Nigerian Senate says Soldiers Sentenced to Death for Mutiny Deserve to Die

Date: 24-09-2014 6:35 am (9 years ago) | Author: [email protected]
- at 24-09-2014 06:35 AM (9 years ago)
The Nigerian Senate on Tuesday said it would not plead with the Nigerian Army to spare the lives of 12 soldiers recently sentenced to death for mutiny.

The Chairman, Senate Committee on Defence, George Sekibo, said this in Abuja after a closed-door meeting with the nation’s service chiefs. The service chiefs were led to the high-profile meeting, which lasted over three hours, by the Chief of Defence Staff, Alex Badeh.

Briefing journalists after the meeting, Mr. Sekibo said the senate was not under pressure to intervene to save the lives of the soldiers because the judgment convicting them was in the best interest of the Nigerian military.
“No we are not (under pressure) because the Armed Forces is established by an Act of the National Assembly. The Act spelt out categorically the conduct of soldiers and the way they are to behave wherever they are. If you join the military that Act is to guide you and your conduct.  
If you go contrary to any of the prescribed sections of the Act the punishment prescribed for the Act you violated will come on you. So the military did not just wake up one day and say that they are going to kill Mr A or Mr B. They (military) went through the necessary processes and they found them guilty,” he said.
The committee chairman however said that those found guilty could go on appeal and the rulings from the appeal would be binding on them.
“But I think that those found guilty also have a way out. They can go on appeal and if the appeal finds them not guilty that will be it. But for what the military has done, they have done the best thing because you must instil discipline in the Armed Forces. If you don’t do so, one day all of us here will be sacked and you will not hear of this place again,” he said.
Mr. Sekibo called on Nigerians to encourage the military to ensure that it discharged its duties effectively.

The 12 Nigerian soldiers were on September 16, sentenced to death for mutiny after firing shots at their commanding officer, Abubakar Mohammed, in Maiduguri on May 14. A nine-member military tribunal, sitting in Abuja, convicted the soldiers. Court president Chukwuemeka Okonkwo said the sentences were subject to confirmation by Nigeria’s military authorities but added there was no doubt about the gravity of the offence.

However, while the Senate believes the soldiers deserve to die, the Nigerian Labour Congress, NLC, is pleading with the Nigerian Army to lighten the death sentence. (NAN)

Posted: at 24-09-2014 06:35 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- dynasty4all at 24-09-2014 08:56 AM (9 years ago)
RUBBISH, TRASH
THESE SOLIDIERS CONVICTED, ARE THEY NOT BETTER THAN OUR SENATORS?
THE ONLY THING OUR SO CALL SENATORS  KNOW IS MONEY MONEY MONEY
Posted: at 24-09-2014 08:56 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ChineduBlessing at 24-09-2014 09:39 AM (9 years ago)
Yes, it is true we have laws guiding every institution and at the same time, we must understand that these laws were made by human beings.  It must not be so rigid as to the detriment of the maker.  It can be bent in some situations.  In this regard, why did they mutiny?  Because the conditions they placed them, the soldiers are not conducive to them.  They sent them to fight Boko Haram without the required amenities which all of us are aware and they have been crying over this.  The oga asked their men on guard to come back, on their way BH ambushed and killed them.  Do you expect them to start laughing?  No.  They were not happy and out of annoyance, they did what they did.

Please let us think again and pardon them by giving them life imprisonment.  Please I use God beg una.
Posted: at 24-09-2014 09:39 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 24-09-2014 09:43 AM (9 years ago)
#releaseoursoldiersnow#

Posted: at 24-09-2014 09:43 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- schmit at 24-09-2014 10:02 AM (9 years ago)
Attempted murder not murder
Posted: at 24-09-2014 10:02 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 24-09-2014 10:22 AM (9 years ago)
And u(senators) deserve to die by hanging for embezzlement of all nigeria's oil money that cause the death of millions of poor masses.
Posted: at 24-09-2014 10:22 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- graceoneday at 24-09-2014 10:38 AM (9 years ago)
That's TrenchTownRock: I rather am a soldier for Christ Jesus than to be a soldier in uncomfortable country. You know that u must face the consequences someday, either by accuse or knowingly.
Posted: at 24-09-2014 10:38 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- oloche1984 at 24-09-2014 12:18 PM (9 years ago)
if there is justice in Nigeria then these soldiers should not be killed, they are pained by incedence on ground and it is only a fool that when pushed to the extreme you are expected to react. It is even better this issue is coming out now, what i feel is, they ogas want these soldiers to die through which ever means, because they did not fall to the claws of boko haram as the ogas would have wanted, the want to use thier fellow junior soldiers to execute them. What an injustice, and the senators assented to this because they want to remain in power, God is watching ooo!!!
Posted: at 24-09-2014 12:18 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- elchymo at 24-09-2014 12:46 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: dareper on 24-09-2014 10:22 AM
And u(senators) deserve to die by hanging for embezzlement of all nigeria's oil money that cause the death of millions of poor masses.
Posted: at 24-09-2014 12:46 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- manfred1 at 24-09-2014 01:38 PM (9 years ago)
ALL OF U ARE IDIOT,  MR SENATE
THEY DESERVE TO DIE COS THEY SHOOT THE ANIMAL  MAJOR GENERAL
WHAT OF THOSE THEY KILL ON THE STREET OR  HIGHWAY, 
WHAT DO U DO?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh???
ANIMA SENATE,  OUR OIL MONEY U THIEF, WHAT CAN WE DO TO U Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?
I DECLEAR  DEATH  SENTENCED  TO ALL UR FAMILY MEMBERS
COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOURT
Posted: at 24-09-2014 01:38 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 24-09-2014 02:38 PM (9 years ago)
they shud free jooor
Posted: at 24-09-2014 02:38 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 24-09-2014 03:14 PM (9 years ago)
If dia deserve to die,dat means ∂ General who dia intend killing shud also die 4 giving dem wrong information & nt providing dem wit gud weapons dat led 2 ∂ killing of dia fellow soldiers.do u ritualist dat cal υяѕєℓƒ senators knw hw it feels 2 watch ur fellow broda or friend die in a battle field??kill ∂ General as well,dats equal justice..I rest my case..COUURRT...
Posted: at 24-09-2014 03:14 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- zeigbo at 24-09-2014 03:14 PM (9 years ago)

Posted: at 24-09-2014 03:14 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 24-09-2014 03:36 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 24-09-2014 03:36 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulohking at 24-09-2014 04:56 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 24-09-2014 04:56 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Ritabrenice at 24-09-2014 07:46 PM (9 years ago)
Every one deserves a second chance
Posted: at 24-09-2014 07:46 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- goodboyison at 24-09-2014 09:40 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: zeigbo on 24-09-2014 09:43 AM
#releaseoursoldiersnow#
yes bringbackoursoldiers
Posted: at 24-09-2014 09:40 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- busa04 at 24-09-2014 09:47 PM (9 years ago)
Hello Poster, you see, the people have spoken. Nobody is in support of the phyukin senator. something led to their protest, that, they refused to investigate. If the senators' hands were clean, they would have sought for justice for them. Both the senators and the so called GOC have been sentenced to death by throwing alive in the lions den in any of the zoos in naija by our own court without appeal.
Posted: at 24-09-2014 09:47 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgrawl231 at 25-09-2014 04:11 AM (9 years ago)
THE ARMY HAVE THEIR LAW TOO,,,,BUT THEY SHOULD BE PARDONED  AND DISMISSED ,,,,,,THAT'S ALL,,,
Posted: at 25-09-2014 04:11 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 25-08-2015 01:38 AM (8 years ago)
I hear una
Posted: at 25-08-2015 01:38 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. "Daddy Loves You" – Comedian, AY Makun Celebrates His Son, Denzel's 17th Birthday

2. Young Nigerian Man Washes Father’s Hand With Expensive Alcohol As He Gifts Him An SUV

3. Primate Ayodele Releases Prophecies, Warns Presidents of Russia, France, Croatia, Turkey, Other

4. This Video Of Man Who Looks Like Singer, Asake Has Got Nigerians Talking

5. Aliko Dangote Gives Out One Million Bags Of Rice Worth More Than N13b To People In Nigeria

6. 'Odumodublvck Has Been In The Industry Since 2019, He Started As A Manager' – Oxlade Reveals

7. Again, Court Refuses Nnamdi Kanu Bail In Terrorisms Charges

8. Court Remands Man, Tijjani Bal Over Alleged Sodomy

9. "Fuel Price Will Reduce When Port Harcourt Refinery Begins Operations" – IPMAN Confirms

10. VID: “No Matter My Wealth, Once I’m In A Relationship I Become Broke” -Activist, Saida Boj

11. VIDEO: "Dreams Do Come True" – Aunty Ramota Rejoices As She Departs Nigeria

12. Popular Nollywood Producer, Andy Best Is Dead

13. 2027: 'You’ll Struggle to Get 2% Votes In FCT' – APC Tells Tinubu

14. 23Yr Old Secondary School Leaver, Rukevwe George Arrested With Two Guns In Benin

15. Peter Obi Opens Up On Why He Visited Abuja Mosque To Break Fast With Muslims

16. Fans React As Soma Takes To His Instagram To Edit His Birthday Post For Angel

17. I Want To Be One of The Leaders of Afrobeats Says 21Yr Old Singer, Ayra Starr

18. Thank You For Loving Me The Way I Am, Together Forever – Chioma Akpotha Celebrates Chidi Mokeme

19. Ayra Star Commends Chris Brown For Been Supportive Of Afrobeats

1. Nollywood Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Seeks Help From His Sick Bed

2. Royal Joy As Ooni Of Ife Welcomes Twins With His Third Wife, Olori Tobi Philips-Ogunwusi

3. President Tinubu Appoints First Female Director-General Of NEMA, Zubaida Umar

4. Motorist Calls Out Actor Somadina Adinma For Being A Celebrity And Trekking In Public

5. Following Recent Divorce Saga, Nigerians Dig Up Abusive Past Of Modupe Alakija

6. Customs Intercepts Ammunition Worth Over Half A Billion Naira Concealed In Sacks Of Garri

7. See Full Lists Of Venues Of Lagos 25% Discounted Food Markets ‘Ounje Eko’

8. Can of Worms! Obasanjo’s Biological Father An Igbo Man From Onitsha – Rtd Col Majekodunmi

9. How Lack of S3x Contributed to My Failed Marriage Says Shade Ladipo

10. Drink Your Tears, Cry Blood, I’m Married” – Queen Throws Shades As She Flaunts Her Ring (VID)