You Contributed To Boko Haram Insurgency – Presidency Replies Atiku

Date: 05-11-2014 9:07 am (9 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 5-11-2014 09:07 AM (9 years ago)

The Presidency yesterday chided former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar over his remarks on the security situation in the country.

It said some of his past utterances contributed to the escalation of insurgent activities in the North.

The presidential aspirant on the platform of the All Progressives Congress, APC, had at a press conference on Monday in Abuja lamented the security situation in the north eastern part of Nigeria.

He stated that the Federal Government had not done enough to tackle the Boko Haram sect, adding that President Goodluck Jonathan may go down in history as the only Nigerian Commander-in-Chief to have ever lost territory to terrorists.

Responding, Special Assistant to the President on Public Affairs, Doyin Okupe, accused Atiku of contributing to the insecurity ravaging the land via a comment he made four years ago.

Speaking in Abuja at the Public Affairs Forum, a programme organised by his office for ministers to give account of their stewardship, Okupe recalled that in the build up to the 2011 general elections, Atiku quoted a statement by late US President John Kennedy that “those who make peaceful change inevitable will make violent change inevitable”.

He said the former vice president made the remark at the Northern Stakeholders’ Forum meeting in 2010.

Continuing, Okupe described as “unfortunate”, a situation where those who desperately stoked the fire of insurgency were now laying the blame on the shoulders of a government already working hard to put out the fire.

He noted that it was lack of patriotism that made Atiku to talk down on the nation’s military, which he hopes to lead, if elected President of the Federal Republic.

The presidential aide wondered why the former vice president, who is from Adamawa State, one of the states under constant attacks by Boko Haram, has not yet taken any hard position on terrorism.

He advised the presidential aspirant to learn from political leaders in other climes who drop the toga of partisanship in moments of national crisis by supporting their governments to raise the hope of citizens and defeat enemies of civilisation.

The presidential aide said President Goodluck Jonathan would not be distracted by negative comments from Atiku and a few others, whose only concern was politics rather than nation building.

Okupe assured that his principal was working hard with security chiefs and community stakeholders to restore peace to the northern part of the country in the shortest possible time.

Posted: at 5-11-2014 09:07 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 24magic at 5-11-2014 09:16 AM (9 years ago)
GBAM!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 5-11-2014 09:16 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bashbilly at 5-11-2014 09:37 AM (9 years ago)
we don hear abeg wer I fit see iPhone 6 battery buy na I hear say na 50k b d battery na true?
Posted: at 5-11-2014 09:37 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 5-11-2014 09:47 AM (9 years ago)
I shake my head for u Atiku. U are d chairman of d sponsors of dis insurgent and ur OWN state are d playgroung of dis fools and u didn't do anythg to help but u cum out to d public to run ur mouth Like burst soakaway. Rubbish
Posted: at 5-11-2014 09:47 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Kevinberry at 5-11-2014 09:58 AM (9 years ago)
Make una dey run mouth for. There
2015 war won't be easy
Posted: at 5-11-2014 09:58 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- ugbang at 5-11-2014 10:47 AM (9 years ago)
Atiku! Atiku!! Atiku!!! How many times have i called you? be carefull. God's anger is on those who dont want peace in hus country.i ve said my own oo!!
Posted: at 5-11-2014 10:47 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Kennycynth at 5-11-2014 11:04 AM (9 years ago)
dis is serious
Posted: at 5-11-2014 11:04 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgrawl231 at 5-11-2014 11:40 AM (9 years ago)
THERE'S FIRE ON DA MOUNTAIN,,,,,,,
Posted: at 5-11-2014 11:40 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- schmit at 5-11-2014 11:51 AM (9 years ago)
Yeye people
Posted: at 5-11-2014 11:51 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- zeigbo at 5-11-2014 12:38 PM (9 years ago)
passing

Posted: at 5-11-2014 12:38 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dynasty4all at 5-11-2014 01:13 PM (9 years ago)
HAUSA/FULANI & YORUBA BELIEVE THAT IT IS THEIR BIRTH RIGHT TO RULE NIGERIA, THEY DONT WANT ANY OTHER TRIBE TO RULE, BORN TO RULE MY FOOT.
THE BLOOD OF 3 MILLION INNOCENT BIAFRAN WOMEN & CHILDREN SLAUGHTERED IN COLD BLOOD ARE STILL CRYING FOR VEGANCE!
Posted: at 5-11-2014 01:13 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kejguv at 5-11-2014 01:16 PM (9 years ago)
hmmmmmm.......   expecting Atiku's reply,  its a season film

Posted: at 5-11-2014 01:16 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- orekiata at 5-11-2014 01:26 PM (9 years ago)
Politics! Politics! Politricks!!!!!!!! yet innocent people are dying everyday.  Which way Nigeria.   Our leaders have sacrifice the soul of the nation for political power and riches.  They forget one important fact that when their cup is full they will be flushed out anyhow by God.
Posted: at 5-11-2014 01:26 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DrSoba at 5-11-2014 01:26 PM (9 years ago)
These idiots are fighting political while innocent people are being killed and some made homeless.
Posted: at 5-11-2014 01:26 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- torrejon_men at 5-11-2014 02:40 PM (9 years ago)
Atiku is a beast
Posted: at 5-11-2014 02:40 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 5-11-2014 04:38 PM (9 years ago)
So what is the president doing about I? Arrest him ASAP!
Posted: at 5-11-2014 04:38 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 5-11-2014 04:38 PM (9 years ago)
So what is the president doing about I? Arrest him ASAP!
Posted: at 5-11-2014 04:38 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 5-11-2014 06:13 PM (9 years ago)
Next
Posted: at 5-11-2014 06:13 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- EmekaBlue at 5-11-2014 06:46 PM (9 years ago)
I hate this guy face to start..idioto
Posted: at 5-11-2014 06:46 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 5-11-2014 08:51 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 5-11-2014 08:51 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero