Read Gen. Buhari's New Year Message to Nigerian Youths

Date: 31-12-2014 4:41 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 31-12-2014 04:41 PM (9 years ago)

As we welcome the year 2015, I have shared a message to Nigerians in general, but I find it crucial to send another message directly to Nigeria’s youth, who are the major stakeholders of this enterprise.The year 2014 was a challenging one for most citizens of our dear country. We remember our compatriots who were brutishly killed or maimed by evil terrorists in 2014. I remember with a still broken heart that 219 of our children from Chibok are yet missing, let down by a country that should protect them. I remember that, even as I speak, some of our towns and villages are yet under the occupation of Boko Haram.Yes, it is enough for you to despair. It is enough for you to wonder if your country cares about you and can protect you. But do not despair. 2015 has arrived at a time of great discomfort; but the beauty of the New Year is that we can look forward with renewed hope and the knowledge that things can and will change. In Nigeria’s particular case, we can truly look forward to the change that the elections can, and will, bring. Our country will be secure again. Our country will prosper again. I have faith that 2015 is the year we shall begin to write a new story – a story of our youth creating jobs and expanding the frontiers of innovation and creativity everywhere from Mavin Records to the Co-Creation Hub; a story of genuine investment in our children and students be they in the University of Nigeria, Nsukka or in the Delta State University, Abraka; a country that finally makes a permanent shift from our debilitating dependence on the free-falling price of crude oil.
I have unshakeable faith that 2015 will be the year of change. Now some of you have asked me: what exactly does ‘change’ mean?
I have taken time to explain this at different opportunities, but on this special day, let me remind you in five short statements.
Change means:

1. A country that you can be proud of at anytime and anywhere: where corruption is punished, where your leaders are disciplined and lead with vision and clarity; where the stories that emerge to the world from us are full of hope and progress.

2. A Nigeria in which neither yourselves, nor your parents, families or friends will have to fear for your safety, or for theirs.

3. A Nigeria where citizens get the basics that any country should provide: infrastructure that works, healthcare that is affordable, even free; respect for the environment and sustainable development, education that is competitive and outcome-oriented in a knowledge-economy.

4. A country that provides jobs for its young people, reducing unemployment to the lowest of single digits and providing safety nets so that no one is left behind.

5. A Nigeria where entrepreneurship thrives, enterprise flourishes and the government gets out of your way so that you can create value, build the economy and aggressively expand wealth.

Are these things truly possible? Of course. That is the essence and outcome of leadership, and that is what my party and I promise you as we get into 2015.
My dear friends, this New Year, more than ever before, I am hopeful about Nigeria. Yes, you are disappointed and you are angry, as you are entitled to, but you must never give in to the temptation to feel so weighed down by those who have failed you that you lose your hope and your energy and your passion to see change. You must never give up on Nigeria. Together, we can build a nation that is secure, prosperous and gives everyone a fair chance. This is the promise that 2015 holds. That is the promise that change will bring. That is the promise that I bring to you.Once again, I wish everyone a happy and prosperous New Year.
Thank you and God bless Nigeria.

Posted: at 31-12-2014 04:41 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Onyibochukwu at 31-12-2014 04:48 PM (9 years ago)
abeg if anybody read wetin aboki talk make him just explain to me abeg i no get time, but incase him no mention him boko arams brothers abeg remind am!
Posted: at 31-12-2014 04:48 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 31-12-2014 04:52 PM (9 years ago)
that's politices too much talk no action
Posted: at 31-12-2014 04:52 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 31-12-2014 05:50 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 31-12-2014 05:50 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- echeeche at 31-12-2014 06:05 PM (9 years ago)
Let wait and see
Posted: at 31-12-2014 06:05 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- deboalabi262 at 31-12-2014 06:11 PM (9 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool

Posted: at 31-12-2014 06:11 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 31-12-2014 07:39 PM (9 years ago)
GMB i can feel you,,,,,,,welcome aboard,,,
Posted: at 31-12-2014 07:39 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- omeoka at 31-12-2014 08:28 PM (9 years ago)
CAN HIS WRITE OR IS HIS PEOPLE THAT IS WRITING FOR HIM?
Posted: at 31-12-2014 08:28 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- gotes at 31-12-2014 09:18 PM (9 years ago)
have you come back from the military board? where they kept your educational documents for you. bab boy
Posted: at 31-12-2014 09:18 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- mensch at 31-12-2014 10:43 PM (9 years ago)
untill he produces his certificate, and tax clearance then i will read it
Posted: at 31-12-2014 10:43 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yeksal at 31-12-2014 10:56 PM (9 years ago)
even if nah write den write for him, mk dem write for jona failure too.
if GMB talk say him cert dey wt military hee beta past stupid sambo wey talk sey him own burn.
wot abt doctor of animals wit PhD in Zoo wey no fil compose simple oyinbo by himself.
sm idiot full here wey b sey dr mama neva suffer finish for village dey shout jona.
I Sory 4 una o
Posted: at 31-12-2014 10:56 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Anyi1978 at 1-01-2015 12:28 AM (9 years ago)
 No man is infallible, including Buhari. As human he has his shortcomings, and that's what makes us humans--imperfect beings--aspiring for perfection so that we can obtain mercy and salvation of our souls from God Almighty. Nigerians, do not be carried away by ethnic sentiments, religious jingoism and partisanship! The hope of our dear country to stabilize and grow once again, lies in Buhari and Yemi. Vote according to your conscience and you will truly see the Change we needed so much to fix Nigeria. BUHARI, means: ''Bring Us Hope And Remove Injustice''.
Posted: at 1-01-2015 12:28 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- DrSoba at 1-01-2015 12:33 AM (9 years ago)
Politicians,  plenty talk and promises less action.
Posted: at 1-01-2015 12:33 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Adbb at 1-01-2015 12:37 AM (9 years ago)
I think its high time we try sumtin new and if they fail we ask dey be impeached I for one think it is better than for us to wait and sink wit pdp
Posted: at 1-01-2015 12:37 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Emeka209 at 1-01-2015 04:47 AM (9 years ago)
My vote for you GMB
Posted: at 1-01-2015 04:47 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Abubu86 at 1-01-2015 07:02 AM (9 years ago)
GMB 2015
Posted: at 1-01-2015 07:02 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dahir1 at 1-01-2015 07:54 AM (9 years ago)
U deserve my vote
Posted: at 1-01-2015 07:54 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- DeBosss at 1-01-2015 08:14 AM (9 years ago)
@Onyibochukwu, how old is ur brain? GMB 2015
Posted: at 1-01-2015 08:14 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Nicksam at 1-01-2015 09:56 AM (9 years ago)
WE'RE WAITING
Posted: at 1-01-2015 09:56 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- onyenmeme at 1-01-2015 10:21 AM (9 years ago)
we need young and inter prising leaders not buhari
Posted: at 1-01-2015 10:21 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming