NIS Arrests Citizens Of Ghana, Benin Republic & Togo Without Passports In Lagos

Date: 24-10-2014 10:47 pm (9 years ago) | Author: fivund
- at 24-10-2014 10:47 PM (9 years ago)

The Nigeria Immigration Service, Lagos State Command, on Thursday arrested 27 women and a 15-year-old boy in the Lagos Mainland area of the state.

The suspects were nationals of Benin Republic, Togo and Ghana.

They were said to be without a valid entry passport or visa, and would be repatriated as soon as the agency concluded all necessary investigation.

A few of the women were nursing mothers who had their babies strapped to their backs.

While the elderly ones showed remorse, the young ladies in the group chatted away as they avoided press interview and snapshots.

A woman in her 50s, who identified herself as Mrs Oluwaseun Joseph, from Cotonou, Benin Republic, was in tears as she pleaded for time to get her documents.

Joseph, who spoke in Yoruba with PUNCH Metro, said although she had stayed long in Nigeria, she did not know the importance of a valid passport until she was arrested on Thursday.

She said, “I have been in this country for a long time. I gave birth to my three children here. My husband who is also from Benin Republic, died some years ago.

“The work I do is to carry people’s load at Ebute Meta. I started the work when I was sick and needed money.

“That was what I was doing when they came to arrest me. If I had known about the document, I would have got it long ago. What will I do now? My kids are still in school.”

Fifteen-year-old Ishay Befaye said he had been in Lagos for only one month.

He said, “I am 15 years old. I came to Lagos on my own. My father is dead while my mother is in Benin Republic. I finished learning bricklaying in Benin and I came to Nigeria to find work. I planned to raise enough money and then regularise my papers. I make a lot of money from the work.

“I have a bank account in Lagos where I keep the money. I am just begging them to give me some time to get home and tell my friends that I want to go to the village to get my papers.”

But the state’s Comptroller, Justina Ahamdu, told our correspondent the command would not give the illegal immigrants a second chance.

Ahmadu said the agency had had a meeting with heads of ECOWAS members in the state, to warn against the danger of living in the country without valid documents.

She said, “I had a meeting with the heads of ECOWAS in the state in August when I resumed office, and I told them to warn their people staying in the country illegally, that if we picked them, we would not listen to them. And it was during the meeting I learnt that they also usually had periodic meetings with their fellow countrymen.

“Normally, when we go for raids like this, we profile and screen them before repatriating them. While repatriating them, we tell them that to be legal residents, they need to get valid documents and pass through authorised routes, before they can be allowed to stay. This is a continuous process.”

She warned that Nigerians, who keep illegal immigrants for cheap labour or obstruct officials of the agency from making arrests, may also be made to face the wrath of the law.

Posted: at 24-10-2014 10:47 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- cyone at 25-10-2014 04:44 PM (9 years ago)
Why now? Is it nt too late?
Posted: at 25-10-2014 04:44 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- deboalabi262 at 25-10-2014 05:04 PM (9 years ago)
Let them be so far they are not criminals. Give them last warning to regulate their stay......'bitte'.

Posted: at 25-10-2014 05:04 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- DrSoba at 25-10-2014 05:27 PM (9 years ago)
Nigeria self dey deport?
Posted: at 25-10-2014 05:27 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 25-10-2014 06:00 PM (9 years ago)
please leave them alone Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 25-10-2014 06:00 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgrawl231 at 25-10-2014 06:31 PM (9 years ago)
NIS go to Maiduguri and deport all d Chadians mixing up with Boko na Ram,,, and stop disturbing innocent people here,,,,,
Posted: at 25-10-2014 06:31 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- angesco at 25-10-2014 06:54 PM (9 years ago)
If they had been caught in a European country they would be claiming asylum from prosecution in their homeland!
Posted: at 25-10-2014 06:54 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Aniagain at 25-10-2014 07:10 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: morgrawl231 on 25-10-2014 06:31 PM
NIS go to Maiduguri and deport all d Chadians mixing up with Boko na Ram,,, and stop disturbing innocent people here,,,,,

Bros u make sense die

Posted: at 25-10-2014 07:10 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Larry28 at 25-10-2014 07:23 PM (9 years ago)
Let them be now
Posted: at 25-10-2014 07:23 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 25-10-2014 07:23 PM (9 years ago)
Let them be now
Posted: at 25-10-2014 07:23 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- allenspike at 25-10-2014 07:34 PM (9 years ago)
Fullani head men dey chop ppl head every dey dem no see those wan deport na d wan wey dey struggle 2 earn a living dem dey hunt 4! Nonsense

Posted: at 25-10-2014 07:34 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 25-10-2014 07:42 PM (9 years ago)
I wish they will extend it to every part of nigeria. Abi na only nigerians other contries sabi deport? We self go deport our own.
Posted: at 25-10-2014 07:42 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- bamilok2008 at 25-10-2014 07:44 PM (9 years ago)
Nonsense unsettle state dey there u no arrest illegal immigrant
Posted: at 25-10-2014 07:44 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 25-10-2014 08:35 PM (9 years ago)
deport all of dem

Posted: at 25-10-2014 08:35 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bospak at 25-10-2014 09:11 PM (9 years ago)
Eye service dey worry these idots (NIS) we have more than million aboki, maigoro, maibairo, maisuya, all of them from Niger, Chad e.t.c nobody disturb them. They even get confidence to walk about with Daga knifes.
Posted: at 25-10-2014 09:11 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ritabrenice at 25-10-2014 09:26 PM (9 years ago)
Very funny, naija wan deport people
Posted: at 25-10-2014 09:26 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- TABONTE at 25-10-2014 09:35 PM (9 years ago)
Make them go do Nigerian Visa lottery and become full citizens,lol...these guys no even sabi say war go soon break out for naija and we go divide
Posted: at 25-10-2014 09:35 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- eoadex2003 at 25-10-2014 11:26 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: bospak on 25-10-2014 09:11 PM
Eye service dey worry these idots (NIS) we have more than million aboki, maigoro, maibairo, maisuya, all of them from Niger, Chad e.t.c nobody disturb them. They even get confidence to walk about with Daga knifes.
Posted: at 25-10-2014 11:26 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 26-10-2014 12:24 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 26-10-2014 12:24 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- EmekaBlue at 26-10-2014 11:50 AM (9 years ago)
Assylum 4 them
Posted: at 26-10-2014 11:50 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

2. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

3. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

4. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

9. Nigerian Actress, Doris Simeon Reveals Why She Relocated To America

10. Actress, Eniola Badmus Looks Beautiful In New Photos To Spice Up The Weekend

11. I Foresee ‘Earth-Shaking’, Climatic Problems In Lagos, Abuja, Others – Primate Ayodele Warns

12. NSCDC Arrest 8 Illegal Security Guards, Recovers Firearms In Anambra

13. Second Republic Lawmaker & Veteran Journalist, Sidi Ali Dies At Age 86 In Kano

14. Ex-Wife Of Late Alaafin Of Oyo, Queen Dami Shares Cryptic Post About Death

1. 'Brand Ambassador', Phyna Calls Out Pepsi For Supplying Her Expired Drinks

2. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

3. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

4. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

5. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

6. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

7. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu