I Could Not Help But "Feel Pity & Admiration for Stephanie ” – Charles Novia

Date: 24-11-2014 1:12 pm (9 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 24-11-2014 01:12 PM (9 years ago)

Whenever there's an issue, expect a Charles Novia reply. Here's what the critic just wrote about Stephanie's statement concerning brother,
 Stephanie Linus ( nee Okereke) a Nollywood actress recently put out a reproduced statement below about a rape case involving her brother, Daniel Okereke , who is accused of molesting a Unilag undergraduate and currently has a criminal case against him with the Police in Lagos.
Reading the statement, I could not help but feel pity and admiration for Stephanie. Indeed, it is a harrowing experience to have a family member accused of such a despicable and heinous crime and it is even more traumatic to be linked with the accused as if by being related by blood, she is culpable too in the crime. Using recent templates in entertainment, one should ask if Brandy Norwood was culpable when Ray J leaked the records of Kim Kardashian a few years ago? Or some other examples I cannot remember at present?
The truth is that in law, each one is judged by their own actions and Stephanie is not in any way under the limelight for a crime which she knew nothing of. For that, I wholly sympathize with her and pray for comfort for her and other members of her family at this trying period. No matter the outcome of the case, there will always be a suspicion that Daniel Okereke did something to blacken the family name and the outcry against rape has been passionate (and rightly so) in the past decade in Nigeria. I support any action taken against rapists by the law courts and while the onus of proof lies with Daniel to prove his innocence, there is no gainsaying that this case is going to be a watershed in Nigeria’s legal system for the interest it has generated. In a way, the family name is a respected name in both the business and entertainment sectors and a high profile case such as this will involve much microscopic scrutiny.
I commend Stephanie’s bravery in bringing out the statement below. She has proved by her action to be a worthy role model for a present generation.

Posted: at 24-11-2014 01:12 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 24-11-2014 01:20 PM (9 years ago)
WHAT A PITY,,,,,,,,
Posted: at 24-11-2014 01:20 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Ennyolalekan at 24-11-2014 01:26 PM (9 years ago)
take note pls
Posted: at 24-11-2014 01:26 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okoroj at 24-11-2014 01:43 PM (9 years ago)
Na there garri
Posted: at 24-11-2014 01:43 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- paulohking at 24-11-2014 02:17 PM (9 years ago)
eeeeeeeeeya
Posted: at 24-11-2014 02:17 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Mobbysmartins at 24-11-2014 02:41 PM (9 years ago)
While I agree with most things you said here,I disagree with you on one.Sir,the onus of proof does not rest on the accused but the accuser.An accused is presumed innocent until proven guilty.This is one of the greatest Maxim of law,that the burden of proof lies with the accuser and not the accused.So please do not bamboozle us here,Mr.Charles Novia.
Posted: at 24-11-2014 02:41 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- uchex at 24-11-2014 02:50 PM (9 years ago)
Olodo man,. The onus of proof lies on d 1 ,.who assert! No cum hear cum dey form say u sabi law,. Lay man,. Over sabi go kill u. Talkative. Mtcheew,. No wori ur yansh sef go soon open
Posted: at 24-11-2014 02:50 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Larry28 at 24-11-2014 03:53 PM (9 years ago)
Next
Posted: at 24-11-2014 03:53 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Gedens at 24-11-2014 04:11 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Mobbysmartins on 24-11-2014 02:41 PM
While I agree with most things you said here,I disagree with you on one.Sir,the onus of proof does not rest on the accused but the accuser.An accused is presumed innocent until proven guilty.This is one of the greatest Maxim of law,that the burden of proof lies with the accuser and not the accused.So please do not bamboozle us here,Mr.Charles Novia.Mr Man, onus of proof can lie on both the accused and the accuser. The accused here who happens to be Daniel has to prove that he is innocent of the 'accusation' be levelled against him.
Posted: at 24-11-2014 04:11 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mobbysmartins at 24-11-2014 04:39 PM (9 years ago)
Mr Man, onus of proof can lie on both the accused and the accuser. The accused here who happens to be Daniel has to prove that he is innocent of the 'accusation' be levelled against him.

I disagree with you. As long as the accuser is not able to prove his or her accusation,the accused is Discharged and Acquitted.If the burden of proof is shared by the accuser and the accused as you said above,then any accused person will never have been Discharged and Acquitted as is normally done,until he or she proves his innocence.The burden of proof is always on the accuser.Do you know why???.Because it is better for a guilty person to go free,than for an innocent person to be jailed.The jail is made for the guilty and not the innocent.
Posted: at 24-11-2014 04:39 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 24-11-2014 05:28 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 24-11-2014 05:28 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ritabrenice at 24-11-2014 07:12 PM (9 years ago)
Okay we hear
Posted: at 24-11-2014 07:12 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wysetots at 24-11-2014 08:20 PM (9 years ago)
Warreva mehn
Posted: at 24-11-2014 08:20 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- DrSoba at 24-11-2014 09:41 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 24-11-2014 09:41 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 25-11-2014 12:30 AM (9 years ago)
For the first time this man dey talk something reasonable
Posted: at 25-11-2014 12:30 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 25-11-2014 10:38 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Mobbysmartins on 24-11-2014 02:41 PM
While I agree with most things you said here,I disagree with you on one.Sir,the onus of proof does not rest on the accused but the accuser.An accused is presumed innocent until proven guilty.This is one of the greatest Maxim of law,that the burden of proof lies with the accuser and not the accused.So please do not bamboozle us here,Mr.Charles Novia.

Gani Fewehinmi Vs Rotimi Williams........ Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Laughing in chinese
Posted: at 25-11-2014 10:38 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- ObyWBabaK at 25-11-2014 12:39 PM (9 years ago)
 Undecided
Posted: at 25-11-2014 12:39 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 25-11-2014 10:01 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 25-11-2014 10:01 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- DRraze at 26-11-2014 03:39 AM (9 years ago)
Confam! Well said
Posted: at 26-11-2014 03:39 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

2. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

5. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

6. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

7. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer