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 21-09-2009 11:21 AM
hahahaha........teeco, you are one of the bad eggs we are talking abt............

hmmm $10B, and what have we got to show for it???............

weytin man pikin go do na Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 23-09-2009 05:25 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Woman Shares Text Message She Received From Her Father After She Missed His Call Twice

2. Yul Edochie Takes His Second Wife, Judy Austin To His Village In Anambra

3. Newly Wedded Wife Bathes Husband With Hot Water For Stopping Her From Making Calls

4. "Don’t Curse Nigeria, Remove Bad Leaders In 2027" – Tinubu To Religious Leaders

5. I Have No Hand in The Killing - Delta Monarch Cries Out After Being Declared Wanted by The Army

6. Renowned Nigerian Playwright, Wole Oguntokun Is Dead

7. How Woman Suffered Organ Failure From Hair Cream Which Caused Her Kidney To Shut Down

8. 'I Can't Drive Any Of My Kids Away If DNA Test Shows They're Not My Biological Children' - Man

9. BREAKING! CBN Increases Capital Base For Commercial Banks

10. Chinese Boss Beaten Blue And Black Over Unpaid Salary By Zimbabwean Workers

11. If Car Owner Toast You No Go Video Am – Lady Stirs Reactions After Laughing At Keke Man Toaster

12. He Sees Liam As A Competitor And A Threat- Late Mohbad’s Wife, Wunmi Laments

13. AGAIN! Nigeria Thrown Into Darkness As National Grid Collapses Ahead Of Easter Holidays

14. 17Yr Old Girl Raped And Strangled To Death By Her Cousin In South Africa

15. VIDEO: Fans Treat Rema Like King After Visiting Benin For The First Time In 6 Years

16. Court Orders Release Of 313 Suspected Terrorists In Borno

17. Police Apprehend 22 Thuggery Suspects, Declare 30 Wanted In Kano

18. Delta King Declared Wanted Over Okuama Killing, Surrenders Self

19. Court Remands 42Yr Old Man For Allegedly Defiling & Impregnating 11Yr Old Girl In Lagos

20. Falana Reveals It’s Illegal To Declare Suspects, Wanted

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

6. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)