Nigerian Professor, Ilesanmi Becomes First Black VC Of University Of Illinois

Date: 24-09-2014 6:31 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Charles colins
- at 24-09-2014 06:31 PM (9 years ago)
A Professor of Nigerian descent, Ilesanmi Adesida made history last month by becoming the first black Provost/Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs of the well-respected University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign in the United States.

Born in Ondo State, Prof Adesida is a Nigerian engineer whose outstanding work in the field of Nanotechnology has received much acclaim in the scientific community.

He obtained his Bachelor’s, Master’s and Doctoral degrees in Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley and subsequently went on to develop a body of work in the processing of semiconductors and other materials at the nanometer-scale level.

After his studies, he worked in various capacities at what is now known as the Cornell Nanofabrication Facility and the School of Electrical Engineering, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY. He was also the head of the Electrical Engineering Department at Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi, Nigeria.

Commenting on his recently appointed role, Prof Adesida said: “I’m honoured and humbled to be selected as provost of this great campus. This is something I take very seriously. I know how to work very hard and I’m ready to roll up my sleeves and get the job done.”

Prof Adesida is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Vacuum Society, and the Optical Society of America. He is also the past-president of IEEE Electron Devices Society.

Posted: at 24-09-2014 06:31 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 24-09-2014 06:57 PM (9 years ago)
Well done to him.

The brain drain continues in Nigeria!
Posted: at 24-09-2014 06:57 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OsoDupe at 24-09-2014 07:02 PM (9 years ago)
Wow, congratulations, Nigerians are proud of you.

Posted: at 24-09-2014 07:02 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Ritabrenice at 24-09-2014 07:23 PM (9 years ago)
Good
Posted: at 24-09-2014 07:23 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Foxtroft at 24-09-2014 07:42 PM (9 years ago)
Great son of Biafra. Aaaaaaaaaaaaah lol
Posted: at 24-09-2014 07:42 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- schmit at 24-09-2014 07:42 PM (9 years ago)
Gud news
Posted: at 24-09-2014 07:42 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- sucre4u at 24-09-2014 08:23 PM (9 years ago)
Congrat sir
Posted: at 24-09-2014 08:23 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 24-09-2014 08:41 PM (9 years ago)
Cool
Posted: at 24-09-2014 08:41 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- asigwe at 24-09-2014 08:54 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Foxtroft on 24-09-2014 07:42 PM
Great son of Biafra. Aaaaaaaaaaaaah lol
I hope this Fox knows the meaning of Biafra.
Posted: at 24-09-2014 08:54 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- daveobahon at 24-09-2014 09:11 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 24-09-2014 09:11 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Foxtroft at 24-09-2014 09:21 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: asigwe on 24-09-2014 08:54 PM
Of course I know. Can't you see that i am just mocking those tribalists that write this phrase as response to every posting? Where are they today? They probably must have been dead or just sleeping. If they are dead already may they RIP and if they are sleeping, i wish they sleep tight
Posted: at 24-09-2014 09:21 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Foxtroft at 24-09-2014 09:24 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: daveobahon on 24-09-2014 09:11 PM
Of course I know. Isn't that phrase the most common phrase we see on Naijapals everyday? Please don't blame me I am just riding with flow
Posted: at 24-09-2014 09:24 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 24-09-2014 09:24 PM (9 years ago)
thank God he is not a biafran,4 pages for don full on this post by now  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 24-09-2014 09:24 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Foxtroft at 24-09-2014 09:29 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: beneno on 24-09-2014 09:24 PM
thank God he is not a biafran,4 pages for don full on this post by now  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Of course you obviously know what am talking about
Posted: at 24-09-2014 09:29 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Abubu86 at 24-09-2014 09:55 PM (9 years ago)
This are Nigerians making us proud, unlike dose cocaine smugglers(not mentioning any name o)
Posted: at 24-09-2014 09:55 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Raphaeltaiwo at 24-09-2014 10:04 PM (9 years ago)
Congrats Bros
Posted: at 24-09-2014 10:04 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- paulohking at 24-09-2014 10:23 PM (9 years ago)
congrats man
Posted: at 24-09-2014 10:23 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- abbeyluv2 at 24-09-2014 10:28 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Abubu86 on 24-09-2014 09:55 PM
This are Nigerians making us proud, unlike dose cocaine smugglers(not mentioning any name o)
i go help you mention there names they are so called Biafra men that will not let us hear word here, if this man is igbo man will no go hear word until will see like 5 pages..we are ONE NIGERIA
Posted: at 24-09-2014 10:28 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Trueyarn at 24-09-2014 10:45 PM (9 years ago)
Nah laff I dey Ooº°˚,I 4 reserve my comment bt ε̲̣̣̣̥ be lyk say poster mke mistake,em real name nah chukwudi ilesanmi em papa nah biafra why em mama nah yoruba..Kwenuuuuuu.
Posted: at 24-09-2014 10:45 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- steveoneal at 24-09-2014 11:32 PM (9 years ago)
Nice one !!!!
Posted: at 24-09-2014 11:32 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac