Nigeria: Kidnappers of Kaduna SSG Demand N40 Million

Date: 24-09-2009 9:03 am (14 years ago) | Author: Teeco Designer
- at 24-09-2009 09:03 AM (14 years ago)
Kaduna — Kaduna State was thrown into confusion yesterday, following the strange disappearance of Mr. Waje Yayok, the Secretary to the State Government.

His family and colleagues believe he was kidnapped.

This is coming barely five months after the kidnap of a Canadian woman, Mrs. Julie Ann Mulligan.

However, in a swift reaction, the state government stated that Yayok was on an official assignment to the southern part of the state, adding that in line with the internationally recognised standards a person could only be declared missing after 24 hours of his disappearance.

But Yayok's family said the suspected kidnappers have announced a ransom of N40 million as a precondition for his release.

Addressing newsmen in Kaduna, Special Adviser on Media and Public Affairs to the state governor, Alhaji Umar Sani, said, "We have been inundated with inquiries as to the whereabouts of the Secretary to the State Government of Kaduna State, Mr. Waje Yayok, over a case of abduction. These inquiries necessitated that we respond appropriately to these rumours in order to set the records straight.

"While it is true that the SSG was on official assignment to the southern part of Kaduna, we are yet to get in contact with him over his supposed location. We believe he will get in contact with us soon.

"However, the gravity and intensity of the rumours required us to take steps to ensure that everything is in order. The security agencies have been detailed about the place, the nature of the assignment and all his contact details to enable them trace his whereabouts and douse the tension created by such rumours.

"Members of the press, in line with the internationally accepted standards that a person cannot be declared missing until after 48 hours, and because the rumours started this morning, we shall address you properly very soon on the matter.

"However, the essence of this is to keep you informed of the situation. By tomorrow the picture will be clear."

Asked if the government had got in touch with the kidnappers, Sani said, "We have told you that we cannot confirm that he is missing. Have they talked to you? Something that has not happened and you are saying the government has set up a committee; until something happens before we will set up committee.

"Like I said, he is part of our family. If you sent your son, will someone ask you his whereabouts?

"It is even the family (of Yayok) that should reach us. The last time he had an accident it was us that told them that he was sick. It was me that stayed with him in the hospital for two days.

"You can see we have continued with our work. If we have confirmed that he is missing, we would have halted all our engagements. He is in charge of security matters and the governor can assign him responsibilities."

The government's position was corroborated by the state Commissioner of Police, Alhaji Tambari Yabo Mohammed, who told reporters that Yayok could not be declared missing or kidnapped yet until after 24 hours.

Yabo added that the police have since begun investigation, with the aim of unravelling the whole saga.

But the government's position differed from LEADERSHIP findings at the SSG's residence in Barnawa area of Kaduna metropolis. Relatives and scores of prominent people who spoke to our correspondent firmly pointed out that Yayok's sudden disappearance could be nothing but a case of kidnapping.

At 11am when LEADERSHIP correspondent visited the house, armed police men and plain-clothed security personnel were seen at the gate, monitoring movements in the area.

Top government functionaries that were seen at the residence included the chairman of Kaura Local Government, Barrister James Kanyip; Commissioner of NGOs and Student Affairs, Mr. Bityong Yakubu Nkom; and Commissioner of Economic Planning, Mr. John Bezard. The state Chairman of the Nigerian Labour Congress, Comrade Danladi Bisalla, was also there.

One of Yayok's daughters who refused to mention her name explained: "Our father was home last night until around 8. And he has been busy preparing for my wedding, which is coming up on October 10. He left home alone in his car and until this morning we could not find him. It is unusual of him to be away without a hint of his whereabouts."

A family member disclosed to LEADERSHIP that the SSG was allowed by his captors to speak to the family, during which his abductors demanded for a N40 million ransom.

The source added that when Mrs Yayok asked her husband where he was, the kidnappers forcibly ended the call.

The SSG is said to be suffering from an illness that sometimes warrants his travelling abroad for medical attention.

LEADERSHIP also saw the Kaduna State governor, Alhaji Mohammed Namadi Sambo, receiving hundreds of well-wishers from different parts of the state, many of whom came to pay Sallah homage to him.

As at the time of filing this report, dozens of people were still trooping to Yayok's residence to offer sympathies to the family.

Yayok was appointed secretary to the state government in 2007, following the appointment of the former SSG, Mr. Felix Hassan Hyat, as Minister of State for Aviation by President Yar'Adua.

Kidnappings, which are common in the oil-rich Niger Delta region and the eastrn part of the country, made a debut in the northern state of Kaduna on April 17, 2009 with the kidnap of Mrs. Mulligan, the Canadian woman who was visiting Nigeria for a four-week group exchange programme of the Rotary Club.

Mulligan, who was seized by unknown men while in company of her Nigerian host on the outskirts of Kaduna, was released after a fortnight, following a successful operation by men of the State Security Service.

A 25-year-old, Christian Tochukuwu, and his landlord Obinna were arrested for the crime and are presently facing charges before a magistrate court in Kaduna.

The wife of the chairman of Kubau Local Government, Hajiya Shamsiyya Habib, was also kidnapped on July 13, 2009. A former Hausa actress, she was released after two days.

Two persons arrested in connection with the crime are still facing prosecution at a court in Zaria.

No ransom was paid on each occasion.

More than 200 foreigners have been kidnapped in the Niger Delta region in recent years, with most of them released unharmed after ransoms must have been paid.

Source: allafrica.com

Posted: at 24-09-2009 09:03 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- biamblinks at 24-09-2009 09:08 AM (14 years ago)
News News Nice One
Posted: at 24-09-2009 09:08 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- teeco at 24-09-2009 10:53 AM (14 years ago)
more to come watch out

Posted: at 24-09-2009 10:53 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chuksben01 at 24-09-2009 12:31 PM (14 years ago)
teeco who are you planning to abduct?
Posted: at 24-09-2009 12:31 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- teeco at 24-09-2009 02:12 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: chuksben01 on 24-09-2009 12:31 PM
teeco who are you planning to abduct?

your Dad Grin

Posted: at 24-09-2009 02:12 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- divineproject at 24-09-2009 02:21 PM (14 years ago)
You no fit..........

Posted: at 24-09-2009 02:21 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 24-09-2009 02:33 PM (14 years ago)
who tell you?

i am a black belt holder

Posted: at 24-09-2009 02:33 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- teeco at 24-09-2009 04:14 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: WADADA1 on 24-09-2009 02:58 PM
Teeco who dey wire you this info you dey make me fear you oh aba

Grin Grin Grin Cool Cool Cool

Posted: at 24-09-2009 04:14 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 19-08-2011 12:24 AM (12 years ago)
one day they will kidnapp a governor if care is not taken
Posted: at 19-08-2011 12:24 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master