Ben Murray Bruce To Contest For Bayelsa East Senate Seat

Date: 31-10-2014 11:11 am (9 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 31-10-2014 11:11 AM (9 years ago)

Ben Murray-Bruce, the entertainment business mogul and Chairman of Silverbird group, has promised to work toward the eradication of poverty if elected senator in 2015.
Murray-Bruce has expressed interest in running for Bayelsa East Senatorial seat on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).
He told US on Thursday that his desire was to eradicate mass poverty in Nigeria as a lawmaker, using the tool of legislative advocacy. Murray-Bruce, who hails from Akassa in Brass Local Government Area of Bayelsa, said that he would deploy creative legislative skills and strategy to fight the alarming rate of poverty in the country.
“I am running for the Senate because I am interested in the laws of our land. I am interested in making changes. I am interested in being positive, I am not interested in business as usual, a lot of things have gone wrong in our nation. A lot of it could be traced to the chamber I want to be a part of.
“And if we fix the problem, we’ve fixed Nigeria’s problems. One of the biggest issue for me as a businessman, as a politician, is the issue of poverty.
“I have always been concerned about poverty of the masses.
I have always been concerned about women who are not being protected, children who are being raped, babies who are being raped, men who are paedophiles and do not face the law.
“A society where there is no order, we must bring order to our society. There are too many poor people living under the bridge.
“Nigeria is too rich for people to be too poor; Nigeria is too poor for the super upper class to be so rich.
“That has to stop. If they pay their taxes, an individual will not have three private jets.
“If they pay their taxes, the poor man on the street will have a chance to make a living.
“We are here to make laws. You may consider this radical, you may consider it unorthodox, this society will explode and implode, unless politicians start thinking rationally.”

He said he had commenced working on 10 draft bills on issues of poverty and alternative sources of energy, among others, adding that he would sponsor them if elected to the Senate

Posted: at 31-10-2014 11:11 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- nametalkam at 31-10-2014 11:32 AM (9 years ago)
Well, Politics is the best business in Nigeria, without any doubt

Posted: at 31-10-2014 11:32 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bayonel3 at 31-10-2014 12:01 PM (9 years ago)
na everybody need money nah

Posted: at 31-10-2014 12:01 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- timidadigi at 31-10-2014 12:39 PM (9 years ago)
we dont know him in akassa....so he is in a dreamland
Posted: at 31-10-2014 12:39 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- angesco at 31-10-2014 12:55 PM (9 years ago)
Wow. He appears to have summarised our homemade problems in  this interview. However, he will need the whole cabinet  ( if he wins the post) to be on his side to effect any REAL change in our country. Surveys have shown that the "get rich quick" mindset of our "politicians" is the reason why some people do go into politics and he will have a hard time getting them on side to change our society!

I may be wrong. II wish him the best.
Posted: at 31-10-2014 12:55 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 31-10-2014 01:16 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 31-10-2014 01:16 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ritabrenice at 31-10-2014 02:00 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 31-10-2014 02:00 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wysetots at 31-10-2014 02:10 PM (9 years ago)
Talk is Cheap....
Someone once said he didn't go to school with sandals......Plenty Children are still going to school without Sandals today.....Economy is worse than ever!!
Selah
Posted: at 31-10-2014 02:10 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 31-10-2014 02:20 PM (9 years ago)
There's no business as good as politics,,,,
Posted: at 31-10-2014 02:20 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- deboalabi262 at 31-10-2014 03:05 PM (9 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 31-10-2014 03:05 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- chealseafc at 31-10-2014 04:49 PM (9 years ago)
politics  incorporated. i go soon join this trending business too.
Posted: at 31-10-2014 04:49 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 31-10-2014 05:01 PM (9 years ago)
Hmmmmm d rich wants to keep enriching themselves.
Posted: at 31-10-2014 05:01 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- deguyondmove at 31-10-2014 08:59 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on 31-10-2014 12:55 PM
Wow. He appears to have summarised our homemade problems in  this interview. However, he will need the whole cabinet  ( if he wins the post) to be on his side to effect any REAL change in our country. Surveys have shown that the "get rich quick" mindset of our "politicians" is the reason why some people do go into politics and he will have a hard time getting them on side to change our society!

I may be wrong. II wish him the best.

Just what I was going to say, all the same is good to hear that from one of our politician.I hope is not one of those promises, I wish him luck too. 
Posted: at 31-10-2014 08:59 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- zeigbo at 31-10-2014 09:40 PM (9 years ago)
mmmmmm

Posted: at 31-10-2014 09:40 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Nicksam at 1-11-2014 09:09 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: winace on 31-10-2014 05:01 PM
Hmmmmm d rich wants to keep enriching themselves.
ABI
Posted: at 1-11-2014 09:09 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- EmekaBlue at 1-11-2014 10:35 AM (9 years ago)
I dont hav any issue with him..He is great guy..CARRY GO
Posted: at 1-11-2014 10:35 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 24-08-2015 03:31 AM (8 years ago)
Cool
Posted: at 24-08-2015 03:31 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- hackynoni111 at 2-09-2015 04:28 PM (8 years ago)
wish him the best
Posted: at 2-09-2015 04:28 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac