"Synagogue Building Has No Approval," - Commissioner

Date: 31-10-2014 6:21 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 31-10-2014 06:21 AM (9 years ago)
The Lagos State Commissioner for Physical Planning and Urban Develpoment, Oluwatoyin Ayinde, has said that the collapsed six-storey building of the Synagogue Church of All Nations has no government approval.

According to a new reports, Ayinde stated this on Thursday while giving testimony before the coroner probing the cause of the building collapse. No fewer than 116 persons died while several others sustained varying degrees of injuries in the September 12, 2014 tragedy.

Ayinde said investigations conducted by his ministry after the accident revealed that though the six-
storey building had a record of survey, it however had no approval of the government. He said the only thing found in the records was an approval for the church’s main auditorium, adding that though that auditorium had now been raised to eight floors, the approval given was only for five floors.

The commissioner, who described all unapproved structures in the church’s premises as illegal, stated that there was the need to investigate what he described as unusual practices going on within the church premises. Ayinde wondered why, for instance, one of the columns supporting the additional three floors placed on the main auditorium had to take off from the top of a water tank.

He said:

“The approval that we saw was in the name of the Synagogue Church of All Nations dated January 26, 2004 but that approval was just for the main auditorium and one of the things we discovered was that it was an approval for a five-floor development. But on our visit to the site, we discovered that the building had been taken to eight floors; we do not have the records of the additional floors, making those floors illegal construction. Did we see anything on the collapsed building? No. In our records, the collapsed building has no approval.

I’d like to say that with the additional structure we saw on site, we are inclined to express some fears. We have seen, for example, that one of the columns is not taking off from the ground floor, but it is resting on an existing water tank and I don’t know whether any engineer certified that construction. This needs to be investigated because it is an unusual practice to start a column middle way.”

While expressing doubts over the claim by the church that the collapse of the building was connected with some aircrafts that had hovered over it shortly before the accident, Ayinde stated that his investigations revealed that the distance between the said aircraft and the top of the building was one and a half the length of a football pitch.

He added that the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority had written a letter to his ministry showing a request by the Nigeria Air Force that some of their aircrafts were going to be having rehearsals at that time around that place.

He said:

“What we wanted to know was which aircrafts were flying at that particular time? Two, at what altitude were they flying? And three, what was the coordinate of their flight path?”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter- @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 31-10-2014 06:21 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgrawl231 at 31-10-2014 06:30 AM (9 years ago)
Whatever,,,,let this man be pls,,,,,
Posted: at 31-10-2014 06:30 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- CammyWhite at 1-11-2014 08:08 AM (9 years ago)
Of course the SCOAN never asked for approval because TBJ thinks his cult is above the rules that ordinary people have to follow.
Posted: at 1-11-2014 08:08 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 1-11-2014 08:54 AM (9 years ago)
Na only dis church naim be d building wey colapse for dis country? Well na d man cause am for himsef.
Posted: at 1-11-2014 08:54 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Woman Shares Text Message She Received From Her Father After She Missed His Call Twice

2. Yul Edochie Takes His Second Wife, Judy Austin To His Village In Anambra

3. I Have No Hand in The Killing - Delta Monarch Cries Out After Being Declared Wanted by The Army

4. Newly Wedded Wife Bathes Husband With Hot Water For Stopping Her From Making Calls

5. Renowned Nigerian Playwright, Wole Oguntokun Is Dead

6. How Woman Suffered Organ Failure From Hair Cream Which Caused Her Kidney To Shut Down

7. BREAKING! CBN Increases Capital Base For Commercial Banks

8. 'I Can't Drive Any Of My Kids Away If DNA Test Shows They're Not My Biological Children' - Man

9. AGAIN! Nigeria Thrown Into Darkness As National Grid Collapses Ahead Of Easter Holidays

10. 17Yr Old Girl Raped And Strangled To Death By Her Cousin In South Africa

11. He Sees Liam As A Competitor And A Threat- Late Mohbad’s Wife, Wunmi Laments

12. "Don’t Curse Nigeria, Remove Bad Leaders In 2027" – Tinubu To Religious Leaders

13. Court Orders Release Of 313 Suspected Terrorists In Borno

14. Chinese Boss Beaten Blue And Black Over Unpaid Salary By Zimbabwean Workers

15. 400L Nasarawa Varsity Student, John Rudeh Declared Missing After Palliative Stampede

16. Court Remands 42Yr Old Man For Allegedly Defiling & Impregnating 11Yr Old Girl In Lagos

17. Police Apprehend 22 Thuggery Suspects, Declare 30 Wanted In Kano

18. VIDEO: Fans Treat Rema Like King After Visiting Benin For The First Time In 6 Years

19. 25Yr Old Man, Aminu Ali Bags Life Imprisonment For Sodomizing Boy In Jigawa

20. Delta King Declared Wanted Over Okuama Killing, Surrenders Self

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

6. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)