Divorce Was The Worst Punishment I Got From My Parents – Annie Idibia Recounts

Date: 27-07-2014 6:56 pm (9 years ago) | Author: suliu danjuma
- at 27-07-2014 06:56 PM (9 years ago)
In a new interview with Sunday Sun, the mother of two shared her experiences and the sacrifices her mother made after they were abandoned by their father.

” Honestly, divorce is the worst punishment any parent could subject children to because it’s the children that will face the consequences of their actions. Divorce shouldn’t be considered as an option when couple face-off. It is advisable to settle rather than divorce. Why did you get married if you cannot forgive and reconcile with your partner? I don’t wish my kids to pass through my experience regarding divorce. I always use my parents-in-laws as an example and I try to emulate them in my marriage. After all these years, they are still deeply in love with each other. Even at their age, they still enjoy each other’s company and that is amazin,” she said

“My mum and dad divorced 20 years ago. My mother bred us from childhood to adulthood because of the divorce. I was almost a tom boy growing up with my brothers. It’s heartbreaking when you live with your parents happily and suddenly, they part ways. Sincerely, we were terribly affected emotionally. It was especially tough where it was only our mother that was attending functions in school and taking care of our needs. It was emotionally sapping and my brothers have their own fair share of the memories. It affected me so much while in secondary school because I was always sad going home after school hours to see my mother living without my father. But mum tried her best to make life meaningful for us; she is my hero. And I appreciate God for being there for us.”

On growing up, she said “We lived in Ibadan with our parents when my father was working with Mobil and my mother was a house wife. She remained a house wife until they separated. I was born with a silver spoon but I didn’t grow up with it. After their divorce, my mother got a job with Mobil working as a cook to support us.”

Recounting how the experience sharpened her life, she said “It made me stronger and independent as a woman. As the only girl, my mother taught me to do domestic chores. Today as a married woman, I have domestic staff but I still cook and do house chores. I started working immediately after I graduated from secondary school at age 15. I worked as a sales girl in a boutique and two other places before I got admission to study, leading up to my diploma. I also worked part time as an undergraduate of Computer Science at the Lagos State University when I was 18-years-old. Thereafter, I got admission into the University of Lagos where I bagged a degree in Theatre Arts. Growing up wasn’t easy, my sister. I have never shared this before in the media but I think God wants His name to be exalted in my life.”

Posted: at 27-07-2014 06:56 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- chidi4reala at 27-07-2014 08:30 PM (9 years ago)
ok eh aboki is my tea ready??
Posted: at 27-07-2014 08:30 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Freshlycrazy at 27-07-2014 09:09 PM (9 years ago)
Noted... Mk I go answer my papa call...
Posted: at 27-07-2014 09:09 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 27-07-2014 10:06 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 27-07-2014 10:06 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 27-07-2014 10:32 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 27-07-2014 10:32 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dynasty4all at 27-07-2014 10:37 PM (9 years ago)
LET THIS LADY THAT TALK WITH HER NOSE THANK HER GOD 4 EVERY THING
Posted: at 27-07-2014 10:37 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sarah555 at 27-07-2014 11:14 PM (9 years ago)
I THANK GOD FOR EVERY THING HE AS DONE FOR US.
for the gift of life, sound mind, good health, for his providance in our life e.t.c
I PERSONALLY THANK YOU GOD FOR YESTERDAY, TODAY, TOMORROW AND FOR EVER
THANK YOU JESUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Posted: at 27-07-2014 11:14 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dorokenny at 28-07-2014 05:34 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Freshlycrazy on 27-07-2014 09:09 PM
Noted... Mk I go answer my papa call...

i think say na under bridge you dey
Posted: at 28-07-2014 05:34 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- osamabinladin at 28-07-2014 06:00 AM (9 years ago)
Alright !
Posted: at 28-07-2014 06:00 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Nicksam at 28-07-2014 10:02 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 28-07-2014 10:02 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- viddycool at 28-07-2014 10:40 AM (9 years ago)
she is lucky thank God for her
Posted: at 28-07-2014 10:40 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Nancys at 28-07-2014 10:49 AM (9 years ago)
IS NT EASY TANK GOD FOR U
Posted: at 28-07-2014 10:49 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- bishop5 at 28-07-2014 11:02 AM (9 years ago)
tanx God 4 her
Posted: at 28-07-2014 11:02 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- okoroj at 28-07-2014 02:46 PM (9 years ago)
u said this to the medias, and act wht u wish in ur house
Posted: at 28-07-2014 02:46 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- cosmos68 at 28-07-2014 03:26 PM (9 years ago)
mmh ur own issue beta sef as u no sleep outside one day nt 2 talk off bn Molested whic many gals/ladies pass 2ru n morover urs na divorce n nt bn an Orphan at a little age whic wz d worst of it all nt bn tested Mother/Father care 4 once .Bt in all 2 God b d Glory  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 28-07-2014 03:26 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- prommydarason at 28-07-2014 03:51 PM (9 years ago)
SUCH IS LIFE
Posted: at 28-07-2014 03:51 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- cocoeni at 28-07-2014 07:10 PM (9 years ago)
all the same thank GOD for your life
Posted: at 28-07-2014 07:10 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- lakman at 28-07-2014 07:43 PM (9 years ago)
i guess you don't know what it means to be born with golden spoon .
Posted: at 28-07-2014 07:43 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- beejaybabs at 29-07-2014 07:10 AM (9 years ago)
Everyonehasastorytotell!

Posted: at 29-07-2014 07:10 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beejaybabs at 29-07-2014 07:10 AM (9 years ago)
Everyonehasastorytotell!

Posted: at 29-07-2014 07:10 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

2. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

3. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

4. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

5. My Mother, Enemy Of Progres!Man Reveals How His Mother Ended His Plans To Travel Out Of Nigeria

6. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

7. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

8. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam

9. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

10. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

11. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

12. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

13. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

14. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

15. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor