Outgoing Ekiti State Governor Bought N50 Million Mattresses for His Wife's Room

Date: 21-10-2014 10:47 am (9 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 21-10-2014 10:47 AM (9 years ago)
The newly elected Governor of Ekiti state, Governor Ayo Fayose has revealed some of the
things his eyes have seen in the newly built government house.  According to him, in a statement by his Special Assistant Public Communications and New Media, Lere Olayinka, the new government house was an act of insensitivity to the plight of Ekiti State people, many of whom cannot afford to feed once in a day.The affluence the immediate past governor lived in while he was still the governor can be said to be alarming.

“When we visited the Government House for the first time yesterday, I was like: how I wish I can sell off this place or turn it to commercial use.“It is simply wicked for a governor to be more interested in this manner of ostentatious comfort at the expense of the people.“The bed on which Fayemi slept before he left government alone costs over N30 million!
“That of his wife costs over N20 million! “Between Fayemi and his wife, what was spent on their bedrooms, toilets and bathrooms will be in the region of N100 million.
“How can a responsible government use borrowed fund to provide this kind of luxury for the governor and his family alone in a state where a lot of people cannot afford to feed once in a day?
“People should ask the outgone governor what was really wrong with the abandoned governor’s lodge used by his (Fayemi) predecessors?
, the governor quizzed.

Speaking with newsmen in Ado-Ekiti on Monday, Olayinka said no progressive minded Ekiti State person would see the out-of-this-world luxury provided with over N3.3 billion borrowed fund for Fayemi, his wife and children and will not weep for the state and its people.

Olayinka, who said Fayose was alarmed at the waste of Ekiti State resources to provide comfort for a single family out of the thousands of households in the state, added: “The governor would have preferred to sell out the property and use the fund to provide basic amenities and employment opportunities for the people.”

He disclosed that Fayemi was planning to buy a helicopter if he had returned to office for a second term, adding: “The plan was for Fayemi to run government from the comfort of Oke-Ayoba Government House and move from there to anywhere he wanted without the people seeing him. “That’s also the reason he (Fayemi) refused to renovate the Governor’s Office, leaving it in a state of disrepair because he knew that he was not going to use the office during his second term. “Also, contract for the maintenance of the property was already awarded for N150 million per annum.

“When we visited the Government House for the first time yesterday, Mr. Governor was like: how I wish I can sell off this place or turn it to commercial use.

“It is simply wicked for a governor to be more interested in this manner of ostentatious comfort at the expense of the people. “The bed on which Fayemi slept before he left government alone costs over N30 million! “That of his wife costs over N20 million! “Between Fayemi and his wife, what was spent on their bedrooms, toilets and bathrooms will be in the region of N100 million. “How can a responsible government use borrowed fund to provide this kind of luxury for the governor and his family alone in a state where a lot of people cannot afford to feed once in a day? “People should ask the outgone governor what was really wrong with the abandoned governor’s lodge used by his (Fayemi) predecessors? “Shouldn’t such funds expended on the hilltop edifice have been used to resuscitate the moribund textile factory in Ado-Ekiti that was turned to lock-up shops to provide employments for our teeming unemployed youths? “Also, was Fayemi living in that manner of opulence before he became governor? “Was he sleeping on a body-massaging bed and bathing in an electric controlled Jacuzzi? “Here is Fayemi, who could not pay workers salary, owing them two months’ salary before he left. “A Fayemi, who out of sheer wickedness refused to pay pensioners N2.4 billion pension and gratuities, N400 million workers leave bonus, N700 million subventions to parastatals and tertiary institutions and remit N2.4 billion four months cooperative society’s deductions from workers salary, preferring to use over N3 billion borrowed fund to provide luxury for himself, his wife and children alone. “This is wickedness! “Most importantly, did our late sage, Chief Obafemi Awolowo, whom Fayemi and his so-called progressives claim as their role-model, live in any government house, not to talk of building an Emperor-like house for himself? “Did late Michael Adekunle Ajasin build a monarchical government house for himself? “Did Baba Lateef Jakande live in any government house? “These are great Yoruba sons, whose recorded landmark achievements as Premier of the old Western Region and governors of Lagos State and the old Ondo State respectively. “The duo of Ajasin and Jakande were able to impact tremendously on their states because they would not like to waste public fund to provide luxury for themselves.” While reiterating Governor Fayose’s avowed commitment to the masses, Olayinka said: “Left for Governor Fayose, he won’t use that aristocratic government house because it is a symbol of oppression in itself. “He will prefer to live where Ekiti people can easily see him, touch him, eat with him and discuss the progress of the state together. “But abandoning it would amount to colossal waste of public funds. “Let me assure you Governor Fayose will not hide himself from the masses.”

Posted: at 21-10-2014 10:47 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- marybenson at 21-10-2014 10:51 AM (9 years ago)
God were re u?all i cn say is its well.
Posted: at 21-10-2014 10:51 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgrawl231 at 21-10-2014 11:11 AM (9 years ago)
KINGDOM OF HEAVEN ON EARTH,,,,,,,,,,
forget oo,,,say if person die on top dis kind bed without Christ na duplex for hell....
Posted: at 21-10-2014 11:11 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- bamilok2008 at 21-10-2014 11:18 AM (9 years ago)
can't take then to heaven
Posted: at 21-10-2014 11:18 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ken1230 at 21-10-2014 11:50 AM (9 years ago)
Stop crying and arrest him
Posted: at 21-10-2014 11:50 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bankadetoun at 21-10-2014 11:50 AM (9 years ago)
I don't think the present governor need all this exposing of a thing, what all the people of Ekiti needs from you now is your own support, you have done worst in the past forget about the present, you just work for the future dream to come true and stop all this discrimination.
Posted: at 21-10-2014 11:50 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- carlchuks at 21-10-2014 12:19 PM (9 years ago)
Mr. Fayose, please stop all this character assassination and do the work you have been elected to do abeg.After all the poultry farm you created in your 1st tenure was right in your village.Just do your work abeg
Posted: at 21-10-2014 12:19 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- dareper at 21-10-2014 12:21 PM (9 years ago)
And some people are looking for just bare floor to sleep. Maybe the God we have now is for the rich.
Posted: at 21-10-2014 12:21 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 21-10-2014 12:28 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 21-10-2014 12:28 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fdkenny at 21-10-2014 12:46 PM (9 years ago)
GOD av mercy, only 1 person dey enjoy all this money abi, no problem GOD is watching.
Posted: at 21-10-2014 12:46 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- dynasty4all at 21-10-2014 02:52 PM (9 years ago)
IMAGINE
Posted: at 21-10-2014 02:52 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jamal145 at 21-10-2014 02:56 PM (9 years ago)
Does dis sound sensible....just two beds cost 50million...wah kinda bed is it?...mstchew
Posted: at 21-10-2014 02:56 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- dynasty4all at 21-10-2014 02:56 PM (9 years ago)
APC is a product of political nincompoops, scallywags… Lai Mohammed  a merchant of falsehood
Posted: at 21-10-2014 02:56 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kjmic80 at 21-10-2014 03:03 PM (9 years ago)
pictures?
Posted: at 21-10-2014 03:03 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- schmit at 21-10-2014 03:28 PM (9 years ago)
Dat bed must be made of gold.useless ex governor.
Posted: at 21-10-2014 03:28 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Wysetots at 21-10-2014 03:50 PM (9 years ago)
Story.....How do we know about the things you will buy??
All of una na the same.
Posted: at 21-10-2014 03:50 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- zoe61 at 21-10-2014 07:05 PM (9 years ago)
Thieves
Posted: at 21-10-2014 07:05 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 21-10-2014 09:36 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 21-10-2014 09:36 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bospak at 21-10-2014 09:52 PM (9 years ago)
Yes, dis na transparency, pls, let's know about your own when you start proper
Posted: at 21-10-2014 09:52 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abubu86 at 21-10-2014 10:38 PM (9 years ago)
God will judge.
Posted: at 21-10-2014 10:38 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. DHQ Finally Releases Photos And Names Of Soldiers Killed In Delta Attack

2. Teenage Boy Nabbed For Raping 11-Year-Old Schoolmate In Rivers

3. She Paid For My 1st Song, Believed in me When Others Mocked me- Kizz Daniel Opens Up About Wife

4. VIDEO: Nigerian Man Drags Wife to Court Over Genotype of Their Son Who is SS

5. The House Of Rep Member Is In Opposition Party - Soludo States Why He Didn't Construct Road

6. Nigerian Man Breaks Down in Tears After Using His Mother’s N8m to Play Sporty Bet, Loses All

7. VIDEO: Peter Obi Spotted At Central Mosque To Break Fast For Ramadan

8. VIDEO: My Child Trying To Mess Up My Career - Mimi Orjiekwe Embarrassed As Daughter Exposes Her

9. BBNaija's Angel Slams Trolls Following Speculation Of A Breakup With Soma

10. 'This Entertainment Industry Is So Dark Cos People In It Are So Envious, Evil' - Actress Uche

11. "I’m Afrobeats Leader Worldwide" – Davido Brags

12. "I’ve Forgiven Davido For ‘Disrespecting’ Me" - Samklef

13. I’ll Not Leave My Husband For Having Child Outside Our Marriage Says Blessing CEO

14. Singer Spyro Sends Strong Message To Men About Beautiful Women

15. Man Who Renounced Nigerian Citizenship Says He Has No Regrets

16. Businessman Tunde Ayeni Bars Ex-Mistress Ms Alagwu And Daughter From Using His Name

17. Fear, Tension As Bandits Kidnap 87, Loot Shops In Fresh Kaduna Attack

18. "Why Actresses Might Command Higher Salaries In Nollywood" - Veteran Actor, Norbert Young

19. Court Sentences Five Persons To Death For Killing Rivers Vigilante Commander

20. 6 Suspected Yahoo Boy Jailed In Ilorin

1. Nollywood Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Seeks Help From His Sick Bed

2. Royal Joy As Ooni Of Ife Welcomes Twins With His Third Wife, Olori Tobi Philips-Ogunwusi

3. President Tinubu Appoints First Female Director-General Of NEMA, Zubaida Umar

4. Motorist Calls Out Actor Somadina Adinma For Being A Celebrity And Trekking In Public

5. Following Recent Divorce Saga, Nigerians Dig Up Abusive Past Of Modupe Alakija

6. Customs Intercepts Ammunition Worth Over Half A Billion Naira Concealed In Sacks Of Garri

7. See Full Lists Of Venues Of Lagos 25% Discounted Food Markets ‘Ounje Eko’

8. Can of Worms! Obasanjo’s Biological Father An Igbo Man From Onitsha – Rtd Col Majekodunmi

9. Drink Your Tears, Cry Blood, I’m Married” – Queen Throws Shades As She Flaunts Her Ring (VID)

10. "How Tinubu And His Colleagues Failed Nigeria In 1999" - Pa Ayo Adebanjo