We Sacked Keshi To Save His Life – NFF

Date: 17-10-2014 6:12 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 17-10-2014 06:12 AM (9 years ago)

President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) Amaju Pinnick has said that Coach Stephen Keshi was sacked to safeguard him from the wrath of enraged Nigerian fans, who were on the brink of lynching him during Wednesday’s 2015 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier with Sudan.

Pinnick and other NFF Executive Committee members watched with awe, as fans pelted Keshi with water bottles and stones as they demanded for the head of the 2013 AFCON winner at the Abuja National Stadium, venue of the match, which Nigeria won 3-1 to keep alive their hopes of qualifying for next year’s tournament in Morocco.

Chants of “Keshi must go:, “sack Keshi” and “we don’t want Keshi again” rented the air as fans went overdrive in their bid to get their voices heard by the NFF, who swiftly swung into action in the wee hours of yesterday by axing the former Togo and Mali coach.

And speaking when he paid a courtesy visit to the Minister of Sports and Chairman, National Sports Commission, Dr. Tamuno Danagogo yesterday, Pinnick explained the personal safety of Keshi was considered  more important than anything else.

Pinnck, it was learnt told the Minister that he was shocked with the hostile reception of the fans towards Keshi, arguing that it would be dangerous for Keshi to remain as coach in the face of such hostility.

He added that it was the first time in recent years that abuses and stones were rained down on a  Nigerian coach by fans.

“It was too much to bear. The fans were coming for him and it was going to be a security risk for us as people had ran out of patience and were prepared to break the law to achieve their aim. Keshi’s personal safety was paramount in our decision to relieve him of his duties”, Pinnick said.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter- @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 17-10-2014 06:12 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Bashbilly at 17-10-2014 06:30 AM (9 years ago)
Eya keshi u try but it is game up
Posted: at 17-10-2014 06:30 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- jar84 at 17-10-2014 06:31 AM (9 years ago)
dont care
Posted: at 17-10-2014 06:31 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 17-10-2014 06:34 AM (9 years ago)
Does he have Ebola?
Posted: at 17-10-2014 06:34 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sucre4u at 17-10-2014 07:06 AM (9 years ago)
Dairis God o
Posted: at 17-10-2014 07:06 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- indiababa at 17-10-2014 07:18 AM (9 years ago)
Fine he as bn sacked! We thank God, the issue now is who is replacing him NNF? Note we don't need indigenious coach! Give us a renouns foriegn coach
Posted: at 17-10-2014 07:18 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- proly at 17-10-2014 07:25 AM (9 years ago)
Hmmmmmmm
Posted: at 17-10-2014 07:25 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Wysetots at 17-10-2014 09:00 AM (9 years ago)
Marrafaka !!!
Posted: at 17-10-2014 09:00 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 17-10-2014 09:14 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 17-10-2014 09:14 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Perfect2 at 17-10-2014 09:36 AM (9 years ago)
Next coach is going to be Aboki, just watch out! BOKO is coming to NFF soon, if you put am HARAM, na you sabi..
Posted: at 17-10-2014 09:36 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- chidi4reala at 17-10-2014 10:02 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 17-10-2014 10:02 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgrawl231 at 17-10-2014 10:30 AM (9 years ago)
NO WAYA! UNA SHA DON COMOT AM,,,,
Posted: at 17-10-2014 10:30 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- zoe61 at 17-10-2014 11:14 AM (9 years ago)
9ja with their mentality when the going is good u are the best but a little dack sport u become a bad person
Posted: at 17-10-2014 11:14 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Doziefelix at 17-10-2014 11:23 AM (9 years ago)
Keshi as a player and a coach in this country made his marks.
However, he became principality and power and as is normal, could not
see those invisible amours he invented against himself with his arrogance,
vindictive and unforgiven spirit. His sack is a big relief but who steps into his shoes? 
Posted: at 17-10-2014 11:23 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 17-10-2014 11:28 AM (9 years ago)
Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 17-10-2014 11:28 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bamilok2008 at 17-10-2014 11:43 AM (9 years ago)
u try big boss, supersport united is looking for u
Posted: at 17-10-2014 11:43 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- kwamebuyaya at 17-10-2014 11:55 AM (9 years ago)
ungrateful Nigerians! You people forget so soon what he has achieved for this country in terms of laurels he's won. We shall see what the next coach has in stock for you ungrateful fans.
Posted: at 17-10-2014 11:55 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- DrSoba at 17-10-2014 12:39 PM (9 years ago)
Anyhow u look at it sack is sack.
Posted: at 17-10-2014 12:39 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- orekiata at 17-10-2014 02:46 PM (9 years ago)
Hosana! Hosana!!!  Crucify him! crucify! him!!!! crucify him !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 17-10-2014 02:46 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 17-10-2014 04:19 PM (9 years ago)
Dem try
Posted: at 17-10-2014 04:19 PM (9 years ago) | Hero

1. DHQ Finally Releases Photos And Names Of Soldiers Killed In Delta Attack

2. Teenage Boy Nabbed For Raping 11-Year-Old Schoolmate In Rivers

3. She Paid For My 1st Song, Believed in me When Others Mocked me- Kizz Daniel Opens Up About Wife

4. VIDEO: Nigerian Man Drags Wife to Court Over Genotype of Their Son Who is SS

5. The House Of Rep Member Is In Opposition Party - Soludo States Why He Didn't Construct Road

6. Nigerian Man Breaks Down in Tears After Using His Mother’s N8m to Play Sporty Bet, Loses All

7. VIDEO: Peter Obi Spotted At Central Mosque To Break Fast For Ramadan

8. BBNaija's Angel Slams Trolls Following Speculation Of A Breakup With Soma

9. "I’ve Forgiven Davido For ‘Disrespecting’ Me" - Samklef

10. 'This Entertainment Industry Is So Dark Cos People In It Are So Envious, Evil' - Actress Uche

11. I’ll Not Leave My Husband For Having Child Outside Our Marriage Says Blessing CEO

12. "I’m Afrobeats Leader Worldwide" – Davido Brags

13. Singer Spyro Sends Strong Message To Men About Beautiful Women

14. Fear, Tension As Bandits Kidnap 87, Loot Shops In Fresh Kaduna Attack

1. Nollywood Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Seeks Help From His Sick Bed

2. Royal Joy As Ooni Of Ife Welcomes Twins With His Third Wife, Olori Tobi Philips-Ogunwusi

3. President Tinubu Appoints First Female Director-General Of NEMA, Zubaida Umar

4. Motorist Calls Out Actor Somadina Adinma For Being A Celebrity And Trekking In Public

5. Following Recent Divorce Saga, Nigerians Dig Up Abusive Past Of Modupe Alakija

6. Customs Intercepts Ammunition Worth Over Half A Billion Naira Concealed In Sacks Of Garri

7. See Full Lists Of Venues Of Lagos 25% Discounted Food Markets ‘Ounje Eko’

8. Can of Worms! Obasanjo’s Biological Father An Igbo Man From Onitsha – Rtd Col Majekodunmi

9. Drink Your Tears, Cry Blood, I’m Married” – Queen Throws Shades As She Flaunts Her Ring (VID)

10. "How Tinubu And His Colleagues Failed Nigeria In 1999" - Pa Ayo Adebanjo