Kirikiri Inmates Rioted Because Officials Prevented Indian Hemp, Phones – D.C

Date: 17-10-2014 6:54 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 17-10-2014 06:54 PM (9 years ago)

A Deputy Comptroller, Kirikiri Medium Security Prison, Mr. Kayode Odeyemi, today explained what led to the unrest at the facility a week ago.

He said contrary to the public opinion of poor ventilation, inmates went wild when Prison officials prevented smuggling of prohibited items.

Speaking during a visit by senior officials of the National Human Rights Commission, NHRC, who was at the facility to investigate the incident, Odeyemi said the inmates were plotting jail-break by smuggling in phones, marijuana and other illegal items.

He said the inmates who lost their lives had tried to escape but were trapped by the barb wires on the security fence.

Giving account of how it happened, the official recalled that “a man was carrying a box of fan without proper authorization to the church in the prison. I intercepted him and refuse him entrance prior proper approval for entering.”

“On interrogating him, I was not convinced to give him entrance because that is how people smuggle illegal items into the prison in the name of given charity to the prisoners.

“No long before that we started hearing noise and revolt from the inmates which was reported to been triggered by one inmate known as bishop.”

Odeyemi stated that during the fracas, a total number of 23 prisoners sustained minor injuries and were treated, while four others that were badly injured are currently in Igbobi hospital receiving treatment.

“It is to the interest of Nigerians to note that no prisoner escaped from the protest. Guns were not fired on the prisoners but rather in the air to scare them from attempting any jail break,” he added.

In a chat with journalists, the Executive Secretary of the commission, Prof. Ben Angwe, said there was no jail break or riot as speculated.

“Possible misguided minds among the prisoners sparked up the protest,” he said.

“We are not misguided by the obligation to see that the rights and privileges given by the law are properly and adequately adhered to.

“We have to ensure that the welfare of both the prison officials and the inmates are not trampled upon.

“From our findings, we are at peace with the job carried by the Deputy Comptroller, because where there is no law, there is no sin.

“We see that there was no misconduct from the end of the DC or his warders but the act was carried out by some group of inmates who do not want to be controlled.”

The NHRC boss however lamented the congestion of the facility.

“It is quite unfortunate saw; cells that housed a population of over 56 inmates without provisions for mattresses and fan.

“There are also the cases of inmates whose matter has not been brought for hearing in the court.”

Angwe called on the federal government to urgently look into the prisoners’ welfare as well as condition of Nigeria Prison facilities.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter- @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 17-10-2014 06:54 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicent2k3 at 17-10-2014 07:09 PM (9 years ago)
Benono and dareper wey don visit that place before. ....a beg how e be?
Posted: at 17-10-2014 07:09 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicent2k3 at 17-10-2014 07:09 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 17-10-2014 07:09 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- kelemann at 17-10-2014 07:59 PM (9 years ago)
Why person wey dey prison go smoke weed naa. Well done Oga i know say many people no go like your hard stand but Naija go better one day. More grease to your elbow.
Posted: at 17-10-2014 07:59 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 17-10-2014 08:17 PM (9 years ago)
they don't have good food to eat they here fighting for marijuan@ Indian hemp, can you guys tell me why is called Indian Hemp?
Posted: at 17-10-2014 08:17 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 17-10-2014 08:23 PM (9 years ago)
Hmmm
Posted: at 17-10-2014 08:23 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 17-10-2014 08:25 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: chicent2k3 on 17-10-2014 07:09 PM
u will soon enter there next cuz I will use my money put all your family member in prison, including u. I swear.
Posted: at 17-10-2014 08:25 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- schmit at 17-10-2014 08:43 PM (9 years ago)
Dis prisoners sef
Posted: at 17-10-2014 08:43 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- ayogstar at 17-10-2014 08:52 PM (9 years ago)
Hardluck to those niggas that wanted to be the real life T-Bag from prison break
Posted: at 17-10-2014 08:52 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 17-10-2014 10:55 PM (9 years ago)
  lies

Posted: at 17-10-2014 10:55 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Larry28 at 17-10-2014 11:34 PM (9 years ago)
Whatever
Posted: at 17-10-2014 11:34 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 17-10-2014 11:37 PM (9 years ago)
Kukuye don cause trouble,,,,,
Posted: at 17-10-2014 11:37 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- bospak at 18-10-2014 01:54 AM (9 years ago)
How did igbo enter prison in the first place?
Posted: at 18-10-2014 01:54 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 27-11-2014 10:50 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 27-11-2014 10:50 AM (9 years ago) | Hero