Read The Full Text Of President Jonathan’s Christmas Message To The Nation

Date: 25-12-2014 6:13 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 25-12-2014 06:13 AM (9 years ago)

I greet and felicitate with you all once again as we celebrate the birth of our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ.

I join all of our Christian compatriots in giving thanks to God Almighty for the divine gift of Jesus Christ the Messiah whose earthly incarnation we commemorate today.

As we celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ who the Prophet Isaiah heralded as the Prince of Peace and Wonderful Counselor, I believe it is very appropriate that we all, Christians and non-Christians alike, reflect more deeply on the virtues and ideals which the Messiah espoused during his earthly mission.

To my mind, there can be no doubt that the greater internalization of the virtues of love for our fellowmen, tolerance, Godliness, honesty, fairness to others, selflessness, and peaceful co-existence with others, by all adult Nigerians, and the inculcation of the same in our youth, will definitely help our dear nation to overcome most of its present challenges.

Peace and love for others, especially, were a constant refrain in the Messiah’s teachings and admonitions to mankind.

Therefore, as we celebrate his birth, I urge all Nigerians to offer special prayers for a greater manifestation of divine peace in our country and the vanquishing of all demons of hatred, divisiveness and disunity in our midst.

As we celebrate Christmas, let us also remember and offer special prayers for all of our countrymen, women and children who have suffered and continue to suffer untold hardship, deprivation and death at the hands of terrorists and insurgents.

Let us also continue to pray for our gallant soldiers and security agents who remain at the forefront of the national effort to overcome terrorism and violent extremism, even as the rest of the nation celebrates Christmas and the coming New Year.

In this season of goodwill, I urge all patriotic Nigerians to rededicate themselves to doing all within their powers to support the brave men and women of our armed forces in the ongoing war against terrorism, and also support the Federal Government’s efforts to provide more succour to the hapless victims of terrorist atrocities.

The Victims’ Support Fund which we have established to raise additional funds to assist our compatriots who have been adversely affected by continuing insecurity in parts of our country remains active.

I call on all individuals and corporate organisations who have not yet done so, to donate more generously to the Fund which is being efficaciously deployed to ease the sufferings of victims of terrorist violence in the country.

Dear Compatriots, we are also celebrating this Christmas against the background of preparations for next year’s general elections.

I seize this opportunity to reassure the nation that my administration will give the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) all necessary support to ensure that it delivers very free, fair, credible and acceptable elections in 2015.

National security agencies will also be given all necessary support to enhance their ability to ensure that the elections which should strengthen democracy in our country are peaceful and violence free.
I urge our political class to be law- abiding and place the greater interests of our nation above all personal or sectional interests in the countdown to the elections.

Let us all be more statesman-like, conduct issues-based campaigns, and eschew the promotion of falsehood, division and hatred of others as we seek the votes of our countrymen in what should be a peaceful competition among contending points of view for the progress and development of our dear nation.

I remain convinced that God Almighty is still with us as a nation even in the midst of our current challenges which we shall surely overcome with greater unity of purpose, dedication, commitment and perseverance.

Let this year’s celebration of the birth of Christ the Messiah rekindle, strengthen and reaffirm our faith in our national ability to overcome all challenges, with God on our side.
I wish you all very happy Christmas celebrations.

Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR
President,
Federal Republic of Nigeria

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 25-12-2014 06:13 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bukolabk at 25-12-2014 06:29 AM (9 years ago)
Chilling wit my orijin nd chicken head... First to comment broda Jonna thank u
Posted: at 25-12-2014 06:29 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- bukolabk at 25-12-2014 06:30 AM (9 years ago)
Chilling wit my orijin nd chicken head... First to comment broda Jonna thank u
Posted: at 25-12-2014 06:30 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- k4short2 at 25-12-2014 08:07 AM (9 years ago)
May d peAce of God rest upon our nation as we celebrate the new birth of Christ. Amen. Weldon Mr president. Well said
Posted: at 25-12-2014 08:07 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- danielsony at 25-12-2014 08:16 AM (9 years ago)
Amen, thanks a lot Mr President
Posted: at 25-12-2014 08:16 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgrawl231 at 25-12-2014 08:28 AM (9 years ago)
MERRY CHRISTMAS PALS,,,,,,,
Posted: at 25-12-2014 08:28 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- lakman at 25-12-2014 09:36 AM (9 years ago)
GOD will continue to lead you to deliver nigeria from evil people, my dear president jonathan.
Posted: at 25-12-2014 09:36 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- odegbalegu at 25-12-2014 04:29 PM (9 years ago)
put your trust in the Creator of the ends of the earth and He will bring all your enemies at thy footstool.
Posted: at 25-12-2014 04:29 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EVERYBODY at 25-12-2014 09:08 PM (9 years ago)
AM HAPPY THAT YOU KNOW THAT JESUS IS OUR LORD AND SAVIOUR THEN DO WHAT HE SAYS YOU SHUOLD DO AND LET YOUR ENEMY BE SCATTARD JONNA.
Posted: at 25-12-2014 09:08 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- yadeolah at 25-12-2014 09:43 PM (9 years ago)
Soft message before election and subsidy blah blah blah after election,  #Time4Change
Posted: at 25-12-2014 09:43 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- elobiz20012 at 26-12-2014 07:52 AM (9 years ago)
THANK U MR PRESIDENT,YOU GOING TO WIN THIS 2015,NO BODY IS GOING TO BLOCK YOU
Posted: at 26-12-2014 07:52 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- mensch at 26-12-2014 09:50 AM (9 years ago)
thanks our dear president
Posted: at 26-12-2014 09:50 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Nicksam at 26-12-2014 10:06 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 26-12-2014 10:06 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- femjay at 26-12-2014 02:40 PM (9 years ago)
⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥·̵̭̌✽̤̥̈̊ Ơ̴̴̴͡k.̤̥̈̊·̵̭̌»̶̥-̶̯͡┈̥‎⌣. Na
Posted: at 26-12-2014 02:40 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- samybrowne at 26-12-2014 03:37 PM (9 years ago)
SALUT SIR PRESIDENT
MERRY CHRISTMANS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR TO EVERY ONE
GOODLUCK TO ALL OF UNA..
Posted: at 26-12-2014 03:37 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- agbodour at 26-12-2014 10:06 PM (9 years ago)
NIGERIA NOR GET PRESIDENT OHHHH YEYE GOVERMENT
Posted: at 26-12-2014 10:06 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Nigerian Man Who Hates Cake, Celebrates Birthday With Bread, Butter, And Akara

2. Man Arrested By Police For Allegedly Slaughtering 80Yr Old Boss, Wife In Their Abuja Home

3. Singer Portable Slams His Wife, Bewaji, For Excluding Him From Her Birthday Message To Herself

4. '4 Holy Spirits Came Down From Heaven To Rescue Me' -Tiktoker Who Accused Skibii Of Ritual Says

5. BBN Neo Cries Out Over Accusations Of His Having Affair With AY Makun's Estranged Wife, Mabel

6. VID: “I’m Scared, EFCC Are Planning To Arrest Me Because Of VeryDarkMan”– Portable

7. Lawyer With BSc Drops A Memo For EFCC & Nigerian Lawmakers Over Naira Abuse Brouhaha

8. VIDEO: Lady Cries Profusely After Boyfriend Of 6 Years Impregnated Her Best Friend

9. VIDEO: "I Am A Late Bloomer" - Lady Says As She Acquires Her First Car At 32

10. Burna Boy Receives Accolade From Canadian Senate Over ‘Sold Out’ Concert

11. Nina Ivy Recounts Her Delivery Journey as She Celebrates Her Son’s 4th Birthday (Video)

12. Lagos Driver Nabbed For Cramming 11 Children Into His Car Meant For Transporting 5 People

13. New Super Eagles Head Coach Will Be Announced in Two Weeks - Sports Minister Reveals

14. Davido Collaborates With UnitedMasters To Launch New Music Label

1. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

2. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

3. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

4. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

5. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

8. Embarrassing Moment Lady Was Busted For Lying During Her Testimony in Church (Video)

9. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

10. VIDEO: Five Cars And BRT Bus Collide in Multiple Crash Along Lagos-Ibadan Expressway